We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Bad Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Reviewed June 14, 2006

We decided to stay in a hotel so we could enjoy 2 days at Disneyland without having to drive home. We chose the Marriott Suites because we are Platinum members with
Marriott and we wanted a suite so our 3- and 5-year-olds would be in a separate room while sleeping.
We did find the "suite" to be a bit small. I wouldn't really call it a suite; more like a regular hotel room with a wall in the middle of it to separate the bedroom. Also, the walls are a bit thin. When the people in the suite next to us closed their door, our bed would shake -- reminded me of those vibrating beds that take quarters. However, this hotel is not a bad value at all. We got a rate of just over $100. We were only there one night so for us, the size was not a big deal. The bed is extremely comfortable. The rooms and hotel are very clean. We were on one of the top floors and got a fantastic view of the evening fireworks at Disneyland. The windows are almost floor to ceiling which is very nice -- especially on a top floor. The pool is a nice size. The hot tub was a little on the foamy side: it really could have used a cleaning. The Starbucks in the lobby was really nice in the morning. Amenities included a mini fridge and a coffee maker. Internet access was $10/day -- even for Platinum members, which was a bummer. But, as platinum members, they did give us a certificate for a free appetizer or dessert in the restaurant during our stay ( which we never used). We will return but probably request a bigger room if we stay more than one night.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jillypepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,701 - 1,707 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2006

We just returned from an 8 night stay in the Anaheim area. We make an annual trip out to the Orange County area as we love the beaches and the million different things to do in the area. Each trip we always start out saying we are going to stay someplace different, but always wind up making or changing our Reservation to the Marriott Suites in Garden Grove. This is our 4th stay at this hotel. As always, everything was perfect. Front desk staff was helpful, bellman was very friendly and there was plenty of free parking.

We always (try at least) to get an Executive suite, which is a slighly larger corner suite. As usual, the room was clean and comfortable. The King bed is extremely comfortable. The kids sleep in the sofa sleeper which I assume is comfortable as they've not complained.

Housekeeping was always quick to clean the room while we were at breakfast and they always left new shampoo, conditioner and lotion bottles daily without us having to ask. Additionally, a copy of USA Today was waiting outside our door every morning.

The restaurant has changed since our last visit, and it has changed for the better. It is now "Sunspot" and features more of an American menu instead of the previous Oriental cuisine. We frequented the Breakfast Buffet 3 or 4 times, which was a little pricey at $13 for adult and $7 for child, but at least they let my 2 year old eat for free. The food on the buffet was very good quality, including fresh fruit, pastries, omlet bar, waffles, smoked salmon and even Miso Soup.

As stated in previous reviews, internet access is an extra $9.95 per day which amazes me that higher end hotels charge for it and more moderate hotels give it for free. Our room cost was $149 per day, a little pricy, but you get an excellent stay in a clean and QUIET room.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jlmjdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, CA
17
Reviewed June 5, 2006

My family and I (6 total) stayed here during Memorial weekend and we got a great price on this room. Lots of places to eat right outside hotel (Joe's CrabShack, Outback Steakhouse & Red Robin) and shopping at Target is right across the street. The rooms are good size new and clean. We had excellent customer service. The restaraunt is a bit slow, but they do have a kids play room, which is very convenient when the kids get anxious. Pool is decent size and water was warm. We've stayed at many of the surrounding hotels before and found this to be a much better value for our money. This was the first time we actually felt we got our money's worth. We'll defintely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2006

Expensive, expensive, expensive. Booked for 8 nights, stayed for 4 before checking into Homewood Suites next door.
Very high base rate with nothing but room included - breakfast extra, wireless internet extra, transportation extra. $179 per night way too expensive - go next door and save $70 per night and have your breakfast and internet thrown in.
Additionally, walls made out of wafer biscuits so you can hear your next door neighbour snoring through the night.
The Marriott Suites Anaheim was a very low point of an otherwise fantastic trip around the South West.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Romford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

We stayed at this Marriott for two nights a Sunday and Monday During "Spring Break". The hotel was just okay. We live in SO CAL but decided to stay at this hotel because its so close to Disneyland. And its a great place to lay your head after a day w/ 3 kids at the parks. Since we are Marriott reward/timeshare owners we decided on this Hotel. It was overall a nice clean hotel nothing special. The rooms are all suites. Ours was on the small side, in Retrospect we should have paid extra for the larger suite. The setup worked out though, after we moved some of the furniture around to make a little more room. There was a small refrigerator and access to the bathroom from different entrances. The pull out couch and a single blow up bed (ours) worked out okay for the kids. The bedroom had a nice King size VERY comfortable Mattress and each of our rooms had a TV. The service was fair. My only complaint was the parking. There are not enough disabled parking spaces available at this hotel. I spoke to the manager about this and he apologized and stated that we could have Valet parked our car and they would have reimbursed us at check-out. I wish we would have known! Other than that, the hotel was close to Disneyland and various restaurants and A Starbucks in the Lobby. The hotel made for a pleasant trip.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tedandlisa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2006

My family consisting of two adults and two 15 year old boys, stayed in a family suite from 9-13 April 2006. From the first contact with the Valet to final checkout, the staff was superb. We had booked through AAA, and the breakfast buffett was included. Othewise the cost is $15.00. The host took us to out table every morning so that we did not have to wait and hunt for a table. Enough food of quality and substance for everyone. You should not go hungry. There is a shuttle to Disneyland at $3.00 per day per person, but we elected to drive since we had free parking through AAA. Hint! A quick way to parking at Disneyland is to take a left on Chapman, and a right on West. This will take you right to the parking lot with no other traffic.
The room at the Marriott was great, but the privacy factor was stretched with just a sheer curtain between the bedroom and the frontroom. Also the bathroom sink is in the bedroom area. Again, a great place to stay away from the madness of the close to Disneyland hotels. Outback steakhouse, Red Robin and Crap shack are in the parking lot, with a Starbucks in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank bleuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
110
Reviewed March 30, 2006

Satying at the Marriott Suites in Anaheim was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. My boss and I were in town for a trade show and convention, and had booked a room with two queen beds. we were given a room with one King bed, and because of the trade show, the hotel was booked and could not move us. I had to share a bed with my boss. Seriously.
The room was not only a single bed, but it was a handicap room as well. This meant that the shower was a walk-in, with no tub. The showerhead came up only as far as my chin (I'm 5' 6") and I had to bend down to rinse my hair and face in the shower. The drain was also backed up, which meant that the entire bathroom filled up with water because the shower floor was level with the rest of the floor.
On the first night, we were assured that we could be moved to a different room the next morning at checkout time. Since we were to be at the convention center all day long, the desk clerk told us to pack everything and they would come and move our room while we were gone. We spent an extra 40 minutes the next morning packing up everything we had brought. We came back at the end of the day to find that it had not happened. It seemed as if no one knew that we had requested a room change. The desk clerk was rude and stand-offish when we tried to clarify things, and would not let us speak to the manager. When we went up to our room, we called the manager, who assured us that we would be moved the next morning.
We ordered room service that night, and they brought us an incomplete order. When I called down to tell them this, they sent someone up to collect what they had brought the last time. I asked him why they needed it all back, and he told me that they keep all of the old food in a pile in the kitchen and then they go through it and make a list at the end of the day. I thought that was bizarre. When he brought back what was supposed to be the right food, it was agin incorrect. I hadn't even ordered anything special... just something straight off the menu, and they couldn't get it right.
Then we realized that there was no cool air coming out of the air conditioner. We called maintainence, and had them come check it out. The maintainance man brought up an entire air conditioning unit, and proceeded to replace the unit while we were in the room. For an hour we sat in our room while the air conditioner was replaced. They didn't even tell us that would have to happen... they just wheeled it into our room.
On a positive note, we did get our room changed that last day we were there, and there was one concierge member who went out of his way to make sure we were taken care of. Brian, a manager, was also very helpful. I appreciated all thet they did to help out and make us comfortable.
The building is clean and well taken care of, and it is a beautiful place to stay. I am hoping that it was ony a difficult stay for us because of how busy it was that weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#3 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#30 of 119 in Anaheim
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Anaheim/Garden Grove
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anaheim Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Marriott Suites

Address: 12015 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#1 Best Value Hotel in Garden Grove
#1 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range: $115 - $859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anaheim Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anaheim Marriott Suites is the premier and largest Marriott all suites full service hotel located just one mile from the Disneyland Resort attractions and the Anaheim Convention Center. The Marriott Suites features 371 spacious two-room suites, a contemporary lobby and 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space catering to a variety of social events, meetings and weddings. Enjoy the "Revive" bedding package in each suite designed with a living room and a separate bedroom. Guests will appreciate such amenities as a large well lit desk, wireless and high speed Internet access, voice messaging, two 32" flat screen televisions, iron & ironing board, coffee/tea maker, mini refrigerator, room service, dry cleaning service and laundry facilities. Guests can work out on state-of-the-art exercise equipment, relax in the outdoor pool and whirlpool. Dine in SunSpot, an American Restaurant or indulge in the simple luxuries of our very own Starbucks, just off the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anaheim Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Anaheim Hotel Garden Grove
Marriott Garden Grove
Garden Grove Marriott
Anaheim Marriott Suites Garden Grove, Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing