We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room but couple of areas need improving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We drove in late from Disneyland and Minh was very kind and helpful with getting us directions to the hotel. As we were driving into the parking lot, an suv with Nevada plates sped up fast behing us and drove in very fast and did donuts in the parking lot. (which has nothing to do with the hotel and was quite strange but amusing at the same time. We get checked in, but we were not asked what kind of bed we would prefer. We have 2 adults and 2 children with us. We find our room and the guests who did the donuts in the parking lot asked us if we had any beer in our room.
We find that our room has only one bed :/ We turn off the lights to go to sleep and then there is this flashing light coming into the room, about every 5 seconds. It turned out to be the smoke alarm. I didn't find that it was necessary to have one with the annoying flashing, bright light go off. We had put our do not disturb sign up on the outside door only to have someone rudely knock on our door 3 times about 1:15am :/ and the fact that the "donut people" were loud until about 2am. Other than all this, the service and room was great! We got a great rate through priceline and would def recommend this place again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Halderson-GM, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We appreciate the recommendation despite the issues encountered. We are typically a very quiet hotel as we have a good mix of corporate and leisure guests, as we are not right next to the parks. We look forward to seeing you again,
The Sheraton team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 655 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

How can anyone not like this hotel? The only thing we can figure is they didn't speak to the front desk about them. This is an excellent hotel for visiting Disney or for business. Rocio and Julio at the front desk are the kindest sweetest people to deal with, even when we had an issue. They handled it immediately. Breakfast is wonderful and handled grandly by Pablo. The fitness center is excellent. It is too far to go to Disney. We will definitely be back whenever in the area.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TheArdsofSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Halderson-GM, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We appreciate the kind words and will certainly recognize the staff mentioned. We look forward to many returns.
The Sheraton team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I recently had a chance to stay at this property during a trip to Disneyland. It is excellent value, and a hidden gem. I was particularly pleased with the services offered by Minh and Luis whose customer service and alert attention made our stay very pleasurable. Will be back and strongly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Kavita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Halderson-GM, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

We appreciate the recommendation and will certainly commend Luis and Minh for a job well done. Look forward to many returns!
The Sheraton team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here for our family vacation. We choose it because of its proximity to Disneyland. The facility is well maintained and the staff are very friendly. We stayed on the club level floor (7th), the room was big, roomy and clean. The bathroom was also properly stocked with clean towels of all sizes (nice). It's a real bargain if you use your spg points.
Of particular help amongst the staff were Maria at front desk and Pavel in the club lounge, they both went the extra mile when we needed help.
There is a target right opposite (so no toiletries horror), there is a laundry room in the building, and a nice pool.
Most shuttle services to major attractions will pick you up from this point or the hotel right next to it (crowne plaza). So mobility is not such an issue. And finally it is a 30 minute walk from the orange discount center - the block.
I really can't fault my stay in any way. Although we are still waiting for the refund on our card, I'm trusting there will be no mistake there.
Well done team Sheraton garden grove.

Room Tip: If you can stay on the club level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adenrele25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Halderson-GM, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

This is great news! Thank you for the wonderful recommendation. We'll be sure to congratulate Maria and Pavel. Please call us at 714 703-8400 if you need further help with your credit.

Very best regards,
The Sheraton team at Garden Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Was there for 2 nights. Got a room booked with free continental breakfast. Little away from the happening places but as the purpose was to see the Disneyland it was okay. A paid shuttle is available at every 30 mins from morning to Disneyland. Rooms are good; neither big nor small. Breakfast was average. Bathroom amenities are good. plenty of good places to eat outside if you explore. Take away from Pizza Hut is walking distance. You can buy daily needs from across the road supermarket.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Halderson-GM, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We do enjoy our location walking distance to shopping and many dining options, and do try to stay very competitive with our rates, despite being the newest hotel in the area.
Best regards,
The Sheraton team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights while on vacation celebrating our daughter's 3rd birthday. We were happy with the room. Lots of space, clean and pretty comfortable beds. On arrival, I mentioned that it was my daughter's birthday and on the second night, they surprised us with cake. Unfortunately, at this point she was a sleeping beauty and did not get the cake but we made arrangements for them to come back the next night. I thought that this was a very nice personal touch that should get above and beyond recognition. I liked that this was the first pick up for the shuttle and we didn't have to stand on bus. I do wish that they had breakfast included, that would have made this hotel 5 stars for me.

Room Tip: We are SPG members and had a club level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gkeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Halderson-GM, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

We are very glad to have made a difference and will certainly congratulate the team.
Best wishes,
The Garden Grove team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

This Sheraton is more like a best western or holiday inn, much more simple than a Sheraton resort property. The service was good as well as the location. I can't really complain about it, I just felt that it wasn't as nice as a typical Sheraton. The pool was small as was the lobby. There was no free wifi, and breakfast was not included. Close enough to Disneyland that you can see the fireworks at night in the summer. Just not a resort.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank ElleWalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Halderson-GM, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Our guests do love our location, and close proximity to restaurants and shopping. While we remain the newest hotel in the area, we are built to accommodate both our leisure travellers and business travellers alike. Many guests enjoy the complimentary business center, LINK experience by Microsoft and our 24 hours Fitness center powered by Core Performance and pool/jacuzzi.
Best regards,
The Sheraton team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#3 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Anaheim/Garden Grove
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel

Address: 12221 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-4005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range: $124 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step outside and enjoy the nearby attractions. The Sheraton Garden Grove is only 1.5 miles away from the laughs and screams at Disneyland, and the variety of shops at Downtown Disney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing