We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Humboldt House Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed 2 nighta at the hotel and we felt very confortable with our choice as a base to explore the redwoods parks in this area of California. Bedroom and bathroom were very clean and adequate in size, the beds were confortable, so we had 2 nights of good sleep and rest. My husband and son went to the whirlpool and told me it was relaxing, very fine. Breakfast was not exceptional but there was more than I could eat. In short, I recommend Humboldt House Inn because everything was enjoyable there. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the pool and the street, but it was not noisy at all. Garberville is a small to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouDoRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 944 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had a wonderful night stay at this Hotel. We were on a 4 day trip and stayed in 3 different Hotels. This was by far the most comfortable room and I wish we could of stayed an additional night or 2. We travled the Redwood Scenic Route and enjoyed the history of the hotel. Garberville is a tiny town and your selections for dinner is very limited

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Overall this was a good hotel -- really liked the breakfast (and the happy hour! -- particularly the little 80 year old lady serving in plastic gloves) and the comfy room. Did not like the check-in process or the people in hoodies hanging around begging outside the lobby. But the convenient proximity to the Red Woods was what made it so good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ArchJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here with our little dog recently and was surprised how clean and comfortable the room was! However, the front desk service was not as nice. The check in was a bit negative and not very welcoming! And then the next morning getting them to open the laundry room took 30 mins after it was said to be open a bit frustrating when check out is at 11 and the laundry room was supposed to be open at 9 and no one came to open it until 9:30. The wine and cheese reception was awesome and the lady who worked it was very friendly! Pizza restaurant behind the place was yummy!! My husband and I were woken up several times during the night with drunks singing and screaming. It was a Monday night in the middle of Jan! Bedding was HORRIBLE!! Unless you like a comforter that is very very heavy! Clean nice bedding but too heavy! Even though our room was clean and nice, we won't stay here again due to the loud craziness outside! We will skip Garberville completely next time!

Room Tip: Bring your earplugs if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annettecalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very clean, comfortable and quiet. Even though it is a multi-level hotel. The complementary wine, cheese and fruit reception was a treat in the evening. The full hot breakfast was delicious. A little more $'s than other hotels we stayed in on this trip, but worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank TheGatesClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The inside looks much better than the outside. The breakfast was average, the biscuits were better than average. We got up early and down to the breakfast room just after they started serving to get a good selection. They did run out of orange juice before we finished eating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tracey/ Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Best Western Humboldt House Inn, in the little town of Garberville is a really nice place to put up your feet and relax.

The hotel is very clean, professional staff and super friendly. The room was really nice and spacious. The swimming pool looks inviting but we did not use it.

When checking in we got an invitation to the nightly wine and cheese social and it was great, we met a bunch of really nice people. A very nice touch that others could learn from.

We went out for supper at Cecil's New Orleans Bistro, just up the street (on the second floor). Awesome food.

The included full breakfast was great with a good selection of everything and good seating.

Room Tip: We had a room in one of the buildings in the back (I assume a newer section) on the second floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
2.4 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
70 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
61 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn

Address: 701 Redwood Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Price Range: $134 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Humboldt House Hotel Garberville
Best Western Humboldt Hotel
Best Western Garberville
Garberville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing