We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“My Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
“My Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have been traveling to Orange County every week for the last 11 months straight. I have stayed in several different hotels in the area, but for the last 6 months I have stayed at the Sheraton Garden Grove simply because of the service and the people. It really is my home away from home. All of the staff is extremely helpful and nice. I have never had an issue with my reservations, my room is always immaculate, and if I ever need anything they help me right away.

The fitness center is great and I love that the pool and hot tub are 24 hours. I have stayed there long enough now that all the staff know me by name as soon as I walk in the door, I've met the general manager Rick and the director of sales Jennifer and they are both amazing at taking care of whatever their patrons need. It's really great to know that when I'm not at home I will be taken care of.

Like I said, I have stayed at several of the hotels in the area, but the friendly staff and the amazing service keep me coming back to the Sheraton every week!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAndersonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickrosSone, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear " My Home Away From Home",

Thank you for your kind words about the Sheraton Garden Grove & the Team here !!!! I will definitely share your comments & we are so happy that you have chosen our Hotel as your "Home Away From Home".

Please don't hesitate to ask for assistance when you are here, my Team & I are here to make sure your stay is flawless. Thanks again & we look forward to another 6 months !!!!

Sincerely,

Rick B. Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    216
    107
    36
    31
See reviews for
279
112
26
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

As a Non-Californian who travels to Anaheim once a month to use my Disneyland Annual Passport, I've had the opportunity to stay at each of the area starwood hotels.

Without question, this hotel is the best in the area.

The hotel is clean and modern, and (key for me) has working climate control in each room. The other two sheratons are older - one much older - and some rooms will have you sweating your way through the night otherwise.

The staff here are beyond wonderful. They recognize me by sight now for our monthly visit, and they have always done all they can to ensure we have a great stay. I'm SPG Platinum, and am used to exemplary treatment at the hotels I stay at, but the feel here is much more personalized, without a doubt.

Parking is strange here. The lot isn't setup very well for self-parking. When the hotel is busy, they offer a free valet however, removing the usual $12 parking fee that the other area sheratons have as well.

The hotel is less than a 5 minute drive from Disneyland. Since I have an annual pass (and parking is free), I don't use the shuttle, as the drive to the Toy Story parking lot is short, walk is usually no more than two minutes to the shuttle, and the disney lot shuttles come literally every minute or so, meaning it's a fifteen minute trip in total to get into the park via this method, which probably closely matches using the (pay) shuttle, with the added benefit of getting out far more quickly (again, since the disney shuttles are constant). I'd recommend this to anyone staying in the area.

The only issues I've had are niggly ones - our welcome amenity frequently does not arrive. I would not normally even mention this as NO other starwood hotel in the area even attempts to provide an amenity, however they usually leave a personalized note in the room telling you to expect it, so when it doesn't arrive, it's notable.

It's also a category 2 hotel, so it costs a third of the other sheratons down the road in points to stay.

Additionally, the elevators have, on more than one occasion, refused to allow a room card access to the club floor (even when I was staying on that floor), necessitating a trip back to the front desk to be told to use the other one.

These are very minor issues in an otherwise excellent hotel. I heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orenwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickrosSone, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear "Best Sheraton in the Anaheim area",

Thank you for your kind words about our Hotel. Yes, we are the newest Sheraton in the Anaheim/Garden Grove area & have a beautiful property !!! The Hotel is very modern & does have very cold A/C Units.

So happy to hear that you are an SPG Platinum Member & get such great recognition every time you stay with us. It's definitely one of the best Loyalty Programs in the industry, hands down. I am sorry to hear that you have not experienced our Shuttle to the Park. It is very convenient, clean & always runs on time.

Thank you for the tip regarding the Elevator. This is the 1st I've heard of this & will definitely have my Chief Engineer look into this ASAP...

Thanks again for your patronage & we look forwad to seeing you again soon !!!

Sincerely,

Rick B. Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our family stayed over a busy holiday weekend, and had a great time. The room was nice and big with a large window to bring in plenty of light. The breakfast we got was good, although it was hard finding seating because of the holiday weekend.

It is very close to "The Mouse" and restaurants within walking distance.

My kids spent several hours in the pool and hot tub, although since there were a lot of people visiting I think the hot tub or pool chlorine was off because my daughters hair was a little on the green side when they were done. I think it was the hot tub since there was a lot of foam in it (never seen a hot tub like that before).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkinney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickrosSone, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear "Nice place, good location",

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay over the Holiday Weekend. Very busy one for us, I do apologize for you not getting seating during Breakfast. Unfortunately the Club Lounge does fill up quite quickly during Sold Out Weekends....especially Holidays, so sorry.

Yes !!!!! We are very close to Disneyland & many of our Guests find the surrounding area quite appealing, great Dining options (in addition to our own Rest. & Target across the street)....makes your Vacation to Disney a breeze :)

Thank you for the tip regarding the Hot Tub & level of Chlorine, I will speak with my Chief Engineer ASAP.

We look forward to having you back once again soon.

Sincerely,

Rick B. Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Newer Sheraton hotel, room was very nice, better than expected. Great value and close to Disneyland.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickrosSone, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear "Great value, better than expected",

Thank you for your kind words about our new Hotel !!!!!! Yes, only 4 years old this Summer & the Hotel looks very fresh, modern & clean. I will definitley share your comments with my entire Team & we look forward to having you back sometime soon.

Sincerely,

Rick B. Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Utah
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great quiet rooms, large bath, club lounge is totally worth the extra $. Can't figure out why others feel this place isn't perfect, except maybe for the parking free ($12), but all the other hotels nearby charge the same or more anyhow, so what's the big deal. Plus, people are always complaining about it being too far from the park and yet they have a car and complain about the parking fee. so take the car for hell's sake and skip the shuttle.

The beds there are my favorite. At some hotels (foam mattress's like at the Marriott's and the Hilton Garden Inn with their adjustable mattress thingies) for some reason cause me to sweat like a pig in those things. But for me the beds at the Sheraton Garden Grove are just the right amount of comfort, without going overboard with a too heavy comforter.

Tip for the day. Park out back by the pool and use your key to enter there. You're as close as you can get to the elevators without going around through the lobby.

Only complaint from me was that the printer in the lounge never seemed to be stocked with paper, so oh heaven forbid I had to use the free computers in the lobby. And my other complaint (which goes for ALL hotels) is would someone please set the room alarms to off for new check-ins?

PS. I take offense to Sakar 12 referring to me as a lonely business traveler just because I like the place.

Room Tip: You can't lose. Even the rooms facing Harbour Blvd are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tcmorse6570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickrosSone, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear "Great as ever",

Your Feedback is outstanding !!!!!!! I look forward to sharing it all with my Team & definitely hope you will be back soon.

Yes, the Club Lounge is a great daily value when vacationing or on Business & our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed is one of the best in the Industry.....if not the BEST !!!!!! Great tip about Parking out by the Pool & using the side Entrance, very convenient for getting to the Elevator & your room.

My apologies for the Printer being out of Paper in the Club Lounge. This is something that our Club Lounge Attendant monitors daily & apparently had some heavy usage during your stay.

Thanks again & we look forward to seeing you soon !!

Sincerely,

Rick B. Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had reservation for this facility but did not stay when we found out that their pet policy is not so friendly. The nonrefundable cleaning fee is $150!!!!! Yes, $150 when the room rate is only $135 so if you are traveling with a pet, just be forewarned.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank cajudy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickrosSone, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear "BEWARE PET POLICY",

Please accept my sincere apologies about the experience you had regarding our Pet Deposit
Fee. Unfortunately this is our standard as we are in a Resort area & tend to have Travelers with Pets quite often during their extended vacations. This Fee is utilized to deep clean the carpets & Bedding after departure to ensure the room is clean/clear of Pet Allergens for the next Guest.

Sincerely,

Rick B. Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I cannot say enough about this hotel. I travel all over the country and stay in many hotels and few stand out in my mind like this one. I can ALWAYS count on a good stay here. The staff is very friendly, courteous, and attentive to my needs which makes my stay always a pleasure. In fact it's the only place I will stay in Orange County. The rooms are clean, spacious, and if you are on the concierge floor, there is a great breakfast as well. It's close to Orange County Airport, Angels Stadium, and if you are traveling, close to Disneyland, California Adventure. Just a quick shuttle bus ride down the street. If you want a great hotel at a great location, for a great price, with outstanding customer service.....THIS IS FOR YOU!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Mazza3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickrosSone, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear "You've Done It Again!",

Thank you very much for your patronage, loyalty & great comments on the Hotel & my Team. I will definitely share your comments with them & look forward to having you back again the next time you are in the Anaheim/Garden Grove area.

Sincerely,

Rick B. Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 stars 1,494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 stars 1,370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#4 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 stars 2,714 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Anaheim/Garden Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel

Property: Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel
Address: 12221 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-4005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step outside and enjoy the nearby attractions. The Sheraton Garden Grove is only 1.5 miles away from the laughs and screams at Disneyland, and the variety of shops at Downtown Disney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing