We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean charming and great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eel River Cafe

Eel River Cafe
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Garberville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Clean charming and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Garberville, in southern Humboldt County, is a short strip of downtown. Off 101 at one end and back on at the other. We had breakfast here. The place is decorated with black and white cow collections. There's a counter or booths. Though its very small town, the folks were real friendly. My hubby had a stack of buttermilk pancakes. I had poached eggs with the chicken apple sausages. Both were generous portions, nicely presented and very tasty. Friendly service, clean and good food...what else could you ask for?!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    37
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
228 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“This is it in Garberville for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

When in Garberville or passing through, this is a really good choice for breakfast.
We ate here twice while staying at the Benbow Inn.
Family owned and run; the usual American breakfast stuff done well, produced rapidly,
served well and at rational, reasonable prices.

I'm pretty sure they are open at lunchtime but we did not eat lunch here.

Do not hesitate to go here for breakfast (unless you require an espresso!).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nurealam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The place was full when we walked in, but something told us to stay. It was soooooo worth the wait. A truly fabulous breakfast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The 600-mile pancakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Oh, my, the Eel River Cafe again. We were on our annual R&R trip to the Redwoods and, of course, the Eel River Cafe is a must for breakfast. The buttermilk pancakes are well worth our driving 600 miles from home for, hence the title of the review. Everything is great, just like last year and Shirley still serves up everything with a pleasant smile and a big pot of steaming coffee. Don't be in a hurry, this is not fast food. Anyway, it's great to just sit, relax and watch the passing scene out the big windows. When you are in Redwood Country, this is a "don't miss".

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy Brekkie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have a great breakfast here! I had the Eggs Benedict, my wife, who does not eat meat had their veggie version -- poached eggs with avocado, tomato and spinach. The eggs were very nicely cooked. The Hollandaise was, perhaps, a tad to vinegary. The service was excellent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyKeogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eel River Cafe also viewed

Garberville, Humboldt County
Garberville, Humboldt County
 
Garberville, Humboldt County
Garberville, Humboldt County
 
Garberville, Humboldt County
Garberville, Humboldt County
 

Been to Eel River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing