We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for snacks and drinks but not for dinner”

Brewster's Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Galt
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for snacks and drinks but not for dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Neat place to go see and have drinks and starters. Dinner however is just okay and pricey, worth a visit though. Great upstairs area if it is open. One of the times we were there they had a band playing and was pretty busy in the upstairs bar. Good mixed drinks and pours on wine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evachad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wow!! Absolutely exceeded all expectations !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Today was my birthday. We thought about traveling to San francisco or Mendocino. Instead we came here to visit a friend. What we found was this ifabulous restaurant with great food, great service, and everything with a smile.
This is better than any option that I could have chosen otherwise

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Callbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
1 review
“Brewster's is back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

This restaurant was closed for a while and now it is reopened. It is even better than before (and I thought it was good before). The menu is extensive and the food is excellent and priced right. The wait staff is right on top of things. If you are looking for fine dining at a reaonable price, you have found it. The phone number for reservations is (209) 251-7355.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brewster's Update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

The restaurant and bar was closed by its previous owners in early 2012 due to rumors of both financial problems and management conflicts -- but it has been purchased by two brothers from the Bay Area who have a combined 60+ years of food service and fine dining and catering experience between them, including two successful eateries in the South Bay area and the operation of a restaurant in a Hyatt Regency. They have announced their intention to re-open Brewster's in mid-May 2012 with revised menu options for breakfast, lunch and dinner service -- as well as special events to be held in the expansive upstairs area. Accordingly -- only three stars are awarded to coincide with this review/notice for ambition to re-open a failed business until such time as we get a chance to check out the new offerings once the venue reopens. Let's hope that this time around the new owners are able to maintain an establishment where the quality of the food and service match the surrounding of a very cool eating environment that the Brewster Building affords.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CELTIC0K9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best in Galt....however (and it's a BIG however)...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Let's face it: there aren't a lot of culinary choices in Galt let alone a place where you can get a good beer AND some good food. That said, Brewster's continues to disappoint. First, they pulled a fantastic beer that they had (Moose Drool). It was the main reason that I went to Brewster's at least 1-2 times a week. Second, they keep taking the good food off the menu. Like I said, for Galt it's a nice addition, but just don't get used to anything being there when you return. Sadly, for me and my friends, it may be worth the trip to Elk Grove or Sacramento instead of the constant disappointment.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kolycoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewster's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Brewster's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing