We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahalo for a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Although I read trip advisor on a regular basis this is the first time I am compelled to write a review. We travel to Anaheim about once a year from Hawaii and have stayed at a few different hotels. The service at this hotel by far is the best of any hotel in Anaheim we have stayed in the last 15 plus years! What stands out for us is that the service is great across the board. In my opinion, it starts at the top with Joe. He greeted everyone he came across in the lobby and would assist in any area. He would even help out in the complimentary breakfast area. He is a leader by example. I read in reviews the elevators are slow but the hotel is only about 7 stories high. Just request a room on a lower floor or request a room further away from the lobby side of the hotel and that elevator is not as busy. After coming home from our trip I realized I left my glasses at the hotel. Normally the hotel sends lost and found items by Fed Ex but the shipping cost was around $48 to Hawaii. Esther came to the rescue and agreed to send it by USPS mail instead and save us this expense. We can't wait for our next trip to Anaheim and the Homewood Suites!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SAKJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

It means a great deal to us to receive such a positive review from someone that has stayed at some of the other hotels in the area. We have a remarkable staff that comes to the hotel each day with the sole focus to assist our guests in having a great day. We're thrilled this was your experience and we hope to see you next year on your annual trip to Anaheim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our Oz Cruise Club group of 30 recently stayed at Homewood Suites, Garden Grove during May as part of our tour of North America, what a wonderful choice it was. If only all hotels were as wonderful as this one.

Each and every staff member at this hotel are the nicest I have ever encountered at any hotel, always smiling and ready to greet each guest. They are happy to help with tickets, birthdays, booking town cars or any other thing that a guest requires. The town cars that Homewood suites uses are very comfortable, drivers are excellent and the price economical.

Evening meals became a social event for our group and with three birthdays on subsequent nights it became quite a celebration. The wonderful staff ensured that each birthday was very special and everyone will always hold those memories dear to them.

The daily breakfast was enjoyed by everyone and the coffee available in the lobby all day has to be the best in North America. In the evening the fragrance of freshly baked cookies permeated the air and a few in the group found their way to reception to have a taste.

The beds and pillows are superb, and the rooms spacious, perfectly clean and comfortable.

Wifi is excellent and the business centre is well set up for those who don't have their own computer or if you need to print anything out.

Laundry is economical and works very well.

Location is excellent and the shuttle is reliable with fantastic drivers.

With Target across the road you can pick up virtually anything you need and the $1 store proved very popular with the group. Restaurants are very close by and there is quite a selection of food that you can have delivered to your room.

We have stayed at other Homewood Suites but this is by far our favourite.

I can't thank the staff enough for making our stay so wonderful, this hotel was voted the best by www.OzCruiseClubcom,au for our entire tour of North America.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ozcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you for such an amazing review. I just read your review to our entire staff and this really made our day.....actually, it made our week! Hearing about our guests having experiences like this are the reason we work in the hospitality business. While we know it is a great distance from Australia to Southern California, it is our hope that we see you and your group again on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We recently spent a total of 7 nights at this hotel (5 nights, then 7 nights after a trip to San Diego). I cannot praise the staff here highly enough. They could not have been more friendly or helpful. Every time we walked into the foyer we were gretting with a "Hello" or "Welcome back". These guys really know how to provide a great service.

They very kindly arranged an early check in for us and as a bonus we had great view of the Disney fireworks (we were happy to have a room on a higher floor and just as happy to walk up the stairs, although I didn't find the wait for the elevator too long at all....not sure what some people complain about to be honest.. a little bit of patience doesn't hurt). My kids loved running up and down the stairs in any case..they didn't even want to get in the elevators!!

The rooms were all super clean and the separate bedroom is really handy if the kids are sleeping and you want to watch TV (and having two TVs is an extra bonus.). We found the size of the rooms great with our 6 and 8 year old boys... that bit of extra space makes such a difference. Free wireless internet was also great and there is LOADS of space to hang your clothes and lay out suitcases. A full fridge and kitchen gives plenty of options if you don't want to eat out. There is also Target within easy walking distance with fresh fruit at really great prices...we also found a great discount shoe store just up the the road.

The shuttle to Disneyland runs every half hour and costs next to nothing.

Breakfasts was included when we booked out stay and we found it had something to please everyone....eggs, toast, bagels, waffles, fresh fruit etc was more than ample to start you off for the day. We didn't eat the evening snacks much, mainly because out times didn't suit, but that was our choice...however my husband was impressed with the beer on tap for the evening snacks! (There is also a great pizza place just across the road if you are back too late for snacks).

There is also a laundry on the first floor, which I found really convenient. If I could offer one suggestion to the hotel it would be firmer pillows, but that is just me.

One thing I must mention is how quiet we found the hotel....no thumping or ya-hooing at all hours of the night and we couldn't hear any traffic at all.

I would defintely recommend this hotel for people styaing in Anaheim. While not overly glamorous, the super clean rooms and fabulous staff provide you everything you could ask for.....I can honestly say this hotel is excellent value for money.

A genuinely big thank-you to all the staff at the Homewood Suites Hotel .... your friendliness truly made our stay a memorable experience!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SunnyMum73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your very detailed review of your stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim! The Homewood Suites brand prides itself in having many guests that stay with us for more than 1 or 2 nights which allows us to really get to know our guests. You were gracious enough to point out many of the amenities that Homewood Suites is known for and why were ranked as the hotel brand with the "Highest Guest Satisfaction Among Extended Stay Hotels" two years in a row by J.D. Power. We hope your travels bring you back to see us in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent place for families. Staff was exceptionally friendly and accomodating. Rooms clean and comfortable. Nice outdoor pool and hot tub area. Excellent complimentary breakfast. Dinners midweek are also a nice touch. Not fancy, but good and filling. The shuttle took us right into Disneyland every morning and their pickup times were always right on time. Bottom line: Stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wallyworld59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for the kind review of your experience at our hotel. We're happy that we lived up to and exceeded your expectations on your visit to Disneyland. We hope that you have to opportunity to stay with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Where do I begin? I travel a lot with my family and we have stayed at so many locations and different hotels that I feel I have seen it all. We stayed at this property years ago and rememberd that it was a great place to stay. So when we went to Disney this year, there was no thinking about where to stay.
They got better!!! A LOT better!!!
The staff at the time Esther, Eduardo and Arasely were beyond amazing. They were like family. So welcoming, friendly, funny and seemed to really appreciate their job (not just there to get a paycheck). Even pulling up, the maintenance outside gave us a great smile. The property was VERY clean and well maintained. The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and always stocked. For having such a large surge of eaters, the eatery ans dining area remained clean, stocked and open. We even had the luxry of attending the Managers reception in the evening. It was nice to have a small meal waitng for us. The staff during that time was welcoming and warm. When asked how our day was, I felt he truly was listening to my answer and wanted to know what I had to say. The housekeeping managed to kepp the place clean and stocked. When we needed a few extra bottles of shampoo and conditioner, the front desk was more than happy to give them to us. The next day, extra shampoo and conditioner was waiting for us in our room. The pool area stays well maintained and very clean. I can not sing the praises of this property enough. If you are in the area... STAY HERE!!! Disney is so close. Everyting is close. STAY HERE!!! The cost of the rooms are amazing, but what sets them apart are the caring staff. I can not wait to return.

*Other poster said that the dish washer was loud. That is true. But we just ran it while we were gone. It also let us think that it was actually cleaning the dishes VERY well.

*I read previous reviews that stated there was issues with the carpet being old/worn. I never saw this, but do note, this is a high-traffic property. Unless they replace the carpet every 3 months (which would increase the cost to you) there will be a bit of wear because of all the people there.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. If you want to try and have a chance of seeing fireworks, as for a North-end lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

We love that you love our property!!!!! Thank you for noting the efforts of Esther, Eduardo, and Aracely as they are all genuine people that love what they do and we are fortunate to have them working here with us at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim. You are right that both our Kitchen staff and Housekeeping staff do an amazing job on a daily basis to provide a well cooked meal and a clean suite during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Anaheim/Orange County area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

What an incredible deal!! Stay mid-week and you get Free Dinner & Drinks and Free Breakfast daily!
THey have a great pool, disney movies playing in the lobby and all suites with bedrooms, kitchens, etc. This was a fantastic place to stay when visiting Disneyland!
Also, a convenient shuttle to and from the park.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for the nice review! The Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim really is a great value and we're thrilled that you agree. We hope to see you back with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We first stayed at Homewood Suites in April 2011 for 12 nights and were so impressed with it that we were talking about returning again in 2012, even before we had left.

Once again we made the long trip from Australia in April 2012 for 17 nights. (2 adults and 2 children 14G & 10B)

This is a hotel that is filled with quality, professional staff that truly get what their customers want.

From the top quality comfortable beds and pillows to the very well appointed kitchen with a superb full size fridge, this place is exceptional value for money.

Fantastic complimentary breakfast 7 days a week and complimentary dinner Monday - Thursday.

Starbucks next door, Red Robin Gourmet Burgers and a Joes Crab Shack are just a very short stroll away. We also found a fantastic little Italian restaurant called Carolina's that is in Chapman Avenue that also does take out. Yum. (found it in the hotel directory).

It's when guests chose to come back again and again that you know that it's good.

It's easy to see why Homewood Suites won Travellers Choice award 2012.

We would not hesitate to return or recommend this place to anyone.

The American people were very polite, friendly and courteous.
We look forward to returning again soon.

Oh, did I mention the FREE WIFI.


My tip: If you have a car, ask to stay at the back of the hotel and use the back entrance and the lift is much less busy. Enjoy :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank markandkim66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and for noting our recent award from TripAdvisor. For those that aren't aware, TripAdvisor named us as the 10th best large hotel for families in the United States and the 20th best large hotels for families in the World! We are honored to know that you are already talking about coming back and seeing us again later this year. Thank you noticing the care and effort that our staff put in everyday to assist our guests with having a memorable vacation. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,085 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,863 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Los Angeles - Anaheim - Garden Grove
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#4 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Address: 12005 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#8 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range: $127 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay suite hotel. An all-suites Anaheim hotel that will make you feel closer to home! The Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area hotel is one of the Disney Good Neighbor hotels, only a mile away. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, daily breakfast and dinner Monday to Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hiltonr Anaheim-Main Gate Area Hotel Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Garden Grove
Homewood Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Disneyland
Homewood Suites Anaheim California
Homewood Suites By Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA
Homewood Suites By Hilton Disneyland Area
Garden Grove Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing