We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the kids suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 13, 2006

We stayed at the Hyatt for 2 nights in February. After a long haul flight from Sydney we were happy to pay an extra $20 for an early check in. Showered and straight on the shuttle to Disneyland. The shuttle is great and runs every 30 minutes to Disneyland 10 minutes away. The kids suites are great as the kids had there own room with bunk beds and their own TV. Adults room has a great king size bed. There is a Pizza Express and Starbucks downstairs in the lobby as a cheaper option to room service. Would stay again and recommend this hotel to families with 2 young kids.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Epollene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,404 - 3,410 of 3,630 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
240
Reviewed February 20, 2006

I booked this hotel for two nights Feb 17 and 18, 2006. I received a rate of $60/night, plus $14 a night through Priceline. For $74 a night here is what I thought:

STAFF
Very professional. Also very cold and disconnected from guests as other reviewers have noticed.

ROOMS
We checked into a room with a single king bed, with two adults and two children. Even though the parking lot was half empty (or is it half full?), they "had not other available rooms."

The non-smoking room we checked into smelled like the bottom of an ash tray. When I called to complain the woman basically told me too bad.

The bed was very nice and the room was clean and nicely made. The furniture was good quality.

The bathroom was very small but adequate.

PARKING
The lot was well organized and clean. It was also well lit at night.

GROUNDS
There really aren't any to speak of. I think there was a small patch of grass as we walked in.

ROOM SERVICE
I always expect to pay a lot if I use room service, but the Hyatt's prices are above a beyond reasonable, even for a so-called nice hotel.

CONCLUSION
Due to the stinky room, apathetic staff, overpriced food and lousy service, we would not stay here again even for the reasonable rate we receieved. Were they close enough to Disneyland that a guest could walk, the negatives may be bearable.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2006

I stayed 2 nights at the Hyatt and within the first hour, was disappointed. I met up with a coworker for a late breakfast in the lobby. We were systematically ignored - as an example, by the time the cream came for my coffee, my coffee already grew cold. We had trouble catching any of the staff attention and when it came time to paying the bill, we had to walk up to the cash register to pay. When I complained about the service, I got some lukewarm reasoning about how they were changing from a breakfast to a lunch staff. Whatever!

I was also disappointed with the gym nautilus facility. I've been at lesser hotels with a larger gym! They had a great pool though.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2006

I used Trip Advisor to make all of our hotel decisions for California and found it so helpful. I decided it was time to share what I learned. We stayed at the Hyatt for 5 nights Dec 23-28, 2005. We knew we wanted to base ourselves in Anaheim. My main reason for choosing the Hyatt was the bed & room configuration. Thru one entrance into the "room" we had a room with a king size bed, a room with 2 queens, a pull out sofa, 3 tvs, and 2 bathrooms. Great for a family of 5 when the kids do not like sharing beds. I believe it was the north tower, that's where the suites are. It was perfectly nice, VERY clean and well maintained. Every morning there was a newspaper by our door. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent. We did not use the shuttle to Disneyland - big mistake. You should use it. We only did one day at Disney. Our one and only "complaint" was that we don't like Starbucks coffee and even that wasn't available late at night. All in all, I definitely recommend this hotel!

7  Thank bcaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2006

This is a great hotel. The beds are amazing, after a long day of doing Disney. The rooms and the bathrooms are a bit on the small side. The staff is very helpful and friendly. There is a Disney desk in the hotel where you can buy tickets and get Disneyland info. The lobby is beautiful. The California Grill is expensive, but the service is wonderful. You can get great low rates for this beautiful hotel off discount web- sites.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DisneyFan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2006

We just got back from a 4-night stay over MLK weekend. Our two kids really liked the bunk beds in the kids suite.

We had an excellent time at this hotel. The beds were very comfortable, the room was clean, the staff very friendly.

The kids suite comes with a mini fridge and a microwave. We brought milk, juice and cereal and had cheap breakfasts in the room before heading to Disneyland.

We also enjoyed the pool. The spa was not very hot, which was actually a good thing since our kids could use it, too.

The hotel shares a shuttle with only one other hotel. The Hyatt is the 1st pickup and 1st drop off, every 1/2 hour. NIce drivers.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank crustaceansrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Long Beach, California
12
Reviewed January 1, 2006

My husband an I work constantly and seldom have time for one another. He planned a (1) night stay for us. We stayed in the King suite which had a nice view and was exceptionally clean.

Our stay was very pleasant and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They even waived our parking fee.

We enjoyed a buffet breakfast that would have probably cost at least $12 at a low scale restaurant.

The buffet breakfast was compliments of AAA. Take your AAA card out and use it more often.

I recommend the Hyatt Regency in Garden Grove. My husband and I will definitely visit again.

Mrs. B.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,845 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#33 of 119 in Anaheim
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#48 of 119 in Anaheim
4,503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Orange County

Address: 11999 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Garden Grove
#3 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
#4 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range: $149 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Orange County 4*
Number of rooms: 653
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to hotels near Disneyland, Hyatt Regency Orange County is the ultimate destination for your getaway or vacation. Located just 1.4 miles from the Disneyland® Resort, our luxury hotel near Anaheim has shuttle service available to and from the parks, and is in close proximity to Angel Stadium, the Honda Center, world-famous beaches and many other Orange County attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Orange County Hotel Garden Grove
Hyatt Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Orange County Garden Grove, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing