We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beer, Great Service, Awesome Food”
Review of The Globe - Belgian GastroPub - CLOSED

The Globe - Belgian GastroPub
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Belgian, Brew Pub, Bar, International, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hands-On Belgian Owners Welcome you, introduce yourselves. Globally Inspired Seasonal Cuisine, Market Fresh Specials, Monthly Chef's Creations,Engaging European Hospitality, Signature Cocktails, Belgian Craft Beer and Wine Selections. Exclusive Belgian Craft Beers, 18 Rotating & Seasonal Drafts, Growing Selection Bottled, All Served in Signature Glassware and According to Cicerone Rules.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Great Service, Awesome Food”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Globe has a great selection of Belgium beers and a knowledgable staff. The owners, who are Dutch, are friendly and will sit and chat. We started off with two flight tasters of beers, and hand cut Belgium fries with two different sauces, the Samurai sauce is housemade and awesome! We also ordered the artichoke and heirloom tomato salad and the roasted vegetable pizza. My husband is not a veggie guy and he loved everything! I highly suggest this restaurant to anyone who wants to sit down, relax, and enjoy their food and drink!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amcelroy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bon Appetite”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

In the area on business and decided to break away from the usual chain restaurants we tend to visit. Thanks to the previous reviewers for putting the spotlight on The Globe. It really deserves it! I started with a flight of Belgian beers, and it was the first time in my life I enjoyed each stop along the way: Blanche De Broux, Tripel Karmeliet, Delirium Tremens and finished with a darker, but tasty Grimbergan Dubbel. The flight was suggested by the owners, so don't worry if you don't know your Belgian beers, they will point you in the right direction.
A new Chef, I am told, but I had a terrific Fish of the day (cod), with local veggies and Belgian fries. A very fine meal! I will be sure to bring my co-workers next time back in town!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yennacbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent flavors and value”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We just got back from The Globe and were very happy we went. The tapas were great. Hummus, empanadas, and both artichoke dishes were very good. Don't be scared away that the place is also a bar. It does not have a bar feel. If we lived locally, we would be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank KevinBuildsWireless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waregem, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home, away from home !”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We were visiting California, and friends gave us a tip when visiting Disneyland in Anaheim, to stop by "The Globe" in Garden Grove , ten minutes away from there.
We were welcomed by the owners, Michaël & Marijke , from Belgium , and a friendly staff.
Naturally we had one of their fine Belgian beers on the patio with "TheGlobe appetizers finger licking good!
We ordered the chef's special"Herb crusted yellowtail, with homemade spinach linguini " and a bottle of W.Hill estate Chardonnay , suggestion of the day.
Great choice !
For dessert we choose a "Duo of Belgian chocolate mousse" and finished our secculent meal with a Dutch & Irish coffee.
A must for everyone who likes an honest homemade kitchen and enjoys all the good things life & The Globe has to offer. We will tell all our friends & family to make a reservation there , during their visit in beautiful California.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank isamieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best belgium beers selection!”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This place was wonderful!! The restaurant is in a cute town with a cute downtown car show on Fridays. The food was excellent with the selection of beers. The owners were very friendly and really enjoyed visiting with their customers and offering food and drink recommendations. We will definately be back when we are in LA next,

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank cyngall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Globe - Belgian GastroPub also viewed

Garden Grove, Orange County
Garden Grove, Orange County
 
Garden Grove, Orange County
Garden Grove, Orange County
 
Garden Grove, Orange County
Garden Grove, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing