We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't go wrong with this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2007

We spent 9 days here and were very happy with our stay. A well appointed kitchen, large suite, and good breakfasts everyday(although a little more variety would be nice). The manager's reception was really a meal ( salad bar, entree, and dessert, beverages, wine & beer - even PB & J sandwiches for the little ones) and it allowed us to come home in the heat of the day, have a quick dinner & return to Disneyland. Clean, plenty of parking, supermarkets close by, nice pool. Although it is listed as being within walking distance of Disneyland, that is stretching it a bit. With 2 adults and 2 teenagers (used to walking & physically fit) we opted to drive after the first day, so that the return home wasn't so long (about 20-25 min. walk). I would not plan to walk if you have younger children.

  • Liked — Complimentary meals
  • Disliked — Housekeeping unable to leave the correct number of towels for our party - occurred daily
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank katie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    386
    142
    85
    61
See reviews for
944
86
21
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

My family and I had a wonderful stay at the Homewood Suites recently. The hotel was very clean well-maintained, and the staff was very friendly. After doing extensive research online, I decided on this hotel because it seemed to include offer the most for the price. We were not disappointed! The parking is free, and there is plenty of it (which is unusual for the area!). The complimentary breakfast buffet was wonderful and featured everything from pastries and cereal to make-your-own belgian waffles, eggs, sausage, etc. Monday through Thursday nights the hotel offers a complimentary light meal from 5-7 pm, including beer and wine for the adults! The dinner is nothing fancy (fajitas, hot dogs, etc.), but certainly adequate, especially considering the $$$ saved for a family with children.

The suites feature separate bedrooms and living areas, and include a fully-equipped kitchen. Target is located right across the street, and Outback Steakhouse, Red Robin, and Joe's Crab Shack are all located within the hotel's parking area. There is a Starbucks located in the hotel next door as well.

Overall, this hotel and it's staff are awesome. I would highly recommend it to anybody visiting the Anaheim/Garden Grove area.

  • Liked — Plenty of space, cleanliness, and complimentary meals.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Knani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2007

Our family of four stayed at Homewood Suites for the second time in three years. We also had relatives next door with younger children and grandparents. The rest of our travel party decided to stay at a hotel directly across Disneyland so they could walk into the park. What we gave up in proximity to the park was offset by the quality and comfort of Homewood Suites. The room size allows for a more stress-free room experience. The free breakfast buffet and ample dining area is a major plus for families. The pool is good-sized and the shuttle service is convenient. The only negatives we experienced was a consistent lack of towels from housekeeping and the same slow elevator. We were also able to go to the nearby Red Robin, Joe's Crab Shack and Target. My sister and brother-on-law next door were also very happy to have opted for Homewood Suites instead of following the others. We'll be back at this hotel on our next trip to Anaheim.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Elevator
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aug2386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2007

This was our first trip to Disneyland and we were quite pleased with our room. We are a family of 5 and stayed in a room with 2 queen beds
and a pull out sofa bed. There was plenty of room for all. We could see the fireworks from Disneyland right from our window. We loved the
breakfast included with the room - they had quite a selection! The pool was also very nice. We would like to stay here during the week to try the free dinner. Excellent value! We had our car and drove to Disneyland each day, then took the tram from the parking lot, which worked well for us. This hotel was too far to walk to Disneyland, but
they did have a shuttle stop out front (for a small fee). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — size of room, free breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank groovy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauseon, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

I just returned from a week at the Homewood Suites. There were six in our group, 3 adults three kids [15, 9,.and 8] We had a morning flight into John Wayne airport, and decided to stop by the hotel just incase they would allow us to check in early. Much to my surprise, they had one suite available if we wanted to take that one. [We were 3 hours before check-in time]. It was on the 6th floor, and we opted to take it. I had read reports about the elevator being slow, but thought I'd brave it. Yes, the elevator is slow ... but other than peak times, not that bad. We developed a care free vacation attitude, and it was fine. Others who were in a hurry took the near-by stairs.
Our room was a one bedroom suite. The kitchen has a stove, microwave, dishwasher, a sink, dishes to serve 4, full refrigerator/freezer, a small table with two chairs. The kitchen area is open to the living room which has a pull out sofa bed [not comfortable -- but okay for kids], an end table, a tv and a chair. The bedroom is a seperate room with 2 queen sized beds.

Off the bedroom area, there is a vanity with one sink and a large mirrow. Next to this area is a seperate room with a tub/shower combo. and a toilet.

We were very impressed with the hotel staff. Everyone was very kind. The housekeeping did an excellent job. Our room was spotless every day. A couple of times we were short on towels with so many in our group. a call to the front desk resulted in towels being delivered to our room within minutes each time we asked.

The pool area was very nice. The kids loved it. The hot tub was fantastic. The pool area is open until 10 pm, which was a nice feature.

The breakfast buffett in the morning was very good. This saved us so much time and money! They had make yourself waffles, scrambled eggs every day. Most days some sort of potato and a meat. A couple of days they had biscuits and gravy instead of the potatoes and meat. They had cereal, tea, oatmeal packets, fresh fruit, juice, danishes, toast, english muffins, bagels.

We were not impressed with the food of the evening meal. However, getting a complimentary glass of wine or beer was a bonus for the adults. The food was okay, just not great, but free is free!

We would definately go back. We liked the location being a close drive to most places.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — only one bathroom in the suite
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseekerOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corpus christi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2007

We were 1 adult and 4 teenagers and the rooms and services were perfect. The breakfast was excellent and very well run. The afternoon meals also excellent. Lots of healthy and delicious food available. Rooms were very clean. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Parking was very easy and there were several restaurants within a mile. I have stayed at several hotels in this immediate area and this was my favorite.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and sleeping arrangements
  • Disliked — elevator limited to 1
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veronica27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2007

Just wanted to share for others our experience since it helped a lot to read others reviews.

We stayed at Homewood Suites because of the great reviews and I have to say we were not dissapointed. The check in was easy. Plenty of free parking spots. Complimentary breakfast every morning - could eat downstairs or take into your room. The breakfast was different everymorning with some constants like waffles, oatmeal, cereals, yogurts, etc. They had plenty for everyone. They also offer dinners M - Thrs but we did not get a chance to try the dinner.

Our room was spacious. Loved having a fridge, microwave, mini range top, dishwasher, etc. Plenty of room. My kids really enjoyed the kiddie pool - it was only 1 1/2 ft deep. I enjoyed the jacuzzi - older kids the main swimming pool.

My dh tried out the gym got a good work out. I liked that Target was across the street, walking distance to Crab Shack, Outback and Reb Robins. We had Outback for a late night dinner after Disneyland.

Also found out the Block at Orange (outdoor open mall with theatres) is also nearby along with a hospital.

All the freeways are close by within couple miles so you can easily get on the road to go anywhere else like, beach, etc.

The cleaning ladies did a great job. They washed any left over dishes. Kitchen was fully stocked. We did not do any major cooking but did toast bagels, made hot chocolate, cooled our water bottles, etc. so kitchen is nice to have. Felt like our home away from home.

The only thing we had to ask for was extra bath towels and laundry bags. But after a little note left the for the cleaning staff - we were fully stocked.

I think this hotel is a great stay and value and would def. recommend to families with children.

Only thing I could say needs improvement is the elevators on occasion took long but we were on the 4th floor didn't mind taking the stairs.

Oh and we also took full advantage of the free interenet access. We would look up stuff all the time, map quest, attractions, hours of operation, disney calendar, etc. Other hotels charged a fee for internet access, so this was also a plus.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ocean07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#6 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Los Angeles - Anaheim - Garden Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
Address: 12005 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#8 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay suite hotel. An all-suites Anaheim hotel that will make you feel closer to home! The Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area hotel is one of the Disney Good Neighbor hotels, only a mile away. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, daily breakfast and dinner Monday to Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hiltonr Anaheim-Main Gate Area Hotel Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Garden Grove
Homewood Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Disneyland
Homewood Suites By Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA
Homewood Suites By Hilton Disneyland Area
Homewood Suites Anaheim California
Garden Grove Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing