We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fernanda & Layne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Benbow Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Birthday weekend getaway ... we had a wonderful time it was Beautiful everywhere we went from the room to the dining area it was truly amazing with excellent service .. we are looking forward to going back soon :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Fernanda & Layne,

Thank you for choosing the Benbow Inn for your birthday weekend. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your accommodations, our restaurant and the overall Benbow experience. Thank you for the 5 star review! We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 729 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was our second stay at Benbow Inn. We love the ambiance of the original historic building and appreciate the antiques both in the lobby and in the rooms. The first time we stayed in a "petite queen" which was fine for an overnight stay. The second time we planned on staying longer and treated ourselves to the premium king room which had two large windows letting in lots of light, a large screen TV, a refrigerator, and even room enough for two yoga mats. My husband loved the decanter of sherry in our room, and we both thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary tea in the lobby from 3 to 4. The scones were heavenly, better than we've had on our last few visits to England. On our visit last year, we enjoyed using the hotel's bicycles, free of charge. On our recent visit, however, we only saw one bicycle available. We have really enjoyed our stay both times and will return. It is great staying in the redwoods, yet still close enough to Ferndale and Eureka to visit for the day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Maureen J:

Thank you for choosing the Benbow Inn for your return trip to the Redwoods. We are truly delighted that you were pleased with your accommodations and were able to enjoy our restaurant and afternoon tea. On nice days the bicycles do tend to go quickly. We appreciate your feedback and 5 star rating and look forward to seeing you again soon on your next trip to the area.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a weekend getaway that we touted, "No Alarms, No Excuses!! Fall 2013," and the Benbow Inn did not disappoint. There was a special event at the Inn during our stay. The event was well run, and the service and hors doeuvres were great. Our room was very comfortable with a nice view of the bridge and fall colors. The robes are a nice touch. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the Inn and both meals were good. All staff the we contacted were friendly and helpful. Would love to go back for a rainy weekend and spend it in the lobby with a book in front of the fireplace on the sofa. Great stay!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JanisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear JanisTravels:

Thank you for choosing the Benbow Inn for your "No alarms, no excuses" getaway. We are pleased that you were able to kick back, relax, and found that the atmosphere here: fall colors, views, and robes were just what you needed to accomplish your mini vacation. Excellent news that you were able to attend an event, enjoyed some hors d'oeuvres and found our staff pleasant. We definitely would love to have you back for a good book read by the fireplace. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My Husband and I finally spent the night here and we are looking forward to the next time. It is a charming step back in time that is perfectly situated overlooking a river and halfway between S.F. and our home in Oregon. You'd be missing out if you didn't take advantage of this beautiful and historic Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artist26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Artist26,

Thank you for choosing the Benbow Inn for your stop between homes. We appreciate your comments and feedback about your stay and thank you for the 5 star rating. We hope you choose us again on the way back to San Francisco.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We happened upon the Benbow Inn after dark, after the town we had planned to stay in had no rooms available. We were driving through Redwoods with no clue where we were going. We came upon the Benbow and decided to try our luck. What a charming discovery! We got an excellent rate and entered a room with antique furnishings and a decanter of sherry on the dresser. The next morning we wandered down to an excellent breakfast on the patio. If you are lucky enough to stay at the Benbow, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Emimee,

Thank you for "happening upon us in the dark" at the Benbow Inn. We are pleased that you found your room to be relaxing and the decanter of sherry at the end of your day to be just what you needed. We are happy that you enjoyed your breakfast as well. We appreciate your 5 star rating and feedback. We do hope to see you again the next time you are traveling through the area.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Benbow Inn is a historic In. Dating from 1926, so do not expect your normal hotel. It is just off highway 101, so perfectly located if you have spent the day visiting The Avenue of the Giants and heading towards the South. My husband and I found the property to be extremely well maintained, the staff especially in the dining room to be very professional and our room was very clean. The common areas are fun and the hotel provides numerous games, puzzles and croquet to entertain guests. There is a very simple 9 hole golf course, a swimming pool in the RV park that is owned by the hotel next door and full 24 hour laundry facilities, as well as bikes for guests to use and a beach/swimming down By the Eel river that flows along the property. We upgraded to a lovely terrace room which was newly decorated. It had a small sitting area, antique furniture, flat screen T.V and a very comfortable bed with nice bedding. The bedroom had its own little terrace with 4 chairs and a table, overlooking the manicured garden, Eel River and stone bridge. The bathroom was very small, the shower was problematic but apart from a mouldy shower curtain it was very clean. There was a decanter of free sherry on the coffee table. The hotel provides free scones and tea from 3 to 4 p.m. We arrived at 4 p.m and asked the front desk if they could leave them out longer. They gladly did so. Take advantage of Happy Hour from 4 to 6 p.m Monday through Friday. We ordered a couple of glasses of wine and took them back to our terrace, which was very pleasant. We had dinner in the dining room which was superb but pricey. Contrary to the reviews I had read, guests do not have to dress up for dinner. In fact I was the only woman wearing a dress. I had the shrimps in Pernod sauce and my his husband had the scallop and shrimp curry, which was huge. I highly recommend both.
We very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace room and get there in time for the scones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exploraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear exploraToronto,

Thank you for choosing the Benbow Inn and Restaurant for your dining experience. We are delighted you were able to enjoy your meal and dessert. We appreciate the 5 star review and comments. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for choosing the Benbow Inn and Restaurant.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This Inn was recommended to us and we are so glad to discover it. We had a terrific room on the corner which afforded us beautiful views of the grounds and river beyond. The arrived at tea time and enjoyed a lovely pot of tea and the best scones I've ever had. The service both at reception and in the dining room at breakfast was great. We'll be back again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Shineola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Shineola,

Thank you for choosing the Benbow Hotel for your trip to Northern California. We are super pleased that you enjoyed the afternoon tea and had our best scones ever. Thank you even more for the 5 star review. We appreciate your comments and hope you will visit us again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
15.2 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
5.3 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
71 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Benbow Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbow Historic Inn

Address: 445 Lake Benbow Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Price Range: $154 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Benbow Historic Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1926. 55 Recently renovated rooms. On the National Register of Historic Places. Member of Historic Hotels of America. A beautiful country inn with fine dining serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Outdoor dining available in the summer. Next to Benbow KOA featuring golf, gas-powered carts and putting green. Located on the Eel River in the heart of the redwoods near the entrance to the Avenue of the Giants. Benbow Historic Inn is your California Redwood Retreat. Amenities include daily complimentary tea & scones, free lobby newspapers & WiFi, in room sherry & coffee, complimentary bicycles, seasonal pool & Jacuzzi, splash park, sport court, playground, meeting space, wedding venue, hiking & biking trails abound. A must see at the Benbow Exit 636 off US Highway 101. 199 Miles north of San Francisco in Southern Humboldt County. Numerous music and art festivals during summer months. Up to two (2) pets are allowed in our pet designated rooms, pending availability. The Benbow Historic Inn charges a $30 pet fee per visit. Those planning to bring furry companions MUST speak with a Front Desk Agent prior to making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Benbow Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benbow Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing