We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A very solid and good Holiday Inn Express” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A very solid and good Holiday Inn Express”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here during a recent business trip when my primary hotel was sold out. This is very solid hotel with no major issues. It's not dated per se but shows a bit of age - I do not believe it has gone through a renovation as IHG has been during recent years. However, the hotel is well kept, nice and clean. Staff was friendly and give me a nice goodie bag for being IHG Platinum member.

The room is spacious and bathroom is fairly clean but the hallways don't feel as clean and had some kind of odorl. The gym is also quite decent for a Holiday Inn Express. It has a couple of treadmills and one multi-station weight system, just enough to get my basic workout done.

Breakfast is the standard spread for Holiday Inn Express - mostly pre-prepared items that are heated up by the hotel. They are consistent with breakfast at other HI Express - nothing fancy but pretty solid.

The only thing that bothers me is that Holiday Inn Express switched out their bath amenities. Instead of the previous light-scented almond smell products that are moisturizing and fairly neutral smelling, they switched to the White Citrus line from Bath and Body Works, just like Holiday Inn :( The shampoo and conditioner are of "Voluminzing" kind, which means it's very drying for your hair. The fragrance is also very potent and undoubtedly feminine. You should be careful with it if you will come near people that are sensitive to fragrance because that smell will stay with you for a long time.

Another reviewer is right about the housekeeping staff - they seems to run the hotel and will run over you if need be. I was returning to my room from breakfast and a staff was cleaning the area near the elevator door - she repeated'y sticking her hand in the elevator to stop the door from closing while guests are waiting for the elevator to move. During check out as I exited the elevator on the ground floor, the housekeeping staff charged right in with a cart and didn't have the courtesy to wait for the passengers to exit the elevator with their luggage. This is the reason I took off star. The "management" should really do some training of manners - but maybe the housekeeping is the boss at this hotel :)

Room Tip: Good and solid hotel for Holiday Inn Express, good value for the money. Watch out for the housekeep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knowmyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    69
    53
    18
    27
See reviews for
104
52
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Our kids stayed here last year and they made the reservations for this trip and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The lobby is large and beautiful furnished, the breakfast room is spacious and well stocked and the rooms were clean and well appointed. There was plenty of free parking and the lots are well lighted at night. There is a free shuttle to disneyland which is very close by. We were very pleased and have already made reservations for another trip!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dodobuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was a bit dirty.

The housekeeping staff seems to run the hotel. There is only one elevator and during the morning hours, do not get in the way of housekeeping. The staff took the elevator while leaving about 6-10 customers to wait.

They also need to invest in a vacuum as my room looked as if it had not been vacuumed in weeks. When I did see the staff vacuuming, it was a very old, LOUD machine.

Definitely not a favorite!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear D N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations and for that please accept my sincere apology for the issues you have encountered during your stay with us. Rest assured, your valuable comments are noted and will be forwarded to the appropriate department to be addressed accordingly. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

First off, we did not spend much time in the room. We spent it at Disneyland!
This hotel was clean, quiet, and comfortable.
We found it on Priceline so it had a low rate.
It was not far from the park, but we had to drive there.
This hotel is a stop on the Anaheim Resort Transit route, but we wanted access to our car quickly and not have to sit on a bus.

I would stay there again over any hotel closer to Disneyland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank never_again01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

After a long drive its always nice to get good service from people and that's exactly what we received. The cleanliness was good and the room was in good order. The hotel is located about ten minutes away from Disneyland so you cant walk you have to drive but its away from all the hustle from around the park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are not clean at all. The carpet is nasty with black stains all over the place. The bathroom floor tiles are broken and you can see mold on the ceiling. Breakfast was the worst, as hot breakfast they have eggs and bacon or sausage but the only cook a little bit at the time and people have to wait about 15 minutes for them to cook a little bit more and then wait again. Besides that all employees are very gentle and respectful with customers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CESAR P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear CESAR P,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments about the cleanliness of the room and your breakfast experience have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

10 minute drive from disneyland, free parking and free breakfast. Those were really the only selling points. Rooms are decent size and clean. Booked through priceline express deals ($79/night plus tax & fees.). Big bummer was that the hotel made me pay $15/night extra to secure 2 queen beds (family trip.) I don't think that's right, since they wouldn't make any other guest pay extra for a standard request like a room with 2 queen beds.

Breakfast was good: pancake machine, cereal, bagels, toast, pastries, coffee, yogurt, fruit, apple & orange juice, biscuits and gravy (scary), omelettes (microwave airplane) / scrambled eggs (ok), sausage patties or bacon (ok), cinnamon rolls (yummy).Overall, with a family, it was the free parking and breakfast that made it a good deal.

The hotel has a disney shuttle, but the shuttle was $5/day for adults and $3/day for kids 9 and under so we just drove since parking at disney is $16/day.

Didn't deal much with daytime staff since we were at disneyland all day but night auditor was nice and helpful when we checked in late.

Pool is heated, but it's not very refreshing when it's 90 degrees outside. Decent hotel for the price, but I'll probably stay somewhere else next time since we go every year.

Room Tip: If you book through priceline express deals, the hotel made us pay extra $15/night for 2 queen beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Simon L,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased you appreciated the breakfast, parking and our proximity to Disneyland. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites North Orange County
1.0 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#5 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Anaheim-Resort Area
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove

Property: Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove
Address: 12867 Garden Grove Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92843-2007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a virtual tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Garden Grove Conveniently located minutes away from Anaheim Convention Center, Crystal Cathedral and Disneyland Resort area. Make yourself at home in one of our large, exquisitely furnished rooms. Enjoy the convenience of our complimentary WiFi & high-speed Internet access. Relax and unwind at our outdoor heated pool and whirlpool; you are sure to find a captivating blend of refreshing breezes and a cool ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove Hotel Garden Grove
Holiday Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing