We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for two nights over Christmas.

The hotel is an excellent base for Disney, $5, $2 children, for a 10 min bus ride or a 25 min walk.

The atrium breakfast and hour hour bar was very busy but good.

Nice pool and hot tub, gym looked good too.

Reception staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDaytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    615
    246
    90
    65
See reviews for
1,132
160
20
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
195 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The last time we visited California Adventures during the summer, we stayed at one of the hotels near the Convention Center, as my husband had a conference and got a good hotel rate for staying there. Since we had a good experience with Embassy Suites in San Diego, we decided to stay at one of its sister location.

This place did not disappoint. Its service, accommodation, and free breakfast were consistent and very above par. Since there was a bus service to take us to the parks, we left our vehicle in the parking lot.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jpanda168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

First, the service here was excellent. The staff took great pains to be sure that I was happy with my experience. I was called by the front desk to ask if I was content.

I had booked a corner room with a Disney view so I could see the fireworks. I was a bit disappointed with the view. I was on the second floor. The second floor has a partially obstructed view due to palm trees. The fireworks display is literally right behind the palm trees. I asked the front desk for a higher room but they did not have one, as they were all booked.

A hotel close to Disneyland is a problem if you do not like a busy place. It was very busy with people hustling and bustling.

I ordered room service twice. The spaghetti off the children's menu was a good sized portion. The hamburger was huge, juicy and had the perfect amount of condiments. The french fries were fried to perfection, crispy on the outside, mealy on the inside. Dessert was a brownie sundae. The brownie was a packaged one, it had a slight packaged taste, as opposed to fresh baked. The ice cream served with it was excellent.

The corner suite, while being too low to have a decent view of the fireworks, was a lovely room. It was huge for a hotel room, comfortable bed, ample pillows. The top sheet was coarse, not satiny soft as was the bottom sheet and pillow cases, but this was probably an oversight on the housekeeping staff. There were ample towels in the bathroom, large, soft and fluffy.

The living area had a comfortable if older love seat, a table that seated four. There was a fridge in the room, as well as a concealed microwave.

The manager's reception had pizza slices available for purchase, $3 each, a choice of pepperoni or cheese. The slices were good sized. The sauce was tasty but the crust was not quite baked enough. It should have been browned a bit more. There was soda, and alcoholic drinks complimentary, as well as popcorn, chips and pretzels.

Breakfast buffet was crowded, not arranged so it flowed quite as smoothly as it could have flowed. The choices available were ample though there were no danish, only donuts. I had to ask for honey, it was not on the table with the tea.

Staff was so very helpful that all the petty issues seemed petty.

There is a medium sized gift store with many options, ranging from sodas to gift items. While expensive, the prices were better than purchasing items at the amusement park.

The biggest complaint I have with the hotel was the elevators were slow. They arrived crowded in the mornings, and took aprox 6 minutes to arrive.

Room Tip: Make sure that the room you book is on a higher floor if you wish a good view of the fireworks. A lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicarbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've stayed twice at this hotel and have had excellent experiences both times. The staff is friendly & helpful. We love the free breakfast and the manager's reception --aka free happy hour. I'm not a drinker but the Margaritas and Mai Tai's were yummy! The rooms were very clean & spacious. Besides all of the aforementioned, I really loved the atrium with the roaring lion. It makes for a very fun hotel. It is a little bit away from Disney but there is a shuttle that buses back and forth often. The only issue I found that someone may have is that the room we were in this time (424) was very close to the elevator & we could hear it going up and down --if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the elevator. For us, it didn't matter because we were so exhausted from running around at Disney that as soon as our bodies hit the comfortable bed, we were knocked out. This most recent stay is definitely not the last. Next time we are back in Disney, we will definitely be staying at the Embassy Suites again!

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor corner room away from the elevators, preferably one with a view of the Disney...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanExpeditioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I am really glad we stayed here! We were here for 4 nights to visit Disneyland. The rooms were nice and had enough room for our family of 4 (two kids under 10). I really wish there was an option for 2 queen sized beds or 1 queen and 1 full. That would have made it even better. The mattress on the sofa sleeper is typically thin, so our oldest was not interested in sleeping on it. Our youngest was small enough that they did not notice it. The rooms were quiet. I barely heard any noise from our neighbors, only when something hit the wall once or twice.
The breakfast buffet was great for the kids and they were always able to find something they wanted to eat. I did not eat at the restaurant for dinner, but wish I did once. The menu and pricing looked good for a hotel restaurant. If you want to eat some place else, there are plenty of places within walking distance.
While the hotel is within walking distance to Disneyland, it is a long walk. I would not recommend it with kids younger than middle school. Fortunately there is a shuttle that picks up right outside the hotel. The passes provides unlimited trips for that day, which is great if you want to come back for naps or just a break.
We stayed on pints, so I cannot speak to the value.
I would definitely stay here again. As others have said, it would be a good business hotel, but you have to know that it appeared a vast majority of the guests were families with kids.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have nice views of the surrounding areas. I would stay in a room away from the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MtnMatt1749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here last July then this past November, and again it was an absolutely flawless experience. After a five an a half hour flight and a long ride from the airport where our Super Shuttle marked "Disneyland Express", made three stops, we were delighted when we were able to check in at 1000 am. Leslie at the front desk was awesome! Every breakfast was fantastic! Eggs made to order by a friendly and courteous chef who politely keep the lines in order as to expedite the process. And once again Jesus was the man and took care of us during the managers reception! He's my husband's favorite! The bell service watched our bags even after we checked out as we spent a few more hours at Disney! We are forever loyal as your customer service is unmatched!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for business previously. Great hotel for the business traveler as long as you understand this is a family hotel. If you want quiet forget it. Next to Disneyland it caters to the family crowd. The check-in and breakfast staff are great. Great value for the money and top notch, clean accomodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a view of Disneyland. That way you can watch the fireworks at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#3 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#4 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
5.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim North
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Los Angeles - Anaheim - Garden Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Address: 11767 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2701 (Formerly Embassy Suites Anaheim South / Disneyland Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#7 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#7 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Anaheim - South hotel is located just one mile from Anaheim's Disneyland Resort® attractions. This all-suite hotel features complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and evening manager's reception. Shuttles are available in from of the hotel to take guests to all of Anaheim, California's recreation parks. The Embassy Suites also features an on-site Disney® Desk with information on Southern California and Disneyland® Resort attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Anaheim South / Disneyland Hotel Garden Grove
Embassy Suites Garden Grove
Embassy Suites California
Garden Grove Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Anaheim South Hotel
Embassy Suites By Hilton Anaheim - South Garden Grove, Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing