We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't imagine doing any better for a family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Moraga, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Can't imagine doing any better for a family trip”
Reviewed April 5, 2005

Stayed for five nights during spring break (Easter night to Friday morning) and was very impressed, with only minor quibbles, and would expect to have minor quibbles about any property. The facility is in great shape, with excellent soundproofing (we never heard the people next to us, or noise from the hallway). We got a two bedroom, two bath suite: it was like having a good-sized apartment to ourselves. Plenty of room, plenty of towels, nice furnishings. The sheets could be upgraded, kind of that generic thin fabric, but were OK. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good, get there before 8, and it is actually pretty calm. Get there during last thirty minutes, well, take your chances. We've stayed at other Residence Inns, I'd say this one has a little more room than most in the dining area, and does a better than average job at keeping the food supply up (but Marriott has got to get a better pancake vendor ... frozen pancake taste/texture alert!). All in all, the breakfast is a great deal and very enjoyable. Parking lot is good-sized, but can fill up at peak times, usually at night. Shuttle is right next door at Hyatt, but we just paid the ten bucks to park (five minute drive) and not have to stress about waiting for a shuttle with our three kids. We've stayed at the above-mentioned Hyatt, and had a much better time in the "real" suite at the Residence Inn than in the Hyatt Kids' Suite (which was OK for two kids who didn't need a lot of bathroom time, but would not have worked now that we have three kids and the older two do need a little more bathroom time). One neat thing about the kids' room (by the way, there is a pocket door to this room) is that the bathroom sink was at kids' level. I agree that making the bunk beds is kind of odd (but they make them for you after the first night), but it only took about five minutes, so no biggie. Having the two bedroom/bathroom units, a good sized living room, a table for four, and a full kitchen was great, and really did give it a "residence" feel. Would return in a flash, and recommend it heartily.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank tonybruin92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    397
    122
    47
    31
See reviews for
992
44
15
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sumas. WA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2005

We recently stayed at this hotel March 6 - 10th. We have a family of five so we stayed in a kids' suite. I would highly recommend this hotel. The daily breakfast buffet was delicious. It was a bit crowded, but very managable and well stocked. The evening snack was very nice and helped offset some of the cost of eating at the theme parks. Everything was VERY clean in our room as I am very picky and I had absolutley no complaints with the maid service. My only complaint was that we didn't spend more time at the hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KarenSumas_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2005

The kid's suite was great for our family of four. The man who checked us in was friendly and honored our request to overlook the pool, rather than Harbor Ave. The rooms are nicely decorated and the second bathroom was convenient for our pre-teen girls. The king bed was very comfortable. Only complaint was that we had to make up the bunk beds when we arrived from the airport at 10:30 pm. The kids were falling asleep on the floor. Also, if you are a light sleeper, there is a fair amount of road noise. I can see this as an excellent choice for people needing more than one room for a large family, and for families with young children. (especially with the self-serve breakfast)

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ILW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 15, 2005

Stayed at this hotel for 7 days . Could not have been more comfortable, staff were friendly and helped us to book tours etc. at reasonable prices. Rooms were clean, breakfast excellent and the shuttle was always on time. Restaurants across the street for supper included outback steakhouse, red robin and joe's crab shack. Kids loved the pool and basketball court. Would return here on next visit for sure.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEADVILLE
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2005

We really enjoyed our kid's suite at this hotel. The bunkbeds were nice to split up the kids and the sleeper sofa worked well for kid #3. The breakfast was fine and welcome. We even did the evening supper reception a couple nights for a casual, light meal. We would return here if possible.

Helpful?
2 Thank DC_tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,563 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#5 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove

Property: Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove
Address: 11931 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2703 (Formerly Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#6 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Anaheim Resort Area suites are so well equipped and fully furnished, you’ll never have to set up house twice. Tastefully decorated, our guest suites are as comfortable as they are clean. With all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable and convenient they are the perfect home away from home. We offer a mix of 200 suites that fit your every need. Our suites feature a king or two queen beds and queen-sized sofa sleeper with a large living area and full kitchen. Two-bedroom kid's suites feature a bunk bed in a separate second bedroom. A queen sofa sleeper is available in the living area adjacent to the kitchen. All suites offer complimentary high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. In our Anaheim Resort Area Suites we Offer:• Coffee and Tea Makers• Complimentary High-Speed Internet Access• Dual Line Phones with Voice Mail and Wake-up Service• Full Kitchens with Stove, Microwave, Toaster, Refrigerator and more• Hairdryer• Individual Climate Control• Iron and Ironing Board• Kids Suites Available w/ Bunkbeds• Pillow Choice (Feather Down/Foam)• Pool Views from 50% of the Rooms• Sofa Beds• Silverware, Pots, Pans, Serving Dishes, etc.• Work Stations with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Hotel Garden Grove
Residence Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing