We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Inn in an area with few good choices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benbow Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Inn in an area with few good choices”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I went there for 3 nights after Christmas to explore the Humboldt Redwood State Park and the Inn is a nice place, but they try to sell themselves as something special and they really are not. It seemed that older people really enjoyed it more, not sure why. The rooms were clean and its really quiet there, so you'll get a good night sleep. The breakfast was also very good and the service was outstanding.
But the bar was overpriced and so was the restaurant and I am not even sensitive to prices.
Overall I would say it is a good choice for a stay, but don't get your expectations up too much. Going to the Humboldt State Park takes you about 25 minutes drive, so it is acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Michaela M,

Thank you for choosing Benbow Historic Inn. We are glad you got to enjoy our clean and quiet rooms. Sorry about the food and bar prices. We appreciate your feedback and hope that we may welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    176
    70
    35
    23
See reviews for
130
421
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stay at the Benbow Inn several times a year and all I can say is that the owners have got it just right. The hotel is beautiful and perfectly appointed in period decor, neither fussy nor pretentious, but comfortable and inviting. The rooms are perfectly furnished and quiet, the lobby and public areas are warm and inviting, and the bar is what a bar should be, with a fireplace, piano, and great service. The restaurant never fails to please, and during summer months, dining on the patio is incomparable. And, the setting, in the redwoods along the Eel River in nothing short of magnificent.

When I say the owners have got it right, I mean that a guest feels like a guest in the home of a wealthy friend. We love the decanter of sherry in the rooms, the easy chairs in the rooms and public areas, the books and puzzles, the afternoon tea and scones, and the large fireplace in the lobby. The service is warm, helpful, and friendly without being cloying or pretentious. When the odd issue arises, the staff takes care of it immediately without making you feel that they are either put out or doing you a favor. The cost is affordable and if The Benbow were located in a metropolitan area would be much more expensive, thus making it a bargain.

Of all the places we've traveled, The Benbow is our favorite hotel and is the place we turn to when we need a quiet and relaxing few days to decompress and rejuvenate. This is without doubt (in my opinion) the most wonderful hotel in the world. There are fancier and more "luxurious" hotels but none more comfortable, welcoming or beautiful.

Our only request: It seems that the trademark "Archer" is being replaced by a "B" and I hate to see that happening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeatswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear yeatswan,

Thank you for continually choosing Benbow! We appreciate your 5 star review. We will take what you said about the "B" and the "Archer" into consideration. Thank you for the feedback, we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is the 5 or 6th time my brother and I have stayed at the Benbow Inn over the past 14 years. We arrived a few days after Christmas and the inside and outside of the Inn are beautifully decorated with a magnificant Christmas tree in the lobby. There is a teddy bear theme, at all times of the year. You see teddy bears in the corners wearing red bows, and bears under the tree, dressed in nighgowns. There is a fireplace in the lobby. We sat for hours in the lobby, just gazing at all the beauty.
We've always stayed in the historical building. The rooms are unique, with antique furniture. There is a small decanter of sherry on the desk.
The people who work there are genuinely nice and go out of their way to be helpful.
We had dinner at the Inn and the food was exellent. They now have a vegan menu, in addition to the regular menu, which I liked.
We love it here and didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountain49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Mountain49,

Thank you for choosing Benbow Inn continually for 14 years! We are glad that you got a chance to see our holiday decor. We appreciate your 5 star review and hope that we may welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I first went to the Benbow about 26 years ago. We were married there and have returned periodically over the years. The staff are kind and accommodating and we always feel truly welcomed by them and the owners. Dinner on the terrace, on a warm summer evening, is a treat! The ambience is SO pleasant and the food is amazing! Who knew there was such a GEM in Garberville?!

Room Tip: The "Historic" part of the Inn is beautiful and very special. The newer rooms are very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaBragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear LizaBragg,

Thank you for choosing Benbow over and over again. It is an honor that you let Benbow be a part of your big day. We are glad that after 26 years you still enjoy Benbow. We appreciate your 5 star review and hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Ten of us celebrated Thanksgiving at the Benbow Inn. Some of us chose to stay at the Benbow RV Park in their new cottages and that way we could bring our dogs. The cottages are cozy and have everything you need. The furnace is loud but no big deal. The restaurant has excellent food and the Chef comes out to say hi after dinner. Wonderful fireplace and lounge where people gather to do puzzles, read and relax. We plan to go back to experience it in the summer. Gets booked up so book early!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLife2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear 2009Pebbles

We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed Thanksgiving with us at the Benbow Inn and Benbow RV. On behalf of us all, we would like to thank you for your comments about your accommodations, our restaurant and your overall experience while relaxing for the holidays. Thank you for the 5 star review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming your family back this summer to the Benbow Inn.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Birthday weekend getaway ... we had a wonderful time it was Beautiful everywhere we went from the room to the dining area it was truly amazing with excellent service .. we are looking forward to going back soon :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Fernanda & Layne,

Thank you for choosing the Benbow Inn for your birthday weekend. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your accommodations, our restaurant and the overall Benbow experience. Thank you for the 5 star review! We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was our second stay at Benbow Inn. We love the ambiance of the original historic building and appreciate the antiques both in the lobby and in the rooms. The first time we stayed in a "petite queen" which was fine for an overnight stay. The second time we planned on staying longer and treated ourselves to the premium king room which had two large windows letting in lots of light, a large screen TV, a refrigerator, and even room enough for two yoga mats. My husband loved the decanter of sherry in our room, and we both thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary tea in the lobby from 3 to 4. The scones were heavenly, better than we've had on our last few visits to England. On our visit last year, we enjoyed using the hotel's bicycles, free of charge. On our recent visit, however, we only saw one bicycle available. We have really enjoyed our stay both times and will return. It is great staying in the redwoods, yet still close enough to Ferndale and Eureka to visit for the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Maureen J:

Thank you for choosing the Benbow Inn for your return trip to the Redwoods. We are truly delighted that you were pleased with your accommodations and were able to enjoy our restaurant and afternoon tea. On nice days the bicycles do tend to go quickly. We appreciate your feedback and 5 star rating and look forward to seeing you again soon on your next trip to the area.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
15.2 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
5.2 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Benbow Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbow Historic Inn

Property: Benbow Historic Inn
Address: 445 Lake Benbow Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benbow Historic Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1926. 55 Recently renovated rooms. On the National Register of Historic Places. Member of Historic Hotels of America. A beautiful country inn with fine dining serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Outdoor dining available in the summer. Next to Benbow KOA featuring golf, gas-powered carts and putting green. Located on the Eel River in the heart of the redwoods near the entrance to the Avenue of the Giants. Benbow Historic Inn is your California Redwood Retreat. Amenities include daily complimentary tea & scones, free lobby newspapers & WiFi, in room sherry & coffee, complimentary bicycles, seasonal pool & Jacuzzi, splash park, sport court, playground, meeting space, wedding venue, hiking & biking trails abound. A must see at the Benbow Exit 636 off US Highway 101. 199 Miles north of San Francisco in Southern Humboldt County. Numerous music and art festivals during summer months. Up to two (2) pets are allowed in our pet designated rooms, pending availability. The Benbow Historic Inn charges a $30 pet fee per visit. Those planning to bring furry companions MUST speak with a Front Desk Agent prior to making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Benbow Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benbow Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing