We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Benbow Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Garberville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Pacifica, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had Valentines Day dinner at the restaurant. There was a bit of a wait (15 min. or so) even though we had reservations. The food, for the most part was very good. We decided to have salads and appetizers instead of a full meal. We had the deconstructed spring roll salad and the warm spinach salad - both of which were excellent. The petit lobster tail was equally as good but the crab cakes were a total disappointment (tasted like fish sticks). We also had the baby surf and turf. The steak was amazingly tender and the prawns were very moist and flavorful. The dessert was a bit of a disappointment (apple/pear crisp - ala mode). However, overall we enjoyed our meal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank hemiadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    70
    31
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Historic Institution”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stopped here for lunch on our way through the area. With a mid week stop the lunch was served in the bar and they did have a good sized menu. We had a BLT sandwich and a bowl of soup which we shared. Both were excellent and the BLT came with a large salad. The meals were not overly expensive in today's world and the setting was intriguing. They had some good beers on tap and we would love to return again if we travel through this area. Our server was excellent and able to provide us with information about the area and was a very congenial individual.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oregon_Coast_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stop for Lunch”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on the way to the bay area. It was a beautiful winter day with spring-like temperatures. We dined on the lovely outdoor terrace, with blooming geraniums and kumquat trees. Very clean and the service was friendly and attentive. Nice menu selection. The golden beet soup was delicious. Salads fresh and also yummy. We will return!

Helpful?
2 Thank MistyFog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Excellent menu regardless of what you order! Everything is very well prepared, not over done, cooked to perfection. Breakfast or dinner you will never be disappointed here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dusters34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elegance in the Redwoods”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great menu, enthusiastic chef. All meals were much appreciated. Fresh fish was available and excellent pastries.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benbow Inn Restaurant also viewed

Garberville, Humboldt County
Garberville, Humboldt County
 
Garberville, Humboldt County
Garberville, Humboldt County
 
Garberville, Humboldt County
Garberville, Humboldt County
 

Been to Benbow Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing