We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Getaway In N. California”
Review of Benbow KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garberville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benbow KOA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway In N. California”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Excellent service and food. We've stayed almost every June for the last 10 years, and we love the Benbow. I have also stayed at the campground/RV park next door, and it's top notch as well. They are putting in some small cabins for travelers. Friendly, attentive staff, Maggie in the dining room is a GEM! June, 2013 sees upgrades all around--very nice! Your pleasurable stay is their top priority. The 2 times I've had minor issues, they have taken care of them immediately!

Room Tip: No TV is a plus! Step back in time and enjoy the simplicity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
24
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Benbow Inn has beautiful grounds in a beautiful setting. It would just be a little more perfect if it was not accented with the noise from the highway that it sits right next to.. The building is very old and for the history buff is probably a joy to tour. To go along with the age of this hotel is the fact that there is no elevator. For those staying on the third floor like us, and some the second, the trek to your room can be a workout in itself. The staff are friendly and will assist with carrying bags to your room. We were here for a training that my husband was attending so I was left on my own for two days. Let me say, thank goodness for wifi. There are no tv's in the rooms, the closest town with anything decent for shopping is at least an hour away. All in all this hotel was not for us. If you are looking for a quite getaway, enjoy nature and historical buildings you may enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTBokor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The building is 80 years old and the public areas and restaurant are quite lovely esp. if you like old architecture. The exterior of the building and patio area have a rather run down look.

We checked in on Friday afternoon Memorial Day weekend and were welcomed by hammering and sawing sounds. When we had made our reservation no one mentioned that the Inn was under construction. We were escorted upstairs through the 2nd floor construction site to our room on the 3rd floor. Our room's renovation was complete and the room was small, average with a very small bathroom and lots of dust from the ongoing construction one floor below.

We went straight to the on-site bar to drown our disappointment, where we had a difficult time getting the bartender's attention as he was busy visiting and sharing details about his new hot young girlfriend with the locals and construction crew (who had thankfully just ended their work for the weekend).

We then spoke to the front desk staff about our concerns and disappointment. The staff was super friendly, un-surprised and responsive. We were offered an upgrade for a nominal fee to a much larger Terrace Room (outside the main building) where hallways also showed evidence of construction work... obviously a work in progress. Our Terrace Room's renovation was complete and the room was large, average, dark like a cave, with a few nice antique pieces.

Our dinner that evening and breakfast the next morning in the hotel restaurant were very good and the service was very good as well.

I recommend visiting the Benbow Inn if you are in the area for a meal and/or drink in a nice setting. I felt the lodging was quite expensive for very average rooms and so would not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxtrotfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A few

years ago this was an excellent RV park. Not so now. The location is great for travelers on 101, on a river and has a nice little nine hole golf course, but the grounds have been neglected, more and more RV's are long term and many small cabins have been added.
We pd $3 for a small dog and that is OK but were really upset to find the dog off lease dog pen to be so full of fox tails that it was unusable.
We will not stay at Benbow again and that is disappointing .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FivestarRVer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice... in a rather old-fashioned way. The staff are very friendly. Good bar and wine list. The restaurant was a real hit and miss though. Breakfast was good. Dinner was below expectation. The caesar salad was terrific; the seafood curry was very low on flavour; the duck confit was unlike any duck confit we have ever tasted! The attraction of this hotel is the great location near to the Avenue of the Giants, which is an unmissable experience. Go for the simple food options and you will be fine!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We love the Benbow Inn. Beautiful relaxing place to stay. Wonderful food and excellent service. Best place we ever stayed for old world charm. The price a little expensive, though we got a good deal as we checked in late in the evening. Because of the expense don't know if we would stay again. But would highly recommend to others who don't mind spending the money.

Room Tip: We stayed on bottom floor #102. Freshly remodeled and quiet close to river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a most pleasant experience when we stayed at the Benbow Valley RV Park. Talk about relaxing! All of the spaces had green grass and some of the staff live there so it felt safe even though you are out in the woods! It was so quiet at night and all of the amenities were in perfect working condition. RV park guests just have to walk down a short trail to get to the historic hotel where they have the best restaurant with exceptional food! We loved the salads!! At 3:00pm, RV park and hotel guests are treated to homemade, warm out of the oven lemon-currant scones and hot english breakfast tea in the hotel lobby - YUM! The staff was wonderful, conversational, helpful and gave us a ride back in a golf cart after dinner one night. The bar was delightfully rustic with happy hour specials and a fireplace going - logs on the fire baby! Oh yea and the hotel lobby has a wood burning fireplace too, with board games for all to enjoy and an outdoor patio overlooking the river. Each day we exercised our dogs at the river. What a genuine treasure this stop was. We will go back. OH, and talk about sight seeing - besides the redwoods, experience small town americana for hippies in the next town, Garberville! The scenery is breathtaking everywhere you look - even in town. The bus picked us up in the RV park and we were in Garberville within 7 minutes. We walked through the town, thoroughly enjoying the cafes and grocery store, shopping and talking to the locals. For a hoot - check out the Hemp store!! The staff at the RV park are so down to earth and the showers were warm, clean and large. Love this place, thank you everyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
0.2 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
5.2 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benbow KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbow KOA

Property: Benbow KOA
Address: 7000 Benbow Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3603
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Garberville
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benbow KOA offers full hook-ups, pull-through RV sites with cable TV, tent sites, 7 luxury Park Model Cabins, 9-hole golf course, putting green, pool, Jacuzzi, splash park, playground, kid's train ride, sport-court, clubhouse, general store, WiFi and 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Benbow Hotel And Resort, Rv Resort
Benbow Hotel & Resort, Rv Garberville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing