We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Inn with a Lodge-like feel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Benbow Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Benbow for one night during our 10 day driving tour of Northern California. We came specifically to see the really large redwoods in the area and were not disappointed in that repsect. We drove here from Napa and it was a loooong drive so we were pretty exhausted when we arrived in the late afternoon. The front desk was efficient and friendly and upon check, they were very informative about the area, the best drive to see the trees, where to go, where to stop, how much time to spend at certain attractions and they provided us with very helpful maps of the area. We had a King Fireplace room in the Terrace building which was VERY large, nicely appointed, cozy and had a great patio overlooking the Eel River, stone bridge and the grounds out back. Our only gripes were the fact that getting our bags to the room was a bit of a chore and that we could hear a good bit of noise from the road in our room.

Other than that, we definitely enjoyed the lodge-like feel of the place, the restaurant for dinner and breakfast, the fun bar, the lovely grounds and beautiful scenery. Very atmospheric and well maintained place. Not over the top luxury and certainly a tad bit expensive, but definitely your best bet for a comfortable stop over in this area.

If and when we head back to redwood country, Benbow will definitely be our first choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitty33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Benbow Historic Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 705 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

During our visit to Humboldt Redwoods State Park area, I and my wife stayed at the Benbow for two nights on October 8th & 9th of this year. We had a wonderful time. The facility is a very charming, old fashioned, classic English Inn in a serene place surrounded by hills. The facility does need a lot of refurnishing, but that did not bother us. We had a Deluxe Queen room on the second floor with front view of the mountains and the view of the Eel River from the side window. The facility does not have any elevators but we did get help for our luggage. We enjoyed Benbow’s complimentary afternoon Tea and Scones served every day in the lobby. We had breakfast and dinner in their formal dining room. The décor, ambiance, service and the food were all excellent. Understand that staying at Benbow is going to be expensive, but we still considered it as a good value for money considering the alternative of staying at other lodging places at Garberville. This is perhaps the only nice place to stay near Garberville area that we would recommend anyone to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe queen or king bed corner rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at Benbow with my family the night before the Humboldt Marathon. The manager and staff were happily accomodating when we had special requests, and the staff were all very friendly. Dinner was exquisite -- high quality food (organic produce, wild salmon, etc.), and again, staff was acommodating to my 2-year old by brining her crayons and coloring book and a cup of milk. The day of the race, they made 3 rooms available to runners post-check out time to come back to the Inn to shower. They laid towels out and had plenty of shampoo/soap, etc available for anyone needing to clean off. Overall, the Benbow Inn exceeding my expectations!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The positive: big, comfortable public rooms; only significant restaurant within miles (see a separate review); very friendly and for the most part well trained hotel staff; gorgeously maintained grounds; idyllic riverside setting; beautiful views in every direction;
two rooms on the outside (not the historic property) for folks travelling with dogs (we did not have a dog with us).
The somewhat negative: too difficult in this day and age to properly maintain the actual building both inside and out though it's still very very acceptable; small rooms (but built in the mid 1920s when people spent real time with other people in the public areas); only two rooms on the outside (not the historic property) for folks travelling with dogs (in California today that's a rather unusual discrimination especially in high end properties) (we have brought a dog here in the past). This hotel has enormous steep flights of stairs with no concession whatsoever for the elderly or the disabled. Everyone needs to be aware of this. Even the outside rooms require a substantial walk (outside the building and up one steep flight) just to get to the lobby and the dining room. There are only mediocre or much worse dining options for many miles around (except for breakfast places in Garberville) so you expect to eat lunch and dinner at the Benbow, no choice for anyone with any concern for food at all.

Although this was our 4th trip to the Benbow Inn (stayed for 3 nights), we had not been here in 20 years. You go to Garberville and the Benbow Inn only to go to the Benbow Inn. Some folks come for a single night if they are going up and down the highway to see redwoods. But anyone who stays for more than a night has come simply for the Inn. There's no other there there in Garberville (well, unless you are seriously involved in major marijuana trafficking, Humboldt County's most obvious and most profitable business).

The rooms and the building have definitely deteriorated over this time period. I believe ownership has changed more than once in this period. It's a truly historic institution with a list of famous people who slept there a mile long. That's how it should be looked at. We enjoyed our stay and everything worked out fine. However I believe the memory was brighter than the current experience and I don't think we'll find a reason to go back.

Room Tip: Although I believe there isn't much noise from highway 101, you'd like a room facing in anot...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurealam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We headed for the Humboldt Redwoods again this year for our annual R&R trip. No question we were going back to the Benbow. We were not disappointed. There were some new faces on staff but we were still greeted as old friends. We were pleasantly surprised by a chilled half bottle of champagne and a personal greeting - "welcome back Bruce & Joy and happy early birthdays". What a great start to our stay. Here's the good stuff. Tea and scones from 3:00 pm to 5:00 pm and a really great happy hour from 4 to 6 with half price drinks and the entire salad and appetizer sections of the dinner menu available for half price. You can put together a really nice early dinner from that part of the menu and we did. Sit on the terrace and enjoy the afternoon breeze. There's still the Sherry in the room for after dinner. On the down side, the dining room could use a tune-up but if you stick to the steaks you're OK. Physically the place is still its old self with lots of old fashioned charm and just a touch of funk. The floors creak a bit (adding to the charm) and the bathrooms are pret-ty cozy On my "barefoot in the room" scale it's a 6 out of 10. But, heck, this is an old-fashioned inn, the likes of which you won't find in many places on the West Coast. If you want slick and shiny, stay at one of the big chain hotels down in the City but if it's some real relaxation you want, come on up to the Benbow.

Room Tip: Get a room in the historic building on the side closest to the river for less highway noise
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband surprised me with a romantic weekend at Benbow historic lodge for our 45th Anniversary. It couldn't have been more perfect. We had the "Queen Bee" room in the historic building. Quaintly appointed with a veranda covered by a huge oak overlooking the beautiful grounds and river. We were greeted with champange on ice when we arrived, chocolates and a decanter of wonderful sherry. Beware...the electrical outlets don't hold the plugs easily. They serve a "cream tea" at 3PM in the wonderful lobby/livingroom with fresh scones. On one of the tables they leave an ongoing jigsaw puzzle for anyone to contribute. I don't know what rating the restaurant is but I'd say 4.5 stars. The rack of lamb was the best I've ever had and I snagged a bite of my husband's halibut...ummmmm! The staff are very attentive and friendly. AND as an added bonus, you are right by the start of "the avenue of the giants (redwood trees). We took a bottle of wine, cheese, crackers and fruit and went for a beautiful walk in the woods. Needless to say, my husband scored many points last weekend!

Room Tip: Queen Bee was great if you want historic but they do have more modern units off the terrace!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Initially we had booked a room inGarberville however reading the excellent reviews on the Benbow Inn we decided to stay there. Firstly let me say that the area around the inn is lovely. The grounds out back are well kept. The outside appearance on first arriving was a bit of a disappointment. I understand that they are in the throws of a major overall throughout but I was disappointed. Front desk service was pleasant however no other information was forthcoming regarding dinner hours,etc. Our room was on the upper terrace with a nice patio overlooking the river. The carpet was extremely worn out, the lighting was poor and could not find a hair dryer when needed in the morning. The bed was comfortable and the room was large. If you have any problems with mobility issues, this is not an Inn for you. Overall, a nice inn however if they plan on redoing and upgrading the Inn as they state, then maybe it can be brought back into a beautiful Inn as I am sure it was in its time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lambie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
15.2 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
2.0 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
58 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Benbow Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbow Historic Inn

Address: 445 Lake Benbow Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Price Range: $151 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Benbow Historic Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1926. 55 Recently renovated rooms. On the National Register of Historic Places. Member of Historic Hotels of America. A beautiful country inn with fine dining serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Outdoor dining available in the summer. Next to Benbow KOA featuring golf, gas-powered carts and putting green. Located on the Eel River in the heart of the redwoods near the entrance to the Avenue of the Giants. Benbow Historic Inn is your California Redwood Retreat. Amenities include daily complimentary tea & scones, free lobby newspapers & WiFi, in room sherry & coffee, complimentary bicycles, seasonal pool & Jacuzzi, splash park, sport court, playground, meeting space, wedding venue, hiking & biking trails abound. A must see at the Benbow Exit 636 off US Highway 101. 199 Miles north of San Francisco in Southern Humboldt County. Numerous music and art festivals during summer months. Up to two (2) pets are allowed in our pet designated rooms, pending availability. The Benbow Historic Inn charges a $30 pet fee per visit. Those planning to bring furry companions MUST speak with a Front Desk Agent prior to making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Benbow Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benbow Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing