We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Very Comfortable and they charge for Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Very Comfortable and they charge for Everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

The Hyatt Regency in Orange County is typical of what you'd expect from a Hyatt: Nice fairly large rooms, bright,attractive and that goes for the staff too! The pillowtop mattresses were extremely comfortable. The restaurant was good for breakfasts. I didn't get a chance at other meals. the biggest drawback was that they charge for virtually everything...$17 per day for valet parking plus tip, $25(whole stay rate) for a small fridge, $9.00 per day for internet access. Beware, those $1.25 bottles of Aquafina sitting on the table will cost you $5.00 at checkout. They need to reel in all the extra charges. The room rate was $160.00night, but I was there on business so the company paid. It is convenient to the Anaheim Convention Center, Disneyland etc. etc. I have to say however, that houskeeping was exceptioonal. Not only were the rooms immaculate when you check in, they have to be the fastest staff I've ever seen in turning a room over. I went down to breakfast several days at 8:00am and returned to my room about 9:00am and found it all made up already. Makes your head spin!

  • Liked — Bedding
  • Disliked — low height toilets...not very good whrn you're over 6' tall
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank roderules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,628
    1,039
    333
    130
    60
See reviews for
1,558
373
70
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

I stayed here for a conference and was pleased with my stay. The rooms are comfortable and the beds extra plush. Both the common areas and rooms have a modern, fresh decor and hallways were always quiet. The photos you'll find on this website from other travelers give a good idea of what to expect. The gym was fully upgraded and stocked with cool towels, water, and magazines. I didn't try the pool or spa but they seemed ok - not resort-like but pleasant enough. The front desk and customer service over the phone was very helpful and accommodating even for last-minute requests. I would avoid the California Grill restaurant as it is way overpriced for the small, tasteless portions and careless service (server talked back to us when we told her we were pressed for time and nearly threw the food at us, getting our orders totally mixed up). There are several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The disneyland shuttle was convenient too (too far to walk there).

If you can get a hotwire deal or group rate it makes this hotel a great value. Hotels around Disneyland tend to be overpriced and many times not too impressive, but the Hyatt didn't disappoint. I would definitely stay there again. The downside is that parking is pretty steep although if you are there with a convention it is a more reasonable price. Apparently internet is not included and the rooms did not include refrigerators but these were not important during my stay.

  • Liked — nice rooms, friendly staff (mostly), nice gym
  • Disliked — expensive parking and internet. onsite restaurants subpar
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2007

I booked through Priceline.com and was able to stay at this fabulous hotel. The staff was great and the service was outstanding. I will definately go back! I recommend this hotel to anyone....A++++

  • Liked — Staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing....Absolutely best stay ever!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank njp313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

We stayed here just recently during May 24 - May 28 of this year(2007). The hotel was nice, rooms clean and had no problems whatsoever. But, the only problem i have with this hotel is that they charge $15 for self-parking and $17 for Valet. They charge you for everything even a local call, internet etc...Also, make sure to check your bill while checking out because i heard from other discussion forums and i have experienced it as well that they put some dubious charges in there which we have never used. For instance, they charged 2 local phone calls on my bill when we never even touched the phone and also when i got home and checked my credit card bill, i saw that there was another charge for $10. I called up the accounting department at Hyatt and they said it is for water bottles which i never used. Without any argument, they said they will refund the money. I am pretty sure that by the way the accounting person did not even put up a fight, it is a standard practice for them to overcharge people. If you are careful enough, you would notice it otherwise, you end up paying more. Overall, if you are careful enough and just want a nice place to stay and do not want to use any other amenities, this is a nice play to stay.

  • Liked — Hotel exterior, interior and its proximity to many attractions
  • Disliked — extra charges for everything...except for room, everything else is a charge
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank traveller369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

I was throughly pleased with the Hyatt because it was exactly just like it's pictures. The lobby was big and beautiful and our room was clean, modern and comfortable.

Pros: Starbucks is located inside the lobby, A shuttle comes every thirty minutes to and from disneyland, Target is right across the street for cheaper snacks and water, located
nearby many different resturants including Grand China, Outback, Red Robin, Joe's Crab
Shack.

Cons: Food in the California Grill was expensive (breakfast buffetwas $20/person), Pizza Hut closed early. Fees are expensive, $15 parking.

I stayed at the Sheraton last time and got late check-out for free, the Hyatt makes you pay for the room for half the day.The Sheraton also had a fridge in it's standard room and was also bigger and closer to disney land, but didn't have any shops within walking distance.

Having target across the street was nice because you always seem to forget to bring something when you pack.

The only think that I would've changed is to have the shuttle come every 15 minutes during peak hours like the morning and late at night. They had two buses running during peak hours and if the stagger them a little it would really make tired disney goers very happy, I think.

We got room service one day and the service was excellent. They even called afterwards to see how it went. I didn't have any complaints about the room service. Our room was always cleaned by the time we arrived back for our fiesta in the afternoon

Please visit my blog for more pictures and a whole trip report.

http://myvacayisbetterthanyours.blogspot.com/2007/05/disneyland-sister-edition-memorial-day.html

  • Liked — The Beds, The Location
  • Disliked — The Fees
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammynize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodinville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

Ok, for the under $100 I paid it was a great hotel! The lobby was impressive but the pools were small and cold. They do charge for every little extra thing. Just to park it was an extra $17 for valet and $15 for self park. I chose valet since I couldn't see the self parking lot from the front of the hotel. The room service was outstanding and I still think about the pot of starbucks coffee I ordered. I highly recommend the breakfast burrito. Wow!!!! I would not pay anything over $100 for the room though. If you look to pay anything over than that, stay at the Embassy Suites right next to it. The rates are a little bit more but you get a full breakfast and cocktails every evening. A great deal for families!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank beansnsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2007

Entrance and lobby area impressive but the rest of the hotel a did not live up to first impressions. Staff were friendly and the room was clean. However, no fridge is provided - you have to pay an extra $25 if you want a fridge. The food in the restaurant is very poor. The evening menu was at best tasteless and at worst not cooked through. The breakfast is not worth the money. Apparently the hotel has recently bought new beds but they are soft - not good if you have a bad back. Certainly not as good as the Marriott beds. Not enough staff on reception so long ques to check-in and check-out at peak times. A friend of mine was staying on a different floor where a party was underway in one of the rooms. Although security were called they did nothing to prevent disturbance to other guests.

  • Liked — Entrance and Lobby area
  • Disliked — Food in restaurant
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#5 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#46 of 118 in Anaheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,022 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#26 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Orange County

Property: Hyatt Regency Orange County
Address: 11999 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Garden Grove
#3 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
#4 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Orange County 4*
Number of rooms: 656
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to hotels near Disneyland, Hyatt Regency Orange County is the ultimate destination for your getaway or vacation. Located just 1.4 miles from the Disneyland® Resort, our luxury hotel near Anaheim has shuttle service available to and from the parks, and is in close proximity to Angel Stadium, the Honda Center, world-famous beaches and many other Orange County attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Orange County Hotel Garden Grove
Hyatt Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Orange County Garden Grove, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing