We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a convention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great location for a convention”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff was helpful during the entire stay. Friendly, helpful and professional which made the visit to California great. The rooms were clean, well maintained and the common areas as well. Having Starbucks on site was a nice extra for the mornings and afternoons when we needed our caffeine fix. The conference rooms are plentiful and provide a great venue for a convention with 1000+ attendees. The restaurant and bar provide choices for dining as well as some of the chains such as Joe's Crabshack, Red Robin and Outback etc.
A Target is within walking distance which was convenient since we forgot some items.

Room Tip: The upgrade is worth it and if you can afford it the suites are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently for your convention! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, our friendly staff, clean rooms, in-hotel Starbucks, conference rooms and convenient location. We hope you'll come back to visit us again for either business or fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,628
    1,039
    333
    130
    60
See reviews for
1,558
373
70
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Seriously right across the street from the entrance of Disney. Nightly rates are a little pricey, but if your looking for Disney convenience then this is the hotel for you! Great food options and great bar to watch football....TVs at every table.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amabrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We're so glad you enjoyed our location, great bar and our convience to Disneyland. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a convention. It worked well for our group. The staff was accommodating and friendly, the breakfast buffet offered a good selection and the waiters in the bar were friendly and the service was good. It is a good location for Disneyland. I saw shuttles were leaving from the hotel. Check in/out was good, with polite staff. The area around the hotel is safe and there are lots of choices for restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneliese T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your convention. We're glad you liked the friendly staff, breakfast buffet, restaurant staff and location. We hope to have you back again soon whether it be for business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

First impression was great! Service and check in was average. We got to the room which was a 2 bedroom kids room. it was nice with a view of the atrium below, unfortunately the bathroom was in the kids room. With a 13 year old daughter this was near impossible (as you can imagine). The pools are not at all good. Bad locations, tough to get to the rooftop pool(on the 3rd floor) no stairs up top it and elevators take forever. definitely buy the 3 day pass for the parks located in the lobby. It's a little cheaper for 3 days instead of day by day and a fairly long walk to Disneyland. Concierge were always busy and not very knowledgable, seemed to push tours not worthy of time or money. Would not stay here again for the cost of the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are truly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. This is not the high level of accommodations that we expect all of our guests to receive. Please contact Shane Nicolopoulos, Director of Rooms, at 714 740 6036.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here as part of a Virgin Holidays fly drive. It is about a mile from Disneyland with shops and restaurants within walking distance.

The hotel was clean, comfortable and modern but it has no soul. Great for a conference, and great if you want a good quality hotel in a good location for Disney. I prefer a smaller, more personal service hotel. Bar food and drink prices were reasonable and the staff are very friendly.

Only complaint was the shower which took over 5 minutes to warm up - a complete waste of water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, comfort and cleanliness of our hotel and our OC Brewhouse's food, value and service. We hope that you will return the next time you are in California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you want service and respect, then this is not the place for you and your family!!!!

Booked a four night stay about 4 weeks ago in a kids suite with the Disney Vacation package. Had an email with me from Hyatt confirming package and rate, which was also confirmed by phone prior to leaving on trip. If you check the website it clearly states that the "package" includes tickets for 2 adults and 2 kids under 10 each day.

But no that wasn't the case, and the care factor shown was absolutely zero. Even though I had the email showing I had booked the "package" for four days, the person at registration only gave me tickets for 1 day. When I queried this he was only too happy to quickly handball the issue to the duty manager. Even after showing Matthew the email from Hyatt, he would only give us the extra tickets if I paid an additional sum (nearly $600 per night)!!!!

He said he would contact Head Office and get someone to call me but that was over 8 hours ago and still no call.

When I suggested that they honour the rates in the email he said that wasn't going to happen. The choice (felt like an ultimatum) given to me was basically to stay and pay the extra. Needless to say we told him what he could do with the room and was able to get a "package" at the Disney Grand Californian for about $800 cheaper and I am not staying 2 miles away from Disneyland.

If service, being treated with respect, and getting what you have been confirmed is important to you, then do not stay at this Hotel.

For balance we stayed at the Hyatt in Cincinnati and it was a great with great staff who did what they could to make the stay enjoyable. They could give some lessons to this hotel.

We as a family have travelled numerous times overseas from Australia in the past decade, and
this was the worst travel situation we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We understand you were not pleased with your recent stay. Please contact Shane Nicolopoulos, Director of Rooms, at 714 740 6036. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
212 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

While the meeting rooms are your typical bland rooms, at least they weren't too hot or too cold. However, the atrium is sparkling clean and I loved the flavored waters. In addition, it's nice to not have such a crowded space. The open air quality literally lets the sun shine in. The food in the restaurants was good and the service was always good. I was delighted to be upgraded to a suite which again was sparkling clean. The only complaint would be a slow draining tub. Lastly, the staff was always very polite and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAnn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you like our atrium lobby! We too love the sunny and spacious area. We're happy you enjoyed the hotel's cleanliness, the restaurant's food and service and your upgraded suite. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#5 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#46 of 118 in Anaheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,022 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#26 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Orange County

Property: Hyatt Regency Orange County
Address: 11999 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Garden Grove
#3 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#4 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Orange County 4*
Number of rooms: 656
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to hotels near Disneyland, Hyatt Regency Orange County is the ultimate destination for your getaway or vacation. Located just 1.4 miles from the Disneyland® Resort, our luxury hotel near Anaheim has shuttle service available to and from the parks, and is in close proximity to Angel Stadium, the Honda Center, world-famous beaches and many other Orange County attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Orange County Hotel Garden Grove
Hyatt Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Orange County Garden Grove, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing