We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway to Avenue of the Giants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed one night on our way to the Northern California redwoods. Garberville is at the southern entrance to the Avenue of the Giants, the beginning of our coastal redwood experience. This hotel provided good, basic lodging, friendly staff, a good free continental breakfast, and a nice free wine tasting/happy hour. Garberville itself is a bit run down, and it was difficult to find a good restaurant for dinner. So it was nice having the reliable Best Western Plus experience for lodging.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marksleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 943 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice place, impressed with the little things that turn a stay from mundane to pleasant. Good soaps and shampoos, clean, well-maintained room, larger than expected. Soft, ample towels. The free breakfast had a large variety of items, and unlike many other breakfasts I've experienced, well-stocked and frequently re-stocked. Waffles, omelets, cereals, fruit, etc. Close to most of the attractions. Will stay here again next time we're traveling.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DC_Padrin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stopped for a shower and a nap on our way through Garberville. I didnt expect much but i was pleasantly suprised. Great Bath and Body Works soaps and shampoos. Great comfy beds with clean white linens all around. Very cute and updated rooms. Just really clean all around. They have a free wine and cheese reception in the evenings and free breakfast. Would recommend this place to anyone. And they do accept dogs even though we didnt bring ours that time...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mntnf0lk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A one-night stop on our journey north. Garberville is much smaller than it appears from the road map but the hotel is surprisingly large.

Our room was excellent with two comfortable Queen beds, good toiletries in the bathroom, with large bars of soap and ample towels all go to show a hotel with a good attitude to their guests.

There was a secluded balcony which we didn’t have the opportunity to use and free internet access. Coffee pots in reception were welcome (there is an in-room coffee machine).

Every night (365 days a year, the hostess told me) they serve complimentary wine and cheese from 5.30pm till 7pm. If you like cheese then it could make an alternative dinner because as well as several cheeses there was bread, nibbles, and bowl of sweet grapes as well as a choice of red or white wine. Not a tasting measure but a full glass. Notice says guests are limited to three glasses.

If you want to eat out there’s little choice on a Sunday night. The Italian steak, pasta and pizza place on the same lot was serving only pizza on Sunday night.

As well as the wine & cheese service there were other nice touches such as many paper towel dispensers around the car park to clean windows of moisture from the sea mists. We were impressed by the details of local history and photographs in the booklet in the room folder produced by the hotel owners.

Breakfast (included in price) was a cut above the norm.

All together a good nights stay. I have no criticisms so a ‘5 star’ marking in the chain hotel category from me.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LondonPontac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for the 4th time and it was just as enjoyable as our last. We do an annual 2 week road trip and our stay at the Humboldt House Inn is what I look forward to. We always feel comfortable and safe here. We miss the wine and cheese this time....got stuck in traffic coming from San Franscico. The breakfast in the morning was the best that we had out of our trip.
Mini omelettes and sausage patties, biscuits and gravy and then all the usuall items....hot and cold cereals, waffles, hard boiled eggs....lots of variety.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leann604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. We like a 2-sink bathroom set up with good quality toiletries. The wine and cheese was a pleasant surprise at the end of the day and our hostess was very friendly. Breakfast was well done as well. The beds were comfortable. Well located to visit the redwoods.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruitofthevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms, enough space. Free cheese, toast and wine was great. Chardonnay was a good wine and it was free, extra service of Best Western.
To bad that you can smoke (pot) on your balcony, we were stoned too.
Overall, it was a good place to stay on our way to Napa.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irma_en_edwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
2.4 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
70 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
61 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn

Address: 701 Redwood Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Price Range: $134 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Humboldt House Hotel Garberville
Best Western Humboldt Hotel
Best Western Garberville
Garberville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing