We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Benbow Historic Inn
Nearby Hotels
$140
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garberville Motel(Garberville)
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Country Inn(Fortuna)(Great Value!)
$103
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn of the Lost Coast(Shelter Cove)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveler rating
406
195
79
38
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
195
79
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesterrace roomeel riverstone bridgedecanter of sherrygolf courseno elevatorantique furnitureoverlooking the rivernice patioredwood countrylawn areastep back in timeavenue of giantsmain buildingstate parkking bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 743 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Ten of us celebrated Thanksgiving at the Benbow Inn. Some of us chose to stay at the Benbow RV Park in their new cottages and that way we could bring our dogs. The cottages are cozy and have everything you need. The furnace is loud but no big deal. The restaurant has excellent food and the Chef comes out to say hi after dinner. Wonderful fireplace and lounge where people gather to do puzzles, read and relax. We plan to go back to experience it in the summer. Gets booked up so book early!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLife2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear 2009Pebbles

We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed Thanksgiving with us at the Benbow Inn and Benbow RV. On behalf of us all, we would like to thank you for your comments about your accommodations, our restaurant and your overall experience while relaxing for the holidays. Thank you for the 5 star review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming your family back this summer to the Benbow Inn.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Birthday weekend getaway ... we had a wonderful time it was Beautiful everywhere we went from the room to the dining area it was truly amazing with excellent service .. we are looking forward to going back soon :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Fernanda & Layne,

Thank you for choosing the Benbow Inn for your birthday weekend. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your accommodations, our restaurant and the overall Benbow experience. Thank you for the 5 star review! We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was our second stay at Benbow Inn. We love the ambiance of the original historic building and appreciate the antiques both in the lobby and in the rooms. The first time we stayed in a "petite queen" which was fine for an overnight stay. The second time we planned on staying longer and treated ourselves to the premium king room which had two large windows letting in lots of light, a large screen TV, a refrigerator, and even room enough for two yoga mats. My husband loved the decanter of sherry in our room, and we both thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary tea in the lobby from 3 to 4. The scones were heavenly, better than we've had on our last few visits to England. On our visit last year, we enjoyed using the hotel's bicycles, free of charge. On our recent visit, however, we only saw one bicycle available. We have really enjoyed our stay both times and will return. It is great staying in the redwoods, yet still close enough to Ferndale and Eureka to visit for the day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Maureen J:

Thank you for choosing the Benbow Inn for your return trip to the Redwoods. We are truly delighted that you were pleased with your accommodations and were able to enjoy our restaurant and afternoon tea. On nice days the bicycles do tend to go quickly. We appreciate your feedback and 5 star rating and look forward to seeing you again soon on your next trip to the area.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a weekend getaway that we touted, "No Alarms, No Excuses!! Fall 2013," and the Benbow Inn did not disappoint. There was a special event at the Inn during our stay. The event was well run, and the service and hors doeuvres were great. Our room was very comfortable with a nice view of the bridge and fall colors. The robes are a nice touch. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the Inn and both meals were good. All staff the we contacted were friendly and helpful. Would love to go back for a rainy weekend and spend it in the lobby with a book in front of the fireplace on the sofa. Great stay!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JanisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear JanisTravels:

Thank you for choosing the Benbow Inn for your "No alarms, no excuses" getaway. We are pleased that you were able to kick back, relax, and found that the atmosphere here: fall colors, views, and robes were just what you needed to accomplish your mini vacation. Excellent news that you were able to attend an event, enjoyed some hors d'oeuvres and found our staff pleasant. We definitely would love to have you back for a good book read by the fireplace. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My Husband and I finally spent the night here and we are looking forward to the next time. It is a charming step back in time that is perfectly situated overlooking a river and halfway between S.F. and our home in Oregon. You'd be missing out if you didn't take advantage of this beautiful and historic Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artist26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Artist26,

Thank you for choosing the Benbow Inn for your stop between homes. We appreciate your comments and feedback about your stay and thank you for the 5 star rating. We hope you choose us again on the way back to San Francisco.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews