We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting stay aways”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Reviewed October 2, 2012

For the price I paid its way too much I was better off at the motel 6 there staff is rude and lazy there rooms are disgusting with hairs from previous guests over the bed and towels the lobby and front desk looks abandoned very unprofessional and low class staff I would never stay qgain

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arturoyadan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXGardenGrove, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

On behalf of my entire staff, I apologize that you had such a terrible vist to our property. I would greatly welcome the opportunity to get more information regarding your stay. As you can tell from the many other reviews on TripAdvisor, this is not the normal experience. I welcome the opportunity to hear from you at your earliest convenience by either email (jbradford@hiegardengrove.com) or on my direct phone number (714-530-3388 ext 4906).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 279 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at this property about 2 years ago when my family and i visited Disneyland. Considering that it's a Holiday Inn Express, and the price which we paid for the rooms, we weren't expecting much. We thought it'll just be a bedroom, a bed, and a bathroom. What we saw upon entering the room really surprised us, in a good way though. There were TWO queen size beds, a writing desk, a couch with an ottoman, and a TV. The bathroom has a tub, lots of towels, and a complete set of toiletries. The room was very clean, it smelled fresh, and beds were REALLY comfortable (especially after strolling around Mickey Mouse's kingdom for the entire day). They have a pool but we didn't get to try it as it was freezing outside. The stay also comes with breakfast. It wasn't much. Your typical bacon, eggs, sausages, biscuits, cereal, coffee, tea, etc. but for the price that we paid, you definitely wouldn't expect breakfast to come with it.

So as a conclusion, i would recommend the place, and would definitely stay there again the next time i'm there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXGardenGrove, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for logging onto TripAdvisor and posting this review. We are quite pleased that you had a very good stay and hope to see you on your next visit to Southern California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Booked a room through Hotels.com for a romantic getaway with my significant other for 8/17/2012 to 8/18/2012. At 3am on 8/18/2012 I'm awakened by screaming from my other half, she had woken up to pee and noticed a bug crawling on her arm. After turning on ALL the lights, I noticed she had bite marks (3 or more in a row) on her: wrist, arms, legs, shoulders, and ankle (picture attached). Immediately inspected the entire bed from pillows to floor, we found a total of 3 bugs (1 large, 2 smaller). Called the front desk to speak with a manager to fix the situation, only to be told no managers work (least at this location) on weekends, and he would be in on Monday. We threw everything in the car, checked out, will not return nor recommend this hotel to anyone, and have been getting the run around (hotels.com & holiday inn playing the blame game) trying to get a simple refund for a completely wasted weekend I had planned. THANKS - with no lube.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor, stay somewhere else. Or take the risk of being bitten, lied to, screwed with, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXGardenGrove, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you can probably tell from the rest of the reviews, your experience was not what most of our guests experience when they stay with us. We have conducted a full investigation with our contracted pest control company. They have concluded that no evidence of bed bugs or insects are present within the property, nor the room in which was occupied during your stay. We have fully co-operated with Hotels.com in regards to their refund policy in this matter. If possible, please contact me on my direct line at 714-650-5233 or by email at jbradford@hiegardengrove.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel because it wasn't within the Disneyland traffic however it still had a shuttle to the park. The rooms are very clean & the beakfast is very good. The greatest part about this hotel is the staff was so nice. We even missed our shuttle once & the man that was working the front desk called us a cab. We were always welcomed coming in & asked to have a nice day going out. I will most definitely stay here again my next trip to the area. Thank you to all the employees for such a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Higher Floors has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blonde L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our room was clean,beds comfortable,everything worked in the room. Front desk greeted us every time we came in or left .They were also helpful in our requests.
Nice and quite at night,over all a pleasant stay .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rustypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXGardenGrove, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

We can't tell you how much we appreciate you taking the time to share such an experience on TripAdvisor! The comments regarding the great customer service is very kind and we're thankful you had a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is not a hotel that I would have normally booked. However, I needed a room last minute in the area and this was one of the few choices available to me. That being said, I was pleasantly surprised with the property.

The property was easy to find, centrally located, and I felt safe here. This hotel is well maintained, very clean, and my room was rather large and nicely appointed.

For me the few negatives were issues that may not be all that big of a deal to other travelers. The lack of black-out curtains bugged me because I am an East Coaster who is ready for bed before the sun sets here. Not being able to black out the sun made it difficult for me to get as much sleep as I'd hoped for. I could, however, have other ways to surmount this type of issue such as traveling with a sleep mask or similar.

For as updated as all of the furnishings seemed to be in the room, the beds seemed oddly less "plush" with sheets that were a little rough (perhaps only because they are new and need broken in?) and mattresses that were quite basic. This is not really a deal breaker, I just mention it because I noticed it.

Staff I encountered were all excellent. Nice choice of restaurants nearby including quite a few that deliver.

I found the wireless internet to be slow and difficult to connect to but it was free so I cannot find too much fault with that item, either.

Overall a great stay in this class of hotel. It wouldn't be my first choice for a return trip (mainly because this isn't the part of town I typically need to be near when I visit the area and I generally stay at more "business class" types of hotels), but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others looking for a solid, basic hotel with some upgraded amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie1473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXGardenGrove, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and share your experience during your recent stay. We apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during you stay with us, and we thank you for letting us know. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel was clean, staff was friendly and always accommodated any request. We stayed for 10 days on a family vacation. Room was just right for four people, but if more people there would be a space issue. Walls a little thin and mattresses need to be upgraded. Very busy hotel due to its location. Breakfast was standard, but employees constantly restocked items. Best thing was the warm pool - by far the best we've ever been in at a Holiday Inn. Recommend swimming during the day while kiddies are all at Disney.

Room Tip: Room 103 perfect for parking on the right side of hotel. Easy in/out access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregR487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garden Grove hotels
1 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,163 reviews
1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,884 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites North Orange County
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Los Angeles - Anaheim - Garden Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove

Address: 12867 Garden Grove Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92843-2007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Price Range: $107 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a virtual tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Garden Grove Conveniently located minutes away from Anaheim Convention Center, Crystal Cathedral and Disneyland Resort area. Make yourself at home in one of our large, exquisitely furnished rooms. Enjoy the convenience of our complimentary WiFi & high-speed Internet access. Relax and unwind at our outdoor heated pool and whirlpool; you are sure to find a captivating blend of refreshing breezes and a cool ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove Hotel Garden Grove
Holiday Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing