We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay overall!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Stay overall!”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Overall we had a good stay.

When making my reservations, I requested a room away from the elevator. When checking in, the pleasant clerk confirmed my room was away from elevators. However, after going to the room we discovered it was directly in front of an elevator. I returned immediately to the front desk where a different employee, Allain assisted me, he was very efficient and courteous as he quickly found me another room, far away from the elevator. Allain was actually very helpful to us several times during our stay. Also, Enrique at the front desk helped me find the closest bookstore, and even went further to print out driving directions. I must say having a Disney facing room to view the fireworks, is no big deal. The hotel is too far away from Disneyland 1.5 miles to see the fireworks very well. The hotel is pretty noisy at night if you are in your living room area. There were lots of kids playing in the hallways at late hours, trying to open other people’s doors and running away, although the bedroom was pretty quiet.

The breakfast was good as always. There is a new omelet cook who was friendly and made great omelets. I really liked the way he even sautéed some ingredients before adding them to the omelet. At the breakfast buffet, there is always an extensive variety of food: scrambled egg mix with ham, bell peppers and onions, also served bacon, sausage, silver dollar pancakes, French toast sticks, fresh fruit like bananas, apples, melon, cantaloupe, and pineapple, cold cereal, nice hot oatmeal with toppings such as brown sugar, raisins and granola, variety of breads available for toasting: English muffins, wheat, and white bread, donuts, muffins, yogurt cups, cold milk, cranberry and orange juice, coffee and hot tea, sprite, coke, and diet coke. It was nice to be able to take the breakfast back to our own room to eat.

The swimming pool and Jacuzzi gave us a nice break.

Using the business center came in quite handy when kids were not hogging the computers playing games or checking their Facebook pages.

The manager’s reception provides a nice evening snack of popcorn and a some sort of chex mix. Plus well drinks and soda machine were available, grenadine was available at the soda machine for making Shirley temple drinks. During this time they also sold individual pizza slices for $2.50. When we first starting coming to this hotel, years ago there was a slushie machine but since it broke down it was never replaced. Oh, how I miss those slushies!

USA Today newspaper is delivered weekdays M-F to each room, but I was disappointed to find there was no local newspaper available in the gift shop which they used to sell.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    660
    270
    113
    76
See reviews for
1,262
171
22
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Massive rooms with all the facilities you need, walking distance of disney, breakfast buffett does get busy but you can always take back to your room

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ansonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Our family stayed at this hotel in a corner suite facing the Disneyland fireworks. I would say that it was a good idea to get the suite for the size but didn't think it was worth getting for the fireworks. It was also very noisy because our room was next to the elevators but we just turned the fan on and it drowned it out well. The king bed was very comfortable, which is a huge plus after a long day at the parks!

The great thing about this hotel is the free breakfast. The food was good and it was a big daily savings for our family of four. The manager's reception in the afternoon was a nice plus as well. We had a great experience with everyone who worked there and the shuttle to/from Disneyland was very easy and pleasant with friendly drivers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhagen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I wasnt taken away by this hotel, but it is standard for Embassy Suites. Pretty nice rooms, could be cleaner. Very spacious, comfortable rooms, but noisey. Sounded like a basketball team was practicing next door.. Also, the buffet breakfast start time at 7:30 am is very bad timing! I had to skip breakfast twice because it was too late. Unless this was intentional to save money, not good. Front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawdoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

With all the wonderful things that were said about a Disney view room, we opted to spend the extra money. It was a waste. We never saw the fireworks which was the whole point.

Breakfast starts too late if you're trying to get to the parks for opening (7:30am on the weekends and 6:30am during the week). We only got breakfast 1 day because we had a tour booked and were scheduled to arrive later.

I agree with other comments about the elevators being really slow.

It was good to have a separate room for the kids without having to spend too much more.

Very family friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100countries_or_bust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here last week during spring break as the Homewood was full. I wouldn't stay here again. The double beds are too small for a 6.2" person. The elevators are a mess. They take forever. Also they miss your floor altogether. The breakfast is good, but you have to be down there before 8am if you want to miss the line.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorta2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed with family of four for 3 nights in April. One room suite was very spacious--huge separate bedroom with king bed and tons of room for luggage. Living area hosted table / chairs and pull out couch for kids. Buffet breakfast was great--we went down close to the end of it on first day and there was still lots to chose from including omelette station. Easy shuttle service every 30 minutes to / from Disneyland.

Room Tip: We stayed in 921--between two elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThorCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#5 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,762 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#47 of 118 in Anaheim
4,219 reviews
5.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Address: 11767 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2701 (Formerly Embassy Suites Anaheim South / Disneyland Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#7 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
#7 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Anaheim - South hotel is located just one mile from Anaheim's Disneyland Resort® attractions. This all-suite hotel features complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and evening manager's reception. Shuttles are available in from of the hotel to take guests to all of Anaheim, California's recreation parks. The Embassy Suites also features an on-site Disney® Desk with information on Southern California and Disneyland® Resort attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Anaheim South / Disneyland Hotel Garden Grove
Embassy Suites Garden Grove
Embassy Suites California
Garden Grove Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Anaheim South Hotel
Embassy Suites By Hilton Anaheim - South Garden Grove, Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing