We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate hotel; convenient shuttle service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel; convenient shuttle service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I almost hesitate to write a review for this hotel, because I'm not sure it would add much to the very accurate reviews already here. I would echo most of what's already been said by others.

When we first arrived at the Embassy Suites, we were not happy -- in part because we had just come from a really nice hotel in San Diego. Compared to that hotel, the king-sized suite at the Embassy Suites seemed depressingly dark and small when we walked in. It is decorated with those dark brown-and-orange patterns that would make even the newest, cleanest room look kind of shabby and dirty. The sofa in the living room seemed particularly dingy and saggy. The bedroom looked better, but -- because the suite seemed rather dingy at first glance -- I inspected the bed and headboard very carefully for any signs of bedbugs before bringing in our things.

We were on the 2nd floor. We had requested a room not too close to the elevators, to cut down on noise. Other reviewers have suggested requesting a higher floor for the same reason, and I should have taken that advice. The noise from the atrium is pretty loud (including the roaring animatronic lion and the sounds of people talking and children playing) and continues fairly late into the evening. If you're in the bedroom, the noise isn't too bothersome. But if you're on a lower floor and have someone sleeping on the sofa bed in the living room, the noise can be a problem.

I had read, in prior reviews, that the elevators can be unreliable at times. Since we were on the 2nd floor, I thought that we could avoid this problem by taking the stairs. But the one time we tried it, we ended up in the parking lot at the back of the building, where laundry bins were being wheeled out. So we did have to deal with the elevators. They were fine much of the time, but there were a few instances where we had to let 1 or 2 elevators pass before we could squeeze into one.

Aside from these things, our stay was still pretty satisfactory. Room service was adequate (not-great food, but quick service). The free breakfast service is pretty good -- we liked the omelettes and the potatoes (but would steer clear of the scrambled eggs). The shuttle service to Disneyland was quick and easy. Despite appearances, the suite seemed clean and was comfortable. My daughter loved the animatronic lion and is young enough to think that the atrium was really cool. Our interactions with staff were pleasant.

It's a perfectly serviceable place to stay for a family trip to Disneyland. The suites aren't pretty, and it definitely feels very budget -- so I wouldn't stay there on business or for a romantic weekend away. But if you're spending most of your day out, at Disneyland, this is a decent home base -- and if you're a parent, you probably have more tolerance for the noise of excited children shouting and chattering in the halls. Because it's a Disneyland-area hotel, it's definitely overpriced for what you get. (For the same price in San Diego, we'd had an enormous, beautifully decorated 2-bedroom suite in a great neighborhood.) But it's a reliable, comfortable choice that's fine for families with kids.

Room Tip: Definitely request a higher floor to cut down on noise from the atrium and avoid crowded elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilaGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleAugustine, Admin Asst. to the General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to express your comments. We are happy to say we have recently completed room renovations on some of our floors and will have all floors completely renovated at the start of next year as well as a renovation to our restaurant. We sincerely hope you stay with us again the next time you are in the Anaheim area to experience the new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    646
    262
    104
    74
See reviews for
1,214
166
21
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I've stayed at this location multiple times and I've never been let down- The Rooms are huge and give you lots of space. Thing that are nice about the location of the hotel is it's close to target so you can pick up drinks and snacks . Fridge is in each and every room I've stayed in. Also each and every morning they serve hot breakfast. It's not cheap stuff either they have a selection of eggs,bacon , juices , pancake and also have a late night manager drink which was nice after a long day at the parks.


I've stayed at both location, Embassy suites north and south. And South is better of two property.

Easy way to get to Disneyland parks. They've now switched from Art to private shuttle which is great news. Old art shuttle use to take 1 hour or longer. and sometimes didn't run when the parks closed.


When it comes to restaurants in the area there is a wide selection.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleAugustine, Admin. Asst. to the General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We appreciate you staying with us each time you are in the area and are glad you were able to enjoy the amenities we provide to all our guests. We agree we are in a great location close to convenient stores and lots of great restaurants. Thank you again for your review and hope to see you staying back with us real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

When we got to the hotel they had one our room reservations wrong. When I tried to explain the front desk guy was not helpful. My husband went down and asked to see the manager and it was immediately corrected. It was better than what we expected as we had a view of the Disneyland fireworks. The hotel chef worked with my husband to give me a 50th birthday cake on the morning of my birthday and then they did not charge us for it. I will stay at the Embassy Suites any chance I get and will recommend them to any one I can. They were very good to us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
690 reviews
315 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a standard Embassy Suites hotel. Rooms are well appointed and large. Nicely furnished. Clean. No sign of bed bugs (as others have bemoaned). Food was good. front desk was very helpful. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has great front desk staff and great service. I love the Embassy Suites chain, but this location is great since its close to Disneyland and you only have to pay a small fee to take the shuttle. I love the breakfast and cocktail hour. It's a great hotel. We had a great view of the Disney fireworks from our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistyLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleAugustine, Admin Asst. to the General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. The team members here love the Embassy Suites chain just like you do. The love working for a brand that has such great value added amenities for guests and strive to provide matching customer service to get that 5 star review you gave us. Thank you again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We took a couple of rooms for three generations of our family, in town for a wedding. The rooms were a good size and the breakfast buffet was especially good for all ages in our party. The dining area was really nice with tables arranged around a series of Koi Ponds in such a way that you were not on top of the next table. The atrium area was safe for our children to use on their own and for them to go down to breakfast on their own as they can be seen from any floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Front desk staff had a bad attitude. Must stand in line at front desk to purchase a shuttle ticket for disneyland and be patience while other people are checking in. Business center equipment didn't work. Elevator doors close so quickly many people didn't have a chance to get in the elevator and frequently, the elevator did not stop on you floor even though you pressed the button. Complimentary breakfast very chaotic and a bad setup. Air conditioning did not work in my room. The pool was closed for maintenance and the staff were unsympathetic. Microwave was in a space so dark hard to operate even with lights on. I bottle of lotion, 1 bottle of shampoo for 5 people. Told no bed-cots can be delivered to room due to safety reasons. Wanted to put food order on room tab and one guy said he would prefer cash.

Room Tip: 7th Floor is a good place since I noticed the elevators stay there when not in use since there are 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marlene1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#5 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#3 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Los Angeles - Anaheim - Garden Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Address: 11767 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2701 (Formerly Embassy Suites Anaheim South / Disneyland Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#7 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
#7 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Anaheim - South hotel is located just one mile from Anaheim's Disneyland Resort® attractions. This all-suite hotel features complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and evening manager's reception. Shuttles are available in from of the hotel to take guests to all of Anaheim, California's recreation parks. The Embassy Suites also features an on-site Disney® Desk with information on Southern California and Disneyland® Resort attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Anaheim South / Disneyland Hotel Garden Grove
Embassy Suites Garden Grove
Embassy Suites California
Garden Grove Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Anaheim South Hotel
Embassy Suites By Hilton Anaheim - South Garden Grove, Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing