We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Belgian Beers”
Review of The Globe - Belgian GastroPub - CLOSED

The Globe - Belgian GastroPub
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Belgian, Central European, International, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hands-On Belgian Owners Welcome you, introduce yourselves. Globally Inspired Seasonal Cuisine, Market Fresh Specials, Monthly Chef's Creations,Engaging European Hospitality, Signature Cocktails, Belgian Craft Beer and Wine Selections. Exclusive Belgian Craft Beers, 18 Rotating & Seasonal Drafts, Growing Selection Bottled, All Served in Signature Glassware and According to Cicerone Rules.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place for Belgian Beers”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

16 Belgian imports on tap and another 18 in bottle.
$7-$9.50 per glass

I was at a convention and didn't go here until the last night. If I had gone here earlier in the week I would have been back multiple time. Even though this is a Garden Grove address it is only 2.8 miles from the Anaheim Convention Center. (Also Disneyland)

Flights of 4 oz samples make it possible to taste a wide range of beers while enjoying well prepared food of a tapas or entree variety. Tap beers I had included Scaldis Ambree, La Chouffee, Straffe Hendrick Quad, Tripel Karmeliet and Pauwel Kwak Amber. All the beers were served in correct glasses.

The food was great. This place has very good food and it is not just well executed pubfare. We had the chef's selection cheese sampler + the chef's choice meat/pate plate, fried mushrooms and stuffed mushrooms. There were also some very tasty looking entrees that others ordered and next time I am in the vicinity I will go back for those.

The waiter was very engaging and friendly. The atmosphere is for a long sitting of drinking and eating not a fast drink/eat and run.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJ142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGlobeOC, Owner at The Globe - Belgian GastroPub, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Appreciate your insight and look forward to serve you again, soon. Warm regards, Michael & Marijke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great beer, food okay”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

To summarize, the micro and foreign beer selections are awesome, and while the portion sizes are generous, the food was not as awesome as the beer. Good value for the money, will go back. I was not to enamoured by the decor, but others may feel differently.

Helpful?
Thank Rkwok68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGlobeOC, Owner at The Globe - Belgian GastroPub, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Appreciate your insight and look forward to serve you again, soon. Warm regards, Michael & Marijke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the Anaheim Area”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our company was in town for a convention in Anaheim. Anaheim is not know for foodie restaurants in the area...mostly chains. Luckily we found the Globe. We chose the spot because of the obviously great Belgium beer they offered, but to top that off, the food was fabulous. We started with the Cheese Board and Charcuterie platter and all was fresh and an amazing beginning of dinner. We had a combination of Happos and Entrees and of course the Belgium beers a flowing. The food was amazing and a perfect pairing with the delicious beer. Our entire group was very pleased and so glad we found a "local" foodie spot in Anaheim to come back to when we are in the area. To top it off, the owners were a delight and authentic Belgium pair that have wonderfully brought their food to southern California. We all will return as a new favorite spot in the Anaheim area!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGlobeOC, Owner at The Globe - Belgian GastroPub, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your insight and kind words. Happy you and your guest found us. We enjoyed serving you and look forward to your next visit, kind regards, MnM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
407 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“The Globe Dine Bar showcases food from around the world in Garden Grove, CA”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Charcuterie Platter is a chef’s selection of cured meats and pate from around the globe, with seasonal trimmings. The meats were perfectly sliced, especially the prosciutto, paper thin so it just melts in your mouth. The meats had different textures and flavors that satisfy the taste buds. Love the roasted garlic, so sweet, and it matches perfectly with the meats. An expertly sliced French baguette is the perfect vehicle to get these delectable meats into your mouth. Thumbs up, way up!

Beer Beef Stew is large cubes of beef simmered in Leffe Brune beer, sautéed onions, and carrots. The beer added an interesting aroma and flavor, yet was served burgundy-style. The sauce was thick and the beef was luxuriously tender. The Belgian fries are the perfect option to get all of the tasty sauce. You don’t want to waste any of it. The Belgian Fries were fried to perfection with a crispy, golden brown outside and a tender very-essence-of-potato inside. Once you go the Belgian way, it’s hard to have regular French fries again. Thumbs up, way up!

Tiramisu is an Italian classic: mascarpone custard layered with fresh cream, Rhum, and espresso soaked ladyfingers. OMG! Since coming back from Milan last year, whether it is coffee or Italian desserts, I haven’t been able to find anything close, but I think I have found it here at The Globe. It’s made by Chef George Anthony, who worked at a restaurant in Washington, D.C. when Ronald Reagan was president. President Reagan said that it was the best tiramisu he’d ever had. And he was right! It’s very authentic in flavor – strong, balanced espresso flavor with creamy, sweet mascarpone cheese, spongy ladyfingers, and dark chocolate powder on top. Brilliantly executed! Thumbs up, way up!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OCFoodDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW! A wonderful find in Garden Grove”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We visited the Anaheim area earlier this month and wanted to find somewhere different for dinner. My husband suggested we check out the downtown area of Garden Grove based on something he read in a local travel magazine. We walked up and down the block or so where the restaurants and shops were located and chose the Globe because they have Chimay beer on tap (a rarity!).

We were delighted by the owners/staff, menu and food. My husband loves Belgian ales and The Globe has an extensive selection, including several he had not tried before. He chose Coq au Vin for dinner and said it was fantastic. He loves to cook and has made the dish at home, but has never found it on the menu (even in French restaurants). I had the margarita pizza which was flavorful and crisp. My favorite item was the creme brulee I had for dessert. Mmmmm.

We highly recommend The Globe. We wish we lived in the area so we could visit The Globe on a regular basis or that they would open a satellite location near our home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MJM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Globe - Belgian GastroPub also viewed

Garden Grove, Orange County
Garden Grove, Orange County
 
Garden Grove, Orange County
Garden Grove, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing