We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The kids' new favorite hotel for Disneyland!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The kids' new favorite hotel for Disneyland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

When the 6, 12 and 19-year-old were polled, the kids gave the hotel" a million-bajillion thumbs up!" We usually stay at the Hilton Anaheim, but now the kids insist on coming back here for our next trip on Spring Break.
The theming was nice, and the lion was a big hit. The hotel was bright and clean. The breakfast buffet was also a hit with the kids. They loved everything offered, and it was always well-attended and replenished. The room was spacious and clean, the coffee makers and coffee were the best of hotel coffee we've had so far. The microwave was handy for popcorn in the evening, upon our return to the room from the parks. The park opened late and closed early, so we spent more time in the room than we usually do, and it was not too crowded at all with all five of us. Bonus was that we could put the kids to sleep early and spend a little time relaxing before bed, watching tv. The sofa bed was comfy, the regular beds a little hard for me. The little convenience store in the lobby was handy. The ART picked us up in front of the hotel and took us to Disneyland and brought us back. Very convenient. We had a great stay and will be staying again at least twice this year. Overall, best stay we've had in the vicinity!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PriscillaRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    643
    258
    99
    73
See reviews for
1,198
164
21
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chandler, arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

This was our second stay at the Embassy South, both times in December, and it's been perfect for our family. We've stayed at other hotels directly across from the walking entrance to the park but what you gain in proximity you give up in cleanliness and comfort. The suites at Embassy offer 2 double beds (which seem very small when you are used to a king but they are comfortable) and 1 sofa bed with 1 bathroom. There is ample space for 6 people to stay for a few days of fun. Bonus is the breakfast buffet and the made to order omelet station (the same cook was there both years and he does a great job managing the long line for omelets) giving you are a great start if you intend to have a full day at the park. Bacon, sausage, pancakes, french toast, eggs, fruit, yogurt, pastries, toast, english muffins. The works. The manager's reception is great if you come back to the hotel for a rest or change of clothes as we do so that we can stay until midnight closing. The drinks were good, snacks nice and $2 pizza slices for the kids perfect to get them through a few more hours. This hotel is very clean and the staff is polite and helpful. We requested extra pillows, they were delivered within 10 minutes of our late arrival. Parking is not an issue this time of year, though I believe they do charge a resort fee each night of your stay. It's still a great value with full breakfast included - the IHOP on Harbor Blvd was $60+ for 6 people. The ART transit stop is right in front of the hotel lobby so it's convenient if you don't have a car. We prefer to park at the Mickey and Friends lot ($15 per day or free if you buy your hopper tickets from AAA) and take the tram that drops you off in Downtown Disney. It's been faster for us than waiting in long lines for the shuttle. If you can visit in December before Christmas, you should as the crowds on Thurs/Fri are so much less than other times of the year and you get to enjoy the holiday magic. We waited 10-15 minutes for Space Mountain, Tower of Terror, Screamin. Riding everything 4 times a day was fantastic. The clam chowder bread bowls in New Orleans square are great on colder days and the hot chocolate from any stand is delicious! Be sure to ride Thunder Mountain and Matterhorn at night so you can see the holiday light displays - beautiful! We will definitely stay at the Embassy for our future Disney visits.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gottogetaway2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Great location , Great staff,the rooms are very roomy, has a refrigerator, microwave,coffee maker, sofa bed, and free hot breakfast with great selection of breakfast items and made to order omletes. They have a shuttle that runs to Disneyland not to expensive. What I like best about this hotel is the made to order omelets. The cooking staff is excellent. The location is the next best right down the street and plenty of parking.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 808travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

I cannot believe this hotel gets as many stars as it does from as many different people. I travel a LOT, and this is one of the saddest hotels in the Hilton family that I have ever stayed in, complete with a ratty old lion on top of a rock. There are two good things about this property: the staff, and the beds. If you like good value, natural light and good food, however, I suggest you look elsewhere. We lasted one night. The food is absolutely horrendous - the "kids eat free' thing is worthless. Dinner cost a mint, and was nearly inedible. The cheese on the nachos came right out of a can. The beer at the manager's reception was just north of warm, and the wine was worse. The food on the kids menu is uninspired and just as bad as the "adult" menu. Breakfast is good if you like carbs and tasteless food. There was not a decent piece of fruit to be had (why do people even bother with red "delicious" apples anymore??). No yogurt (except "light and fit"), no bagels, no cottage cheese. Lipton tea in questionably clean mugs, flat diet coke and reallllly bad coffee. Man was I grumpy. We checked out and moved to the Hyatt, just two doors down. Starbucks in the lobby, kids eat free at a restaurant with great food, FREE Disneyland shuttle, great workout room, lovely rooms, and there is a special kids area in the bar downstairs with kid-sized seats and a new movie playing every day. Oh, and all that for $70 less per night than the Embassy Suites!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HoppySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

We check in on 12/11/10 for our one night stay and it was great!!! I am a HH Gold Member and this hotel takes care of its HH members. Our room had a "WELCOME" basket with goodies which was great. Evening managers reception, breakfast and room service was great. The staff was super and I could not ask for anything more....THANK YOU EMBASSY SUITES!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VMunoz312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

This hotel was very tall! We were on the 10th floor. Our suite was as you would expect from the Embassy Suites brand - clean, functional, and fairly spacious. The bed was King size. The staff making complimentary breakfast were very polite and friendly. I would guess that this is a hotel suitable for children as there were many families there. It was very useful for our visit to Disneyland - we walked there in fact. It's a significant drive away from Santa Monica and Beverley Hills. There is not much to say about this hotel. It was just fine.
Oh, the free high speed internet access was very welcome. The pool was outside and not terribly inviting in the cold weather, facing another hotel but is probably nice in the sun. We didn't eat here but I think we saw other people getting food served to them on plastic plates.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireMim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

We just returned from a 5 night stay and it was not quite the enjoyable Embassy Suites stay I expected- most of the problem is that the hotel was packed for the Holidays and it simply cannot handle the crowds. The breakfast always had long lines and the elevators typically required a long wait. All in all the crowds did not make for a relaxing stay as I felt the hotel simply cannot handle so many people and kids. On a positive note the staff for the managers reception was prompt and friendly.

As far as the hotel itself the rooms I found to be dated and worn out compared to other comparable brands. The beds were okay and the rooms were quiet at night.

This hotel would be an ok value during non-busy times but beware of the massive crowds during peaks times at Disneyland.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voreezz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#6 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
5.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Address: 11767 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2701 (Formerly Embassy Suites Anaheim South / Disneyland Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#7 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#7 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Anaheim - South hotel is located just one mile from Anaheim's Disneyland Resort® attractions. This all-suite hotel features complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and evening manager's reception. Shuttles are available in from of the hotel to take guests to all of Anaheim, California's recreation parks. The Embassy Suites also features an on-site Disney® Desk with information on Southern California and Disneyland® Resort attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Anaheim South / Disneyland Hotel Garden Grove
Embassy Suites Garden Grove
Embassy Suites California
Garden Grove Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Anaheim South Hotel
Embassy Suites By Hilton Anaheim - South Garden Grove, Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing