We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Level Contributor
245 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Our last visit was 2 years ago. We made the reservation again without looking at other places. One reason being that we were able to book the stay using award points. But we also enjoyed the hotel. It could use some new carpet and furniture, but understand, this property is used. Much more so than another Homewood that might see more business traffic. Some complain that the charge for parking or the shuttle to Disneyland is excessive. I find it to be the price of doing business around a popular destination. The taxes and fees have to be pretty hefty. It serves a good breakfast (timing is everything, the earlier the better). Dinner was ok (the spaghetti was without seasoning). We found a number of eating options nearby. It has a nicely sized pool. A kiddie pool that is too cold for any infant. It was like that 2 years ago, I don't understand why. It did feel good on my tired feet at the end of a long day of walking at D-land. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this to anyone and we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nmbiela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
We genuinely appreciate you taking the time to write this review of your stay with us. We're happy that overall you enjoyed your stay, but are also thankful that you gave us some of your thoughts on how we can improve. We will take your recommendations and continue to work to get better. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Anaheim area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    386
    142
    85
    61
See reviews for
944
86
21
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have stayed at this property more than once. It is a great family hotel. Close to Disney, shuttle bus available ($), free breakfast and dinner (Monday thru Thursday). Would stay again, would refer family and friends. Only downfall, the elevators are slow and during breakfast lower floor room where you could walk up would be best.

Room Tip: I would request third floor if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaliCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Reviews written by repeat guests are greatly appreciated and we thank you for your loyalty and continuing to stay with us. We apologize for the wait time for the front elevator as it seems to stop on every floor during this busy time of year (spring break). We highly recommend that any guests with a suite towards the back of the property utilize the back elevator. It is rarely used and can be much quicker and more convenient. We look forward to seeing you again on your family's next visit to Southern California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We loved this hotel. We went to Disneyland with members of our extended family and booked five suites. We were all pleased with the rooms, as well as the breakfast each morning.

Only downside was the $12/day for parking and the charge for the shuttle.

We are planning on staying here for our yearly Disneyland trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vtwinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
We are really excited that you and the entire extended family enjoyed the stay and we can't wait to see you again next year! Send us a message before you arrive and we'll do something extra special for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Probably not one of the best Homewood Suites, only reason I have given this a 4 star and not a 3 star is because of the friendliness of the staff. The premises requires some renovation as it looks very used and tired. The additional fee of $12 per night for parking is just a money making mechanism for the orgainisation and would be better placed at a smaller rate. Similalry the shuttle buss to Disney should be complimentary or at the very minimum half the price. It was not particularly clean and the lifts (elevators) were terrible, leaving queues and long waits. Occupants of the 7th floor are further burdened with the use of only one lift as the other (at the end of the corridor/hall) does not go to the top level. It is however very well placed for Disney enthusiasts and counting the number of children you had to navigate around the breakfast bar, it could well do with a quiet or reserved area for others (don't get me wrong, I love kids, I just can't stand those bad parents who cannot control or prevent screaming children from running all over sneezing into the food dishes, or sticking fingers into food you are about to eat).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clivethegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on Tripadvisor. We greatly value the feedback from our guests and will take your comments and suggestions as we continue to try to improve the experience for all of our guests. Thank you for the kind notation regarding our staff. We are very fortunate to have many great individuals working here as a team and we hope that we see you again on your next visit to Disneyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I LOVE this hotel and will definitely be back! Took my twins there for their 7th birthday and was incredibly impressed by the location, complimentary breakfast and dinners, pool, and room size. We did 3 days at Disney and it was great to return for a dinner break (and complimentary wine too), then head back to the parks. The room was decorated tastefully with modern furniture and had a full kitchen as well. Easy shuttle access to Disneyland. Everything about this hotel was awesome and we will be returning for sure.

Room Tip: Stay on the bottom floor to avoid waiting for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you very much for this referral! We feel that the Homewood Suites Anaheim is a great place to come back and relax after a full day at Disneyland and we're delighted that you agree. We hope to see you again very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We just got home from our 2nd stay at the Homewood...we enjoyed it just as much as the last time...we did miss the fresh baked cookies they set out the last time, but we enjoyed the lemon water they put out daily...awesome customer service...the managers are very nice and go above and beyond for you....the breakfast was good...and the dinner they provide Monday thru Thursday evening is a nice extra...I am going to miss their beds...with all the pillows...we will be visiting again soon and for sure staying here again!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
We can't tell you how much we appreciate you taking the time to share such an experience on this website! The comments regarding the great customer service is very kind and we're thankful you had a great stay.....again! And you're right; the beds are perfect for relaxing after an exhausting day. We will look for you on your next trip to Anaheim. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marysville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

My family of 6 (13,10,5 and 2) stayed at the Homewood Suites the 3rd week of Feb. for 5 nights while visiting Disneyland. The rooms were clean and just big enough to accomodated teens and toddlers. Breakfast in the morning and a light meal in the evening was perfect to keep us going throughout the day (the wine and beer was a real treat after a long day with 4 at Disney!) The hotel staff was very pleasant and the manager was in the dining area most mornings making sure things ran smoothly. The pool and hot tub were well kept. The front elevator did run slow but we were aware of that prior to our stay and just took the stairs or back elevator. There were a bunch of band students staying and we were worried we would hear them all night but the rooms were very quiet. I only have kudos for the Homewood suites! We are already planning our next trip to Disney and will most definitely stay here again!!
Becky
Seattle, WA

Room Tip: Stay on lower floors 3 and under as the elevator is slow and it is easier with kids to take the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nursmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for going out of your way to write this wonderful review. We couldn't be happier that you and your family of 6 had such a good stay. Isn't it great to have the suite (50% larger than a normal hotel room) as opposed to being cramped in a small hotel room with just a couple of beds? We know the elevator can be a bit of a wait especially during high usage times (during breakfast), but thank you for your patience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Southern California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#6 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Los Angeles - Anaheim - Garden Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
Address: 12005 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#8 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay suite hotel. An all-suites Anaheim hotel that will make you feel closer to home! The Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area hotel is one of the Disney Good Neighbor hotels, only a mile away. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, daily breakfast and dinner Monday to Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hiltonr Anaheim-Main Gate Area Hotel Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Garden Grove
Homewood Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Disneyland
Homewood Suites By Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA
Homewood Suites By Hilton Disneyland Area
Homewood Suites Anaheim California
Garden Grove Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing