We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good and Not so Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The Good and Not so Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed 5 days while attending a trade show at the Anaheim Convention Center. Other reviews led me to believe this would be an excellent stay.

The good: Check-in was smooth and the front desk was consistently helpful, professional and gracious. The first night I was in a king room. The street noise kept me up most of the night. (not so good.)The front desk kindly switched me to a QQ room away from the street. Breakfast was excellent each morning. The hotel is under renovation, but I heard almost no construction noise and I was there during some of the stated "construction hours". I wondered if I'd hear a lot of kids, but I did not. I suspect the hotel tries to segregate families from business travelers and that was certainly appreciated. A couple of the nights there was an evening reception which consisted of a light dinner -- very nice.

The not so good: Plan on being charged by the minute to use an on-site computer, with a minimum of $5. If you plan to use an 800 number, plan to be charged for using that, too. The second hotel room I received had thick soap scum on both soap dishes in the shower -- yuck! The upholstered furniture was torn (which I could accept given it was due to be replaced shortly), but the crumbs setting on the upholstered chair when I walked in the door didn't cut it for me. Then I noticed the dust clumped in the corners. Those are not the Marriott standards I am used to seeing. To be hit with extra charges at an upscale hotel was annoying.

Room Tip: Be sure your room does not face the street. The Anaheim Resort Transportation system stops just out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wivoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize that you had such an experience and assure you that this is not the typical stay at this hotel. On behalf of my entire staff, I apologize for the cleaning issues you encountered. As you mentioned in your review we are currently renovating all of our guest rooms this includes, new sofas and chairs. We hope that we can have another opportunity at your business on your next trip to Anaheim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    365
    105
    43
    27
See reviews for
896
43
13
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early November 2012; overall we had a good experience. The hotel is a little far from Disneyland, while we did walk it one day, for anyone with little kids or not in good shape I would take the bus or find some other way to get to Disneyland. We used our rental car after the first day as parking is only $15 with in and out privileges. Service was good and they even let us print off our boarding passes and Disney passes from the front desk computer.

Hotel Rooms:
A little dated and need of a refresh (carpet worn, etc.), however for the price and size we could easily overlook this. The room was kept clean so no complaints there. We did have a well sized room that included two bedrooms (one with a double bed and another with bunk beds). The room also included a hide-a-bed, so we for the five of us staying there was plenty of room. The kitchenette area was well stocked and made the preparation of some meals a nice bonus. There is a Target right across the street, so you can easily pick up anything you need. The only real complaint from the rooms is the air conditioning was a little loud.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was good, not a huge selection, but for a free breakfast can’t really complain. Make your own waffles, which the kids love, an egg dish of some sort, breakfast sausages , hash browns and a few other hot dishes. And the usual – bread/toast, yogurt/ fruit/juice/milk/cold cereal. We did not find the breakfast area that busy, but it could have been the time that we were there.

Pool Area:
The pool area is in very good shape (looks like it may have recently been refreshed) and also had a hot tub.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is travelling with kids as it provides good space and has the breakfast included.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdm127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
When traveling with a family value is important. The ART shuttle system is a convenient way to get to Disneyland it recently has expanded to other parks and places of interest around town. The hotel has began renovating all guest rooms carpet, stainless steel appliances, counter tops and paint are only a few of our upgrades. I can’t wait to have you back to see our newly renovated hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Glen, Ohio, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is the hotel that I usually stay in for the annual NAMM Show. I just got back today and I just have to say that this is a descent hotel but there were some things about it that were just plain irritating and you just don't want to have to deal with while you are traveling. 1) THERE WAS NO HOT WATER in the room. My room and its shower had, at best, luke warm water that just felt warm enough not be cold. 2) The pool doesn't open til 8am but all the surrounding pools open at 6am - forget an early morning swim before your mtg. 3) I had to get my plastic room key - rekeyed at least 4 times while I was there. It locked me out and I had to go back downstairs. 4) The hotel store is open during very limited hours.

Room Tip: Just make sure that you don't want a really hot shower if you choose to stay there. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during you stay with us, and we thank you for letting us know. I’m surprise to hear about the hot water we are equipped to handle twice the amount needed for our size. I will certainly have our engineer inspect out hot water system to ensure its working properly. We are working on expanding our gift shop hours currently its open from 7am-9:30pm with a one hour lunch break in the middle. We hope that we can have another opportunity at your business on your next trip to Anaheim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here to visit Disney land and it was great. Across the road was Target & bus stop out the fron to disneyland. Pool was great & free breakfast and dinner most nights was ideal with kids. The childrens rooms were colourful, double bunk, small table & chairs & tv & en suite. Our room was just lovely with en suite also. Definitely recommend !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are centrally located with plenty of food options around. Our daily breakfast buffet is an added value especially when you are traveling with a family. Thank you for being our guest! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

we stayed a this hotel for the tinkerbell half marathon and the service was great. everyone at the front desk went out of their way to make sure our stay was great. The morning buffett was great, changed up everyday, with a lot of choices. grandmother and kids loved the waffle makers, had them everyday. not a long trip from disney, buses were slow sometimes but still effective. morning of half marathon, food was provided at 3:00 am. wow!!! and still made it back in time to get the buffett. starbucks next door and other places to eat, even a taget with in 100 yards. house keeping done everyday. stove and other applicances out dated.. but hotel is starting renovations and updating..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Congratulations in completing the Tinkerbelle marathon! I absolutely agree with you; we do have a great staff and we are fortunate to have each and every one of them. I hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

... since it's very close to it. We're usually staying in a two bedroom suite for the NAMM show, since five years, and I have nothing bad to say about this hotel at all, except maybe that the fitness center could be better equipped.
All in all, we'll surely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KainAber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and share your experience during your recent stay. Our hotel is currently going through a renovation that includes all new exercise equipment. I can’t wait to have you back so that you can try out our upgraded exercise room. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The residence Inn in Garden Grove is the best resort experience we have had in many years. Located a short distance from Disneyland and California Adventure Land, (hop on the ART bus or drive a mile to Disney's Woody parking lot and take a quick bus ride), this resort is clean and has all the amenities of home plus resort amenities including a heated pool, large jacuzzi, kiddy wading pool, basketball court, two large gas barbecues, an outdoor fire pit and an awesome hot buffet breakfast. Rooms have a fully stocked kitchen and full size refrigerator. Our room had a bedroom with two queens and a full bath with tub plus another bedroom across from the kitchen with bunks and its own bath/tub combo. Target and Von's market are close by. There are many restaurants within walking distance as well.

The staff at this resort were amazingly courteous and helpful, always greeting us and responsive to all our requests. We did have a small problem in our room and this issue was immediately taken care of.

We look forward to returning here in the near future and highly recommend this resort, especially for families wanting more of a homelike feel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windynrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I could not agree more. We thank you for posting this review. We feel that no hotel in the area caters to large families like the Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether traveling with a family of 5 or even more, the additional space enhances your trip by giving you room to relax after a long day. The people that work at this hotel are an exceptional group and greatly appreciate you noticing their efforts. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.2 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#2 of 18 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 18 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove

Property: Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove
Address: 11931 Harbor Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92840 (Formerly Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#6 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Anaheim Resort Area suites are so well equipped and fully furnished, you’ll never have to set up house twice. Tastefully decorated, our guest suites are as comfortable as they are clean. With all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable and convenient they are the perfect home away from home. We offer a mix of 200 suites that fit your every need. Our suites feature a king or two queen beds and queen-sized sofa sleeper with a large living area and full kitchen. Two-bedroom kid's suites feature a bunk bed in a separate second bedroom. A queen sofa sleeper is available in the living area adjacent to the kitchen. All suites offer complimentary high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. In our Anaheim Resort Area Suites we Offer:• Coffee and Tea Makers• Complimentary High-Speed Internet Access• Dual Line Phones with Voice Mail and Wake-up Service• Full Kitchens with Stove, Microwave, Toaster, Refrigerator and more• Hairdryer• Individual Climate Control• Iron and Ironing Board• Kids Suites Available w/ Bunkbeds• Pillow Choice (Feather Down/Foam)• Pool Views from 50% of the Rooms• Sofa Beds• Silverware, Pots, Pans, Serving Dishes, etc.• Work Stations with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Hotel Garden Grove
Residence Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area/Garden Grove Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing