We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home sweet home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed here in Anaheim for our honeymoon. If you knew my husband and my self you would know our vacations are always less than stellar. Little did we know that the NAMM con. was the same week we would be in Anaheim. When we arrived to the Homewoods we were tired from an 8 hour air flight, drama with our lay overs, and issues with the dollar car rental in lax and many other issues that plagued us on our way to the hotel. Luis was the manager on staff working that night and he checked us in and even listened to me complain about the day. He was so nice and sweet and they even sent us a card with a bottle of wine and candies because it was our honeymoon. The staff has been A+ the whole time we have been here very help and friendly. The other wonderful feature is starbucks is neighboring in the parking lot next door. I am a starbucks addict this was a wonderful bonus. We would get the free breakfast at the hotel and bring the food up to our room. It does get a little loud and crowded with kids in the morning for breakfast. So take it back to your room. We stayed in 605 and had a great view of the fireworks at night from disney. This hotel is perfect, you have target across the street, outback, oggis pizeria, red robin, joe crap shack almost in the parking lot. That made it so easy to grab something to eat. We had a kitchenette, we would go to target pick up some items and make them to save on the cost. Just an FYI... there is no oven in the kitchenette. But, they do offer a coffee maker, microwave, fridge, toaster, 2 burner stove top. The bedroom has 2 closets!!And one has a mirrored door which i used to make sure my looks before i left or put on makeup. I am an Hotel snob and i'll be honest i didn't want to leave. The only tip is make sure you leave the bathroom door shut when taking a shower. I take HOT showers and the condensation from the steam set off the fire alarm in the bedroom. I just opened and shut the bedroom door to get it to turn off. The bedrooms also offer windows you can open. I love fresh air so that was a nice feature. It was in the 60s so we didn't use the pool or hot tub.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MzlauraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

We were honored that you chose to stay with us for your honeymoon and delighted that we could play a small role in such a special occasion. Thank you for the comments regarding Luis as he goes to great lengths to ensure each of our guests has a great stay. We love that comment about not wanting to leave......we didn't think you should leave either! We wish nothing but the best for you and your husband and hope that you come back to see us for an anniversary.
Congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

I really liked this hotel. I was skepticle because of the pictures of teh wonderful gold colored blankets, but it was not bad! The only thing that would have been nice if there was a table and chairs. Small children cant really eat off thier laps, so that proved a challange at times. The kitchen was perfect and couldnt ask for much more. Breakfast was good the usual scrabmled eggs, sausage or bacon, waffles, toast, yogurt, oatmeal... It woudl be hard for someone not to find something they liked! They have fresh coffee in the lobby and it didnt matter what time of day you were always greeted with a smile. ART is route number 1 which is awesome because it is closed to the gate. When you legs are dead at the end of the night it is a pleasure to drag yourself to this stop and not have to go any farther! Disney closed at 8pm while we were there, so we did not get to enjoy the managers reception with a light meal beer & wine. It shares a parking lot with a few resteraunts so grabbing a Red Robin burger was nice. Target is across the street so grabbing some snack food and milk was simple! Very good and the real only complaint i would have is the elevator is very slow. However I would not judge my stay based on that!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review of the hotel. I hope that on your next visit you are able to take advantage of the Welcome Home Manager's Evening reception that includes a complimentary light meal as well as complimentary beer, soda, and wine. Please come back and see us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I am a fan of the Homewood suites because of the mini suite and full kitchen
They have great customer service and have everything
Pool Jacuzzi gym and a substantial hot breakfast
The beds are great and it works for a short stay for our volleyball tournament
Restaurants in walking distance
I wish they had free parking. The only draw back

Room Tip: One side you can see fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Southern California. We are thrilled that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

It's hard to find hotels that have rooms to accomodate families of 5+ without craming everyone into one room for a huge price. We always look for suites with one or two bedrooms because of of boys and handicap daughter. We arrived one hour early on Wed and they checked us in and upgraded us to a two bedroom suite. Very spacious on second floor next to conference room so it was quiet. Beds, and baths were great. The elevator is slow (only was used to take luggage up and down), used stairs other times. The boys used the pool and had a great time. It was taco bar night with free food and drinks - very convenient when tired and not wanting to drag whole family out to look for food. The next morning they had breakfast (satisfactory), again nice. Checkout was easy and the Disneyland park was very close. The proximity to the DL park is great- next to other big name hotels. The area is very clean and feel safe. Close to resturants and easy to get to the fwys (5 and 22). The staff is very nice and friendly and free wifi. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrssirfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

We thank you for posting this review. Although we are a little biased, we feel that no hotel in the area caters to large families like the Homewood Suites by Hilton. Whether traveling with a family of 5 or even more, the additional space enhances your trip by giving you room to relax after a long day at Disneyland. We hope to see you as a guest again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We went there during Christmas. It is a really nice, well run place and the staff is extremely accommodating. The main bedroom are nice and the kitchen has a counter top, stove, microwave, and fridge as well as few cupboards.

Some things were less than perfect.
The pullout bed has a poor mattress and would be a poor place for an adult to sleep. We put extra blankets on it and it was fine for our kids.
The elevator is really slow. If you go there only take a room on the first three floors. We used the stairs the entire time.

The free meals are not awesome but they are a nice feature for the price. They had nice eggs and sausages every morning and fruit juice and milk, toast, etc. The waffles will take a long time if it is busy. Some people

The pool area is nice and gets a lot a sun away from the traffic side of the hotel. They let us use the barbecue and make our own meals in the patio area.

The shuttle to Disneyland is great too.

A great place to take kids to see Disneyland.

Room Tip: Be on the first three floors since the elevator is slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yeremenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and share your experience during your recent stay. Thank you for noting some of the amenities in the suites that separate us from the rest of the hotels in the area.
We are sorry that the mattress on the pull-out was not as comfortable as it could have been. We do replace the mattresses if we find them in poor condition as these are often used by the large families that stay with us.
We are always looking to improve our complimentary breakfast and your suggestions are also appreciated. We expect to add 2 more waffle irons in the next month as they are quite popular and the wait during busy periods the wait can be long.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Disneyland. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The hotel was a great deal. We enjoyed our stay and breakfast was great. Our suite was clean, beds were comfortable, and the kitchen is well stocked. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and the place was clean. The elevator is slow.

Minus 1 star because our experience with the Disneyland shuttle was extremely unpleasant. This hotel shares its service with the nearby Sheraton hotel. The shuttles are small when compared to the demand, and the needs of families with small kids (strollers). The shuttles are always overly crowded and unsafe for children. Once during our visit, the shuttle did not pick up in Disneyland as scheduled. We waited over 30 minutes for the next pick-up but by then, other families arrived. When the shuttle finally came, chaos happened, people shoved, and we ended up not getting into the ride. Our two children were upset and so were we. Did I mention its not free? This is absolutely unacceptable for a PAID shuttle service.

While the hotel is great, we will probably stay somewhere else when we visit the area again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AandFMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

We appreciate that you not only took the time to post this review, but also enjoyed the hotel.
We sincerely apologize for the shuttle service that you and our other guests received for multiple days during the end of December. We typically have our own shuttle during high demand periods such as this, however the company that operates our shuttle had a bus go out of service and it took 3 days before they could purchase another vehicle. Over those 3 days, we had no other option but to share a shuttle with another hotel.
I assure you that this is not the typical experience and hope that you will contact me at your convenience so that I can apologize again and discuss this further. Feel free to contact me at either (714)620-2153 or via email at: joe.leinacker@hilton.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed for 8 days and 7 nights in the roomy two queen 1 bdrm suite w/kitchenette and a sofa sleeper. We stayed in other kitcnettes that didn't seem as big as this one. Overall we were very comfortable and relaxed and did not encounter any major issues. We actually had to leave early a night and the friendly hotel manager refunded us without any hesitation. We enjoyed breakfast every morning which consisted of mainly scrambled eggs sometimes bacon or sausage was served with either hashbrown patties or home style potatoes. Make sure to get there early because it ends at 9am. So there really is no sleeping in if you want to take advantage. We saw a few guests with trays to carry breakfast back to their rooms. We dedided to do the same our last few days there. Our kids liked making their own waffles but the line gets rather busy so there were days they went without them. There was a variety of cereals and breads. It would have been nice to have some fresh fruit but none was offered. We got some from Target across the street. We even ended up buying a stroller there too for $20 (much better to do this then rent one in Disneyland for $15). Dinner was served Mon-Thurs and we did plan eating back at the hotel into those days. We had an ART pass that we used daily to commute to and from Disneyland (you catch it next door in front of Marriot its very close). So we would leave and go have dinner at the hotel then go right back to Disneyland. Doing this freed up money to buy other things like souvenirs or lunch inside the park. It was awesome with how many restaraunts they have practically on their property. Oggi's had delicious pizza and a variety of sides and beer. Outback has really good kids meals like ribs and fries baskets. Joe's crabshack we weren't able to try. Ask for some coupons at the front desk. We got a free appetizer at Oggi's (the Wonton nachos) "yummy" with our order. One afternoon we were able to use the pool. They say its heated but it didn't feel like it. The jacuzzi was nice and hot though. We all really enjoyed the HI-Def cable channels. It was nice to come back after a long busy day and enjoy some HBO movies!The channels went out on the TV in the bedroom the 1st day and maintenance was up in less than 1/2 hour to replace it. Being able to open the windows to allow fresh air in was a treat especially when there are no fans in the bathrooms. Wheww! it can get stuffy. With a family of 6 things are about to get messy. So when we needed some extra vacuuming maid service was up quickly to take care of it! All staff was so very responsive to our needs and I very much appreciated that. It would be great to stay here on future trips to Disneyland.

Room Tip: Elevator is very very slow. The stairwell was a much better alternative if you can use it. Got us to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ronniegirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgmjoe, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We get many guests that stay with us for an extended period of time as this is a great place to stay and explore all of Southern California. We apologize that you experienced an issue with your television, but we're glad that our maintenance staff quickly and efficiently corrected the problem. We can't wait to see you again on your future trips to Disneyland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#3 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Los Angeles - Anaheim - Garden Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Address: 12005 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#8 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range: $129 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay suite hotel. An all-suites Anaheim hotel that will make you feel closer to home! The Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area hotel is one of the Disney Good Neighbor hotels, only a mile away. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, daily breakfast and dinner Monday to Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hiltonr Anaheim-Main Gate Area Hotel Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Garden Grove
Homewood Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Disneyland
Homewood Suites Anaheim California
Homewood Suites By Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA
Homewood Suites By Hilton Disneyland Area
Garden Grove Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing