We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of both world!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Reviewed June 12, 2010

As there are already plenty of good reviews with postive feedback below (and we agree with them), we will not repeat it here but will highlight what we like most and least about this hotel. We stayed at the hotel with our 2 year old son so our review focuses on this aspect.

POSITIVE EXPERIENCE:
Compared to Marriott Suites that is next door and where we stayed before, we liked this hotel better for:
- Its functional room with fully fitted kitchen and L-shaped sofa even if the room's size is a bit smaller than Marriott's. We took breakfast back to the room on most days so that we could eat it at a more leisurely pace, especially with a small child.
- The room's walls also seemed to be more soundproof as we did not hear much noises from next door.
- The pool area is bigger and nicer with a normal pool, a kid pool and a jacuzzi. There were also tables as well as lounge chairs at the pool side.
- The complimentary hot breakfast and early evening hot meal were definitely a value added service that helps keep costs down, especially for families.
- The free internet access was certainly useful.

THE LESS POSITIVE EXPERIENCE:
- There were only 2 lifts with one being at the other end of the long corridor. This meant a long wait when the hotel was very busy.
- There were less amenities than expected for this class of hotel.
- We felt that the hotel's lobby was pretty basic and not very inviting, with little information on Disneyland and interesting places in the area for a hotel in the Disneyland resort area! For example, it did not promote its shuttle service so we noticed that its shuttle was empty most of the time when it could have been more convenient than the ART bus.

Overall, we would consider this hotel to be in a "comfortable" and not in the "beautiful" style. This suits us fine for our family and we would definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hippodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

Thank you for your review and taking the time to put both the positive and the "less positive" aspects of your stay. We think it's great that the suites met most of your needs and you liked our large pool area and complimentary meals. As mentioned in other reviews, the front elevator is most often used by our guests and at busy times there can be a wait, however, the back elevator is a much faster alternative for anyone staying towards the back of the property.
We have designed the hotel to feel like a "home away from home" and hope that was your experience as well. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,308 - 1,314 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2010

Our party of four families visiting from Honolulu stayed at the Homewood Suites from May 26 thru May 31st, excellent front desk service, everyone was pleasant , rooms were very clean and spacious, the complimentary breakfast buffet is a great amenity ,hot food,cereals, bagels,everything a family needs to get up and go in the morning, not to mention the free 24hr business center to print out your boarding passes or check your email. I would highly recommend this hotel for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hon2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

We're glad you enjoyed your first visit to the Homewood Suites Anaheim. Your second stay will be even better! Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stay at this hotel everytime we visit the area. The staff is always welcoming and friendly. No matter the time you arrive, they always have a smile on their faces :o) The rooms are very clean, breakfast is great, and the pool area is inviting, yet relaxing. Whenever we head to Disneyland, I get asked by our children, "Are we going to our FAVORITE hotel?" Cheers are heard when we say yes! Thank you for always making us feel welcome!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allboysandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

When we arrived at this hotel, we thought it looked fine. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. When we got to the room, it was pretty clean but a bit worn. But over the next two days, we observed and became awed by the near herculean effort on the part of all the staff to keep up with how much abuse a hotel can be subjected to by the hordes of disney-goers coming and going all day long. And not only did they keep up after them, they did it with a smile and a big hello. I've never been greeted so politely and so friendly by the staff at any hotel before. The breakfast was very good, especially considering how many people had to be fed at once. And the light dinner was also very good. We would definitely stay here again. Our only comments were that the kid's pool didn't appear to be heated and so was not usable when we were there (the main pool was heated) and they did run out of hot water the morning we were leaving (but I observed the general manager, who gave me a big hello, running around with the maintenance crew trying to get that fixed - how often would you see that?). Thanks to the exceptional staff for making this a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

Thank you so much all of your kinds words about our staff. We have a great group of people working here at the Homewood Suites Anaheim, most of which have been with us for a very long time. I do need to apologize for the lack of hot water one morning; we did have an unexpected power outage to the boilers that we were able to fix right away, but some guests were impacted. Please let me know the next time you are coming to our area. We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

This is our third stay at this wonderful property and it just keeps getting better! Louis gave us excellent customer service both on the phone before arriving (this was a completely spontaneous trip planned at the last second!) and when we got to the front desk. I've never had anything but very good customer service here.

We haven't stayed here in a couple of years and they have renovated the whole hotel. Completely new furniture in the rooms and in the common areas downstairs. It's kind of a retro, modern look and everything was very comfortable. I especially liked the couch they put in the family room area of the units. It's an L sectional and gives a lot of seating for a small space! There was also an ottoman with a removable tray at the end of couch, so it was out of the way if you don't want to use it. They still hava a fold out sofa bed where two young children can sleep, quite comfortably I might add. Our 7 and 4 year old shared it and slept very well. But the other part of the couch is actually long and big enough for a 2-4 year old child to sleep if two sibblings don't want to sleep together. Just throw an extra sheet and a blanket and they would be good to go. The sofa bed itself is surprisingly generous in length. I'm 5'10" and if had to, would have been able to sleep on it and NOT have my feet hang over. I was surprised by this!

The beds in the main bedroom are some of the most comfortable I've ever slept on at a hotel and we have stayed at a lot of Marriotts and Westins. These must be new because I don't remember them being this outstanding. As Goldilocks would say "not too hard and not too soft, but just right!".

As always the complimentary dinner and wonderful breakfasts are so appreciated and make the whole experience much easier and cheaper with kids in tow! I only wish they offered dinners 7 nights a week! I was a little disappointed that we had disposable plates and silverware (it's hard to eat salad with plastic forks), but I told my husband I'd rather them have plastic ware than get rid of the wine and beer! Our dinner was very tasty and appealed to our whole family. They print their menus out monthly, so if you are concerned you can call ahead and see what they are serving during your stay.

I still say this hotel has an exceptionally nice pool area for a smallish property. It even has a kiddie pool which is not that common! We did not have time to use it as this was a one night trip expressely to go to Disneyland.

Another small change I liked was the hotel now runs their own shuttle to and from Disneyland/California Adventure. It runs twice an hour and begins one hour before the parks open and one hour after they close. It costs the same as the ART but of course doesn't make extra stops along the way, so it's faster. The morning shuttles can be crowded before the park opens, so just be sure to plan accordingly! We thought it worked out great though.

Overall, we had another great stay at our favorite Anaheim area hotel. Can't wait to come back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank applejanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2010

Thank you for the very detailed and complimentary review. This means a great deal to us especially coming from someone that has been as active on this site as you. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Anaheim/Orange County area. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

This hotel had it all. A great staff, a pool and hot tub that were very clean, a breakfast buffet that fills you up, you can even make waffles. The room was very spacious and the rooms are seperated by a door. The teens could be in their room and parents could go to sleep in their room. They have a great shuttle to Disneyland. Lots of restaurants very close. Just watch the address, They are actually on Chapman not Harbor Blvd which is confusing. Maid service was excellent also.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danmart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2010

Thank you for the great review and for noting our proximity to Chapman as it can be a little confusing with our physical address listed as Harbor Blvd. For future guests, if you are at the intersection of Harbor Blvd. and Chapman, we are located just behind Outback Steakhouse. Specific directions can be found on our website or can be obtained by calling the hotel directly at (714)740-1800. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

As usual we had a wonderful stay at the Howewood Suites at Garden Grove.

As a family we travel to the USA a couple of times a year and we make sure we stay here when we come to LA. It is close to Disney and offers all the amenities of home whilst traveling. If you have a car you can get around very easily while based here...

The staff are some of the best in the business, they are very polite and could not be more helpful during your stay! A big thanks to Silena, always accommodating and along with the front desk team very freindly.

As we have become regulars we are always warmly greeted and welcomed back like good friends now...We do feel like it is our second home in LA.

The amenities are excellent, the daily Breakfast's and Manager's reception between Sunday and Thursday nights are appreciated and take much stress out of your day on thinking about what to eat and where....the food is fresh and always well presented. For the adults you can also choose between a red or white wine, or a cold beer. You may even get a fresh baked choc chip cookie if you are there at the right time!

It helps get the day off to a good start, ready for Disney or shopping, the two main reasons for visiting that part of the world.

The rooms are always offered up clean and remade on your return form a big day out, housekeeping do a great job!

Thank you to all the Staff, you are a credit to the Business, and also a main reason for us returning every year!!

Chris, Vicki and Jacqui from Australia

PS: See you again in December 2010.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cacvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2010

Chris, Vicki, and Jacqui,
Thank you for the review and for continuing to come back and stay with us. You're right, we are your 2nd home! I just read your review to Silena and she said "I bet that's Chris from Australia" before I could even finish reading it! We hope you have a good half year until we see you again. Take care mate!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Los Angeles - Anaheim - Garden Grove
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#5 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Address: 12005 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#8 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range: $137 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay suite hotel. An all-suites Anaheim hotel that will make you feel closer to home! The Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area hotel is one of the Disney Good Neighbor hotels, only a mile away. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, daily breakfast and dinner Monday to Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hiltonr Anaheim-Main Gate Area Hotel Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Garden Grove
Homewood Garden Grove
Homewood Suites By Hilton Disneyland Area
Homewood Suites By Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA
Homewood Suites Anaheim California
Homewood Suites Disneyland
Garden Grove Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing