We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benbow Historic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Benbow Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Recently stayed overnight for a wedding. the reception was held on-sire & the entire hotel was booked by the wedding party/guests. Staff were freindly & helpful. Food was excellent. The room was small but well equipped & decorated. Surroundings are beautiful. right on the Eel River & close to the Humboldt Redwoods State Park.
Great place for a wedding or weekend getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    172
    68
    33
    23
See reviews for
128
410
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been going to the Benbow Inn for more than a decade now. It is a magic place, a full service grand old hotel in the middle of nowhere (although the setting in the middle of the redwoods is hardly nowhere). I always stay in the old hotel rooms--cozy and quaint without TVs overlooking the river. The hosts provide a carafe of sherry, a basket of good books and very comfortable chairs for just curling up and reading in. The wifi worked great. I love the dining room, unimaginably beautiful with old wood, old iron chandeliers, and incredible windows overlooking the river through ancient oak trees. The food is excellent. The lobby with its jigsaw puzzles, stuffed bears, fireplace and comfy couches is also special. The bar and front porch are great places for a glass of wine.

One shortcoming this time was the pillows. A room for two with a queen bed should at least include 4 pillows in my opinion--especially at the price I paid ($175/night--considerably pricier than previous years). The pillows were foam and my husband couldn't sleep with them. (Hint to management--put some softer pillows in the closet.) The shower head could be improved. If you are staying for breakfast, don't expect quick service--took them 45 minutes to deliver my bowl of oatmeal. This is okay for a leisurely vacation--but I was on business.

I will continue to come back as long as I have business in Eureka because I love this place.

Room Tip: Overlook the river rather than the driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We enjoyed our 25th wedding anniversary here in Rm 206. The staff provided us with champagne and wonderful service. The Inn's food was spectacular and the room was clean and neat with its vintage appointments. The staff was friendly and treated us professionally.

Room Tip: Try the corner rooms - smaller but better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnyhillfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have camped in this area most of my life & always wanted to stay at the Benbow. I asked when making the reservation for a quiet room away from the highway. The room was pretty with a great bathtub & view of the river BUT it is just above the kitchen. There is a BIG FAN in the kitchen window that runs until late at night & again at 6AM that kept me from sleeping. Tried to mask the noise with the heat fan but even set to cold it roasted me so bad I had to get up & open the window & turn it off. The bed was very hard so I did not get much sleep. The extra touches like the brandy in the room do not make up for the fan noise. (Found out later they have had complaints about this fan before.) Put my head under a pillow & managed to go back to sleep only to be rudely awaken by loud guests in the hallway at 7:30 AM laughing & talking like they were trying to be heard & the far river bank. I did not get a reduced room price after complaining which surprised me.
The dining room food is nice but nothing really special. The prices however make you think it will be exceptional. The wine list was extensive but WOW the prices were high. Staff was okay but I imagine gettng top notch help in Garberville would be tough. I have eaten in SF Bay area restaurants that cost less with better food. For that matter Sonoma County has great dining that rivals SF & the best wines for much less. I realize they have to truck it farther but it is not like there is any nearby competition.
So it was historically a neat building but the overall experience was poor.

Room Tip: I always try & ask the when making the reservation for as much information as I can get them to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank refereemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortNo_California, Owner at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your reply and we are sorry that your experience was not what you expected. Yes, we have a kitchen and unfortunately when the Inn was built in 1926 some rooms were built over the ktichen. There are many operational problems with a building which is 87 years old. I apologize that you were not offered a refund or discount. Please feel free to contact me at jporter@benbowinn.com and i will see that happens. Our front desk should have advised you of the location of 204 so this could have been avoided. Many of our guests do not mind the location of those rooms as they have views of the Eel River and are away from the Highway 101, but others are disturbed by the kitchen.

Regarding the prices in our restaurant. It is not our goal to try and compete with restaurants in San Francsico or other locations in the state. Our prices for both our food and wine are competitive with other similiar Humboldt County restaurants. The quality of our food is unquestionably the best in Southern Humboldt if not the entire county. Our wine list prices are competitive and we are only one of three restaurants in our county that has a Wine Spectator Award. Thank you again for your stay and I hope you contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Most rooms don't have tv but the rooms are great and going under renovations with new carpets, drapes, etc which is good since it was in need of an upgrade. There are often packages and promotions that are great if you can take advantage of them. Stay here if you are in the area-they have a restaurant and bar so you don't have to go anywhere!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cms5683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Don't expect TV's in your room...that's a good thing
The hotel built in 1926 has a historic flavor, while some rooms have been update (with TV's) many have not, but are still clean and functional though are small.
The restaurant is excellent, a little spendy but well worth it. If you want a hamburger drive into town. We had fun exploring the area and hiking nearby in the redwoods

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAP-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have passed by or stopped at the Benbow Hotel dozens of times. We have family in Humboldt area. It was a couple of days before Valentines Day but we had no problem getting a room at the last minute (it was mid-week). The staff was very friendly and helped us carry our luggage up lots of stairs! We were given a beautiful corner room on the second floor. It has a gorgeous view of the river on one side and the tree covered hill out the other. It is a historic building but very comfortable. The room was warm and cozy, and the bed, very comfortable. There is a large bathroom with a nice tub for a relaxing bubble bath. We had a glass of wine in the charming pub and then dinner in the dining room. I enjoyed the fare, but my hubby had a hard time finding something "simple". The lobby is a great place to relax by the large fireplace and In the morning there is fresh coffee. It's amazing that even though the hotel is quite isolated, it has all the charm and comfort you could want.

Room Tip: The corner queen in the original building has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
15.2 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
5.2 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Benbow Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbow Historic Inn

Property: Benbow Historic Inn
Address: 445 Lake Benbow Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benbow Historic Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1926. 55 Recently renovated rooms. On the National Register of Historic Places. Member of Historic Hotels of America. A beautiful country inn with fine dining serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Outdoor dining available in the summer. Next to Benbow KOA featuring golf, gas-powered carts and putting green. Located on the Eel River in the heart of the redwoods near the entrance to the Avenue of the Giants. Benbow Historic Inn is your California Redwood Retreat. Amenities include daily complimentary tea & scones, free lobby newspapers & WiFi, in room sherry & coffee, complimentary bicycles, seasonal pool & Jacuzzi, splash park, sport court, playground, meeting space, wedding venue, hiking & biking trails abound. A must see at the Benbow Exit 636 off US Highway 101. 199 Miles north of San Francisco in Southern Humboldt County. Numerous music and art festivals during summer months. Up to two (2) pets are allowed in our pet designated rooms, pending availability. The Benbow Historic Inn charges a $30 pet fee per visit. Those planning to bring furry companions MUST speak with a Front Desk Agent prior to making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Benbow Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benbow Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing