We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Typical Embassy Suites-Loaded with kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
167 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Typical Embassy Suites-Loaded with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I visited the hotel for business in July. It is pretty much the typical Embassy Suites in most regards but does get tons more families with young kids than the normal Embassy. Since it's close to Disneyland just expect to hear them running up and down the hallways of this 14 story property. I was doing work in the lobby area for a few days and the hotel restaurant/ bufet area was not an extremely comfortable temperature. Most of the time hotels are on the chilly side for me but this property actually felt a little hot and stuffy in the main areas.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BradS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    615
    245
    90
    65
See reviews for
1,129
160
20
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
argyle, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

this is a great hotel to stay at when traveling with kids. My grandparents started this tradition when I was a child. We love that it is a suite so there is a room for kids to watch the t.v. and the adults to watch another. We love the microwave, frig and dining room table. The breakfast bar is great! We are not big drinkers but if we are back at hotel and feel like a drink in the evening it is great to have it available. I could go on and on. We just love this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed 8 days at this hotel and we had a great time. The rooms were always very clean and nice. The staff was very nice and helpful. Even when the internet password didn't work they told me the would refund the charges and they did. I would stay here any time I return to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Everything was top notch. You can even park your car for free whilst using there shuttle service to the theme parks, such as Disneyland. The afternoon/early evening drinks and snacks, along with the breakast ( I recommend the made to order omelette bar ) were very well done.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank timc208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We just returned from a 5 day trip to Anaheim which included Disneyland, Angels game and drive to mountains. We were originally booked to stay at the Doubletree Suites just down the road (which we've stayed at before and liked), but had friends tell us this was a great place to stay - close to everything, free breakfast and happy hour dinner deals, and a shuttle to the park. We decided to change our reservation to this location and booked the park package with a fireworks view. There were three of us for a few days until we drove to pick up our other child in the mountains at which point there were four of us in the suite.

Honestly, I really wish we'd just kept our Doubletree reservation for the following reasons:
1. Room was very dark and the layout was not all that convenient for our family of 4. The only window was in the back bedroom, so the living room was VERY dark. We found the room to be very cramped and hard to move in. We have stayed in many suite hotels and didn't feel as cramped as here.
2. The breakfast was edible, but not great by any means. And the worst part was that it was the same food everyday. There was no variety to the breakfast buffet. Always scrambled eggs, sausage+bacon, either soggy french toast or pancakes, etc. I guess it depends on if you want to eat breakfast or just choke down a free meal so you don't have to buy lunch at the park.
3. This place is PACKED. If you want to find a place to get respite from Disney crowds, this is NOT the place to stay. The elevators are slow because there are so many people, the buffet is a zoo because there are so many people, parking is crowded.
4. The Shuttle is a nice amenity, but if four people use it, it costs less to drive and park at Disneyland. We received one free day on the shuttle with the park package, but drove to the park the second day.

Good things? I did find the cleanliness decent for how many people are at this place; check in staff very friendly and helpful - though we requested extra pillows twice and never received them; fireworks view is wonderful and a great perk.

I guess I would ask this question: do I want a place to crash and do I want to dive into the Disney scene full force, or would I like the time I spend away from Disneyland to be a respite from the craziness?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JennyP12568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This is pretty much on par with an Embassy but slightly less due to high traffic of Disneyland clientele. It is overpriced on average compared to what you would expect other places, but supply and demand keeps the price high. The breakfast was good but come early or give yourself about 45 min for a leisurely breakfast during peak times between 8:30-9:30 am. The shuttles were good and on time. We always bought our shuttle tickets last minute and never had an issue with getting on or back. Shuttles will depart hotel on time but will wait about 10 min. for the return back.
We did have an issue with a wet sofa bed at bedtime that was not caught by housekeeping. I think it was peed on as it smelled. We also had a wet carpet in front of the refrigerator and sink. It remained damp during our stay. Hotel staff changed the mattress (we doubled up and waited until morning to change since everyone was so tired). They said they would address the wet carpet, but I don't know what was done on that end since no one ever notified us either way and although the carpet was less wet as time went by, it never completely dried. There were a few places where the wallpaper was badly patched or coming up, but not overly bad. The bathrooms and showers were fine and we liked the amenities.
Compared to the wonderful vineyard hotel we had the next night at a cheaper rate, it is sad that it had to be so expensive. That is Disney for you.
Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful as needed.
I thing the beds are full size instead of Queen. They were noticeably smaller.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank freetofly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Good place to stay as family of 6. Breakfast was good(not Great but still good). Great Disneyland place with Disney rep right on site. Offer a shuttle to Disney but more costly than Disney parking if 3 adults want to use it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#4 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,927 reviews
5.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim North
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Los Angeles - Anaheim - Garden Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Address: 11767 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2701 (Formerly Embassy Suites Anaheim South / Disneyland Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#7 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
#7 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Anaheim - South hotel is located just one mile from Anaheim's Disneyland Resort® attractions. This all-suite hotel features complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and evening manager's reception. Shuttles are available in from of the hotel to take guests to all of Anaheim, California's recreation parks. The Embassy Suites also features an on-site Disney® Desk with information on Southern California and Disneyland® Resort attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Anaheim South / Disneyland Hotel Garden Grove
Embassy Suites Garden Grove
Embassy Suites California
Garden Grove Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Anaheim South Hotel
Embassy Suites By Hilton Anaheim - South Garden Grove, Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing