We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of a kind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benbow Historic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Benbow Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“One of a kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is really special. The rooms, views and grounds are lovely. The restaurant is good , although I agree somewhat overpriced. Only wish we could've stayed longer- loved sitting on the patio enjoying the view.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EatGrOwLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    172
    68
    33
    23
See reviews for
128
410
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bonita, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This historic property is a delightful treat for the eyes. The large lounge and lobby have antiques and tastefully worn carpets and are the site for scones and tea in the afternoon. A pub-like bar serves excellent Margaritas and features a large, often-lit fireplace. Food in the restaurant was excellent. There is a large patio overlooking a river where you can enjoy a drink or read a book. You can walk along the river. I love this place for its genteel ambience, but it has a few drawbacks. You enter via a long outdoor staircase. There is no elevator. And the rooms are small. The bathroom reminded me of a ship's head--no spare space. That said, the bed was comfortable, and there was a basket of mysteries and container of sherry awaiting us. I'd return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely, historic hotel just a few miles from the Avenue of the Giants. Almost finished with an upgrade. Antiques and vintage pieces throughout, but nothing is worn out. Extensive grounds, large terrace, and porch Atmospheric restaurant with enthusiastic wait staff, new chef, and new maitre d'. Don't miss the buttermilk pancakes with chocolate chips and whipped cream...or any combo you want.

Not accessible for anyone with mobility issues--quite a many stairs. A ramp that has been there for years to help is steep and rough, and still stairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed one night at the "historic" Benbow Hotel on our way home from a trip to Oregon. I just want to provide an honest review for anyone considering this as a choice.

One initial note: This hotel is ABSOLUTELY NOT accessible, so please be aware of this. We drove in, parked, and there are 20 or so steps you have to climb to get to the lobby. There are no elevators. Back down the stairs to get to park the car, and then two more sets of steps to get to our room. To get to dinner, we walked down a hallway and then up more stairs to get to the restaurant. We did it, but if you have bad knees and certainly if you really can't manage stairs then this is not the place for you. When I inquired, they said they were adding an elevator "next year" and there were signs up saying they were doing construction to make things more comfortable for guests with disabilities. Not sure what that means.

Now for the room. It was one of the renovated rooms apparently. Small, and a little dark. Think small English hotel and you will have the idea. Small bathroom, linoleum floor, old school tiled shower with just enough room to turn around. But the bed was comfortable.

Dinner was good in the restaurant, but it was a $32 pork chop...so you get the drift. The terrace is a lovely place to have a drink before dinner. I assume they will be providing service during the summer. They weren't quite "open" for the season when we were there.

If you love historic "inns" you might like this place. Just keep in mind the fact that you will be climbing a lot of stairs to do so. And don't expect modern amenties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLCCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My family and I went to the Benbow Inn for some drinks and appetizers last night. We had Chris as our waitress in the bar. She was GREAT! We have had her before and she always takes care of us and gives us great service. I hope she stays at the Benbow and gets a raise because most places in the area have a horrible servers. If you keep her around we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XJohn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortNo_California, Owner at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding Chris your server. We will share your comments with her and we agree with you that she is one of our many great employees. We are located in a rural area of Northern California and finding quality employees is always a challenge. We do hope you return and appreciate your positive review of our business. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were graced with the amazing gift of having our wedding reception and overnight stay at the Benbow Inn. Camille the, event coordinator, was very helpful with assisting us in making sure we covered all of our needs leading up to our big day. The communication was open and timely.

The Inn itself is such a great place to relax and enjoy the stillness of nature. The decor and building is like walking back in time to an era of comfort, relaxation and intimicay. It was exactly what we wanted to create for ourselves and our guests.

The wedding food, my husband and I heard (ha! We were in wedding fog) was AMAZING, from our friends and family members. The head chef, Mark, was such a great support in making sure we had all we needed, when we needed it. We had eaten in the bar and restaurant prior to our wedding, so we already knew the quallity of the food. We always enjoyed every experience we had there before and during our wedding.

The Honeymoon cottage was just adorable and so cosy! We loved sitting by the fire and taking a relaxing bath in the jacuzzi tub.

The place is surrounded by gorgeous nature, Redwood trees (only 15 min drive to Ave of the Giants) and a historic bridge. So, the setting is quite pleasing!

The only reason that we do not give it an entire 5 star rating is the lack of room service. The day of our wedding, we wanted a quiet breakfast in bed before our ceremony. We quickly learned that there was no room service at all when we tried to call in our breakfast. Either way, we walked right across the way over to the kitchen and picked up the food. It was no harm, really, yet it would've been nice if we been able to have it delivered to our room because we didn't want to been seen. The food was, of course, delicious tho!

Also, on another note, for the handicapped ones, there is NO ELEVATOR, so it can be difficult getting up and down the stairs. My Dad had quite a bit of difficulty with that and wore out easy.

All in all, we highly recommend this place for any large or small event you have in mind. If you're planning a wedding and are considering Benbow, we definitely give it praise!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

After having passed this hotel many times on our travels through the years we recently decided to give it a try on a trip through Northern California. Albeit, this is a hotel on the National Historic Registry and in many ways the owners are restricted as to what they can change, so that said, I will comment on our stay. Upon arrival the desk clerk was very nice and informative about the property. We had a room reserved in the Terrace Building just behind the main hotel. Access from the parking lot requires some serious bag dragging. There is a ramp from the parking lot with some doors mats that have been laid down to "smooth" the uphill access but if you have a handicap that inhibits mobility it will be a challenge. The hotel has no elevators and upon entering the Terrace Building lobby you have to be able to handle steps. The hotel has signage that says they are making modification to comply with ADA standards and advise that if you are interested in knowing what they are doing you can inquire at the front desk. The Terrace Building must be getting a paint job because the carpets had paint drippings everywhere. Quite possibly they will be upgrading the carpet in this area. The flat screen television had extremely poor reception and wasn't worth trying to watch. The dining room was probably the nicest part of the stay. While their wine list is extensive, the price of the offerings is over the top. I suggest you bring a nice bottle from a local winery and pay the $15 corkage fee. The food was prepared well and presented accordingly.
This is a property that would be OK for a once in a while visit if you are in the area but I would not recommend it to be a destination where you would spend more than one night.

Room Tip: Ask for help with your bags and be prepared for mobility restrictions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortNo_California, Owner at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your response. We appreciate all comments from our guests and specifically how their experience was. We are going through a upgrade of all interiors of our guest rooms and hallways. Carpeting, draperies, wall coverings, furniture materials, bedding, all soft goods do eventually wear out and need to be replaced. Currently we are doing exactally that. Some of the work we are completing with our own maintenance staff and some (carpets, wallcoverings & draperies) we are using independent contractors. The carpet in the Terrace Building has yet to be replaced and yes it was soiled during the preperation of the walls for the new wall coverings. Our remodeling signs were removed without my knowledge and are now back up so our guests are informed that we still have some work to do. Along with those improvements I have mentioned we are working with our cable TV company to improve our reception. Our restaurant and wine list have both received a number of recongitions over the years and prices are competitive with other similiar restaurants in our area. Historic Benbow Inn is the only full service Inn in Southern Humboldt which offers complimentary tea & scones daily, in room complimentary sherry, coffee & teas and a setting unlike any in Humboldt County. Our adjacent RV Park/Golf Course offers pool, golf, store and individual Park Models with river views. We appreciate all comments from our guests, it helps us improve our facilities and services. We look forward to your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
15.2 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
5.2 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Benbow Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbow Historic Inn

Property: Benbow Historic Inn
Address: 445 Lake Benbow Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benbow Historic Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1926. 55 Recently renovated rooms. On the National Register of Historic Places. Member of Historic Hotels of America. A beautiful country inn with fine dining serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Outdoor dining available in the summer. Next to Benbow KOA featuring golf, gas-powered carts and putting green. Located on the Eel River in the heart of the redwoods near the entrance to the Avenue of the Giants. Benbow Historic Inn is your California Redwood Retreat. Amenities include daily complimentary tea & scones, free lobby newspapers & WiFi, in room sherry & coffee, complimentary bicycles, seasonal pool & Jacuzzi, splash park, sport court, playground, meeting space, wedding venue, hiking & biking trails abound. A must see at the Benbow Exit 636 off US Highway 101. 199 Miles north of San Francisco in Southern Humboldt County. Numerous music and art festivals during summer months. Up to two (2) pets are allowed in our pet designated rooms, pending availability. The Benbow Historic Inn charges a $30 pet fee per visit. Those planning to bring furry companions MUST speak with a Front Desk Agent prior to making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Benbow Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benbow Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing