We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Benbow Historic Inn
Nearby Hotels
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garberville Motel(Garberville)
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn of the Lost Coast(Shelter Cove)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveler rating
410
195
79
38
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
195
79
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesterrace roomeel riverstone bridgedecanter of sherrygolf courseno elevatorantique furnitureoverlooking the rivernice patioredwood countrylawn areastep back in timeavenue of giantsmain buildingstate parkking bed
Filter
Updating list...
391 - 396 of 747 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at the Benbow Inn 34 years ago. Looking for a destination for New Year's Eve, we found an excellent package at the Benbow Inn. It has the feel of a European country inn. The décor is charming and the food is excellent. A three day stay felt like a long vacation, a great place to relax, explore the redwoods, partake in afternoon tea and scones and they put on an excellent New Year's Eve dinner and party.

Room Tip: We brought our dog along. We had a lovely room at the corner of the building on the ground floor, making it easy to take the dog out.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Jean B,

Thank you for choosing Benbow Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed our New Year's Ever dinner party. We appreciate your 5 star review and hope that we may welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I went there for 3 nights after Christmas to explore the Humboldt Redwood State Park and the Inn is a nice place, but they try to sell themselves as something special and they really are not. It seemed that older people really enjoyed it more, not sure why. The rooms were clean and its really quiet there, so you'll get a good night sleep. The breakfast was also very good and the service was outstanding.
But the bar was overpriced and so was the restaurant and I am not even sensitive to prices.
Overall I would say it is a good choice for a stay, but don't get your expectations up too much. Going to the Humboldt State Park takes you about 25 minutes drive, so it is acceptable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Michaela M,

Thank you for choosing Benbow Historic Inn. We are glad you got to enjoy our clean and quiet rooms. Sorry about the food and bar prices. We appreciate your feedback and hope that we may welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stay at the Benbow Inn several times a year and all I can say is that the owners have got it just right. The hotel is beautiful and perfectly appointed in period decor, neither fussy nor pretentious, but comfortable and inviting. The rooms are perfectly furnished and quiet, the lobby and public areas are warm and inviting, and the bar is what a bar should be, with a fireplace, piano, and great service. The restaurant never fails to please, and during summer months, dining on the patio is incomparable. And, the setting, in the redwoods along the Eel River in nothing short of magnificent.

When I say the owners have got it right, I mean that a guest feels like a guest in the home of a wealthy friend. We love the decanter of sherry in the rooms, the easy chairs in the rooms and public areas, the books and puzzles, the afternoon tea and scones, and the large fireplace in the lobby. The service is warm, helpful, and friendly without being cloying or pretentious. When the odd issue arises, the staff takes care of it immediately without making you feel that they are either put out or doing you a favor. The cost is affordable and if The Benbow were located in a metropolitan area would be much more expensive, thus making it a bargain.

Of all the places we've traveled, The Benbow is our favorite hotel and is the place we turn to when we need a quiet and relaxing few days to decompress and rejuvenate. This is without doubt (in my opinion) the most wonderful hotel in the world. There are fancier and more "luxurious" hotels but none more comfortable, welcoming or beautiful.

Our only request: It seems that the trademark "Archer" is being replaced by a "B" and I hate to see that happening.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeatswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear yeatswan,

Thank you for continually choosing Benbow! We appreciate your 5 star review. We will take what you said about the "B" and the "Archer" into consideration. Thank you for the feedback, we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is the 5 or 6th time my brother and I have stayed at the Benbow Inn over the past 14 years. We arrived a few days after Christmas and the inside and outside of the Inn are beautifully decorated with a magnificant Christmas tree in the lobby. There is a teddy bear theme, at all times of the year. You see teddy bears in the corners wearing red bows, and bears under the tree, dressed in nighgowns. There is a fireplace in the lobby. We sat for hours in the lobby, just gazing at all the beauty.
We've always stayed in the historical building. The rooms are unique, with antique furniture. There is a small decanter of sherry on the desk.
The people who work there are genuinely nice and go out of their way to be helpful.
We had dinner at the Inn and the food was exellent. They now have a vegan menu, in addition to the regular menu, which I liked.
We love it here and didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountain49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Mountain49,

Thank you for choosing Benbow Inn continually for 14 years! We are glad that you got a chance to see our holiday decor. We appreciate your 5 star review and hope that we may welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I first went to the Benbow about 26 years ago. We were married there and have returned periodically over the years. The staff are kind and accommodating and we always feel truly welcomed by them and the owners. Dinner on the terrace, on a warm summer evening, is a treat! The ambience is SO pleasant and the food is amazing! Who knew there was such a GEM in Garberville?!

Room Tip: The "Historic" part of the Inn is beautiful and very special. The newer rooms are very nice but don't have the quaint feel of the other rooms. If you NEED a TV, go to the newer rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizaBragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear LizaBragg,

Thank you for choosing Benbow over and over again. It is an honor that you let Benbow be a part of your big day. We are glad that after 26 years you still enjoy Benbow. We appreciate your 5 star review and hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews