We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always My Favorite Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Temecula, California
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Always My Favorite Property”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Homewood is a standard by Hilton that I'm always happy with, especially this location!!! There is a full breakfast every morning. Monday thru Thursday- full dinner & wine & beer( complementary). There is a shuttle which will take you over to Disneyland Resort. I have stayed @ this property so many times that it had boosted me to HHonors Diamond Member. Spacious suites where a family can stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I'm very happy to hear that the Homewood Suites by Hilton is your "Favorite property" That really does mean alot, and by the looks of it, I'm glad that you're able to join us for our Suite Start Breakfast and Managers' Evening Reception as well. The Evening Reception is technically a light dinner, but I agree with you, with all of the options available, it does seem like a full dinner. Whenever you're in town again, please stop by and say Hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    407
    157
    88
    65
See reviews for
1,040
96
24
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very clean, beds are comfy and a shuttle that got us to the park with just no stops from our hotel. (They share the shuttle with the hotel next door). Very convenient. Parking was ample. Breakfast was ok. There is a restaurant across right next door with a bar and even pizza delivery. Oh and a Target across the street!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we do appreciate your patronage. Also, I'm glad to read that you were able to take our shuttle to our nearby neighbor, Disneyland. With our prime location in Anaheim, many restaurants and businesses, such as Oggi's Pizza and Brewery, is extremely close, and I'm happy to read that you were able to take advantage of it. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you home again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great place to stay while going to Disneyland. Fantastic staff. Using their shuttle service is a great way to spend more time at the park as opposed to driving, parking and walking to the gates. Going back to the hotel for the Manager's Reception is a great way to recharge before heading back out to the parks for the evening activities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I'm happy to read you had a great stay with us recently. With our nearby neighbor, Disneyland, our Managers' Evening Reception is a great amenity for guests who need a break from Disney during their stay. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to having you as our guests again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I once wrote a 5 star review on this hotel. We have stayed here 4 times over the past 5 years. This hotel has gone downhill fast. The rooms are worn and need some up dating. Our couch had a big rip in it, our door handle was falling off and wouldn't shut, we had issues with our air conditioner leaking all over the carpet into the closet area all over our suitcases. I brought the issue of the door up to the front desk and they fixed it. I also mentioned the air conditioner and how it had leaked on our bags. We left for the day and came back to a giant fan in our room. No mention if the problem was fixed or if they were working on it still. No compensation for getting all our stuff wet just a "we're sorry that happened". Really??!!
The food is about 2 stars. The potatoes and meat from the breakfast tastes like cardboard. Not sure what's happened but in previous stays it was always decent. The dinners were ok. Spaghetti is gross and tastes like it's from a can. Beer and wine was good (if it's cold) one night it was hot. Yuck.
We stayed here 5 nights and got service twice. I had to ask for it one day because we had gone to Disney and got back about 4 and the maid still had not come.
Sad that we had such a bad experience this time. We are hilton members and like I said this was our forth stay here and prob the last.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
I am extremely saddened to read that your recent stay here, may be your last. I want to apologize for dropping the ball on many occassions during your stay here with us. I understand that the condition of the suite was poor, but rest assured, we are taking care of that matter right away. Because your recent stay with us was not a pleasant one, please feel free to contact myself at Ben.Ly2@hilton.com or by phone at (714)740-1800, so we can discuss what I can do to make it right, not only for you, but on our part as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel is great if travelling with children. The full kitchen is ideal if you don't want to eat out all the time and the kids loved the pool. A separate bedroom is perfect for putting the kids to bed early while allowing adults to stay up later without bothering them. The breakfast buffet had lots of selection and the dinner 4 nights a week was an added bonus. The Disney shuttle was a good value as we made 2 round trips per day, but we had some trouble with overcrowding one day and bus maintenance another day. I would not consider the hotel to be walking distance to Disneyland if you have children, but it is located off the main streets a bit so it's quieter than some. Parking is an extra cost which I don't love but I got a reduced rate since I was staying for 8 nights. Good thing because the parking can get crowded at times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Glad to hear you had a great stay with us! We feel we are the perfect hotel for families traveling to the Disney area. With our Suite Start Breakfast every morning, and our Managers' Evening Reception, we understand that planning a trip to Disneyland may have high costs, so we're glad you were able to join us. Whenever you plan on visiting the Disney area, please stop by and say Hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed at the Homewood Suites for 4 nights in Mid-march. The hotel was fully booked, with lots of families and kids due to Disneyland nearby and many kids on Spring Break. Even though my HHonors profile requests a room on a high floor, our room was on the first floor, but not a big deal. The room itself was very clean, and also quiet (which surprise me given hop packed the hotel was). Both the beds and the couch were very comfortable. These are true suites, you get a small living area, and a small kitchen, in addition to the separate bedroom. The kitchen has a full sized fridge, a microwave, coffee maker, plates and utensils, some pots/pans, etc.
Breakfast is included, but it gets very crowded, and is hit and miss on it's mediocrity. They do not have a true restaurant kitchen. so everything is pre-made and reheated. But for free, it's a decent breakfast with lots of options (Bagels, make your own waffles, some kind of egg dish, a breakfast meat, cereals, etc.). They do have an evening reception Mon-Thursday, with free beer/wine, and plenty of free OK pre-made food. If you are trying to save money, you can use this as dinner, its all you can eat.
They charge $12 per night for parking, which I consider a rip-off. Complimentary Newspapers are available in the lobby, but they do not deliver them to the rooms(even for HHonors members)
I did have a couple issues with housekeeping. On the 2nd day, we came back from Disneyland after 5pm for a break, and they had still not serviced our room. It wasn't until 6pm when we got a knock on the door from our maid, so we just swapped for clean towels. In addition, when we checked out, we accidentally left behind some stuff in our bathroom (a couple razors, an electric toothbrush, contact lenses, etc.), and even though I called the next day, it seems like it was all just thrown out. I realize it's our stupidity for leaving some things behind, but you would think if a maid found all of that, she'd note the room, and give it to the Front Desk so we could arrange to get it back.
The location is very good. Several good restaurants are within 100 yards in the same parking lot: Outback Steakhouse, Red Robin, Joe's Crabshack, and Oggi's brewhouse. Oggi's delivers for free to the hotel, and the Front Desk has coupons for Oggi's and Joe's. There is a Target right across the street on Harbor Blvd, which was very convenient.
They offer a Shuttle bus to Disneyland, we bought a 3 day pass for $12 each. We found this incredibly convenient, only takes 10-15 minutes between the hotel and Disneyland, and it's a direct shuttle.
The pool is heated and clean. The Front Desk personnel are very friendly and welcoming.
Overall, this is a good place for stay for families, but nothing special. I've stayed at the Embassy Suites just up the street, and I preferred that for it's slightly larger rooms, and better breakfast. But I would have no problem staying here again if the Embassy Suites was booked up (which it was).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we do appreciate your patronage. We're glad that you enjoyed yourself amongst all of the children on spring break, as you mentioned, which you're completely correct. We were at capacity, especially during breakfast hours, but glad to see you were able to join us for that and our Managers' Evening Reception. Also, we're happy that you were able to take our Disney shuttle, which we feel, is a great amenity to all of our guests visiting our friendly neighbor, Disneyland. Whenever you're in town again, please stop by and say Hi, and hopefully, it'll be an even better stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Nice stay. Free breakfast and Mon-Thurs Dinner saves a lot of money for family Disney Trip. Shuttle every 30 minutes to Disney (reasonable rate) was convenient and cheaper than driving and parking at Disney Lot. Only complaint would be that this is NOT a non-smoking facility. First thing you notice in the rooms is the lack of freshness.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Glad to hear that your recent stay with us was a nice one! From our Suite Start Breakfast every morning, to our Managers' Evening Reception, it looks like you were able to join us for both. Also, I'm glad to read that our Disney shuttle was accomodating to your needs as well. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us, it was our pleasure having you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#5 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,780 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
Address: 12005 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#8 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay suite hotel. An all-suites Anaheim hotel that will make you feel closer to home! The Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area hotel is one of the Disney Good Neighbor hotels, only a mile away. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, daily breakfast and dinner Monday to Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hiltonr Anaheim-Main Gate Area Hotel Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Garden Grove
Homewood Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Disneyland
Homewood Suites Anaheim California
Homewood Suites By Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA
Homewood Suites By Hilton Disneyland Area
Garden Grove Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing