We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice layout” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Hidalgo

Cafe Hidalgo
Ranked #116 of 370 Restaurants in Fullerton
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
“Nice layout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Could never and still don't understand why my family likes to go here better than any other in Fullerton. I am beginning to think the place has plenty of
space around the tables for groups larger than 4. And it is easy to find and walk right into. The food has always been OK and maybe it's because I haven't
given the chef a chance to be creative.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for a nice evening out or romantic date”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The food, service, and atmosphere are excellent and there is anice patios for dining al fresco. They ahve an excellent menu and wine list, and you should probably make a reservation on weekends.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

NIcely designed room, but over air-conditioned when we were there last. Food is well-prepared but the servers were overly solicitous..almost obsequious, compared to the ones there formerly. Change of owners, possibly

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jodyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
328 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Good food but service was slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I recently met a friend in downtown Fullerton for dinner. Because she lives in the LA area, she looked up restaurants and picked Cafe Hidalgo. She said the fusion menu with South American flair sounded interesting to her. I had never been to Fullerton and was pleased to find the downtown lively with easy nighttime street parking.
I got there first and the wait staff was confused about where to seat me. There was a wedding party happening in the back according to a sign on the door. I ended up seated by the front door which made it convenient to find my friend. The front room of the restaurant was very noisy.
We ordered drinks which never came. After 15 min., my friend got up and asked a service provider and he brought us drinks apologetically. I didn't pay the bill so don't know if the restaurant comped them or not.
We ended up having to ask if we could order dinner. The food was delicious. Crab cakes and scallops were delicious. As the restaurant emptied, service got better.
Great food, spotty service, cute downtown...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nkwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scallops!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Service is always excellent and the menu is full of delicious items! We go for the scallops! They are simply delightful!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hidalgo also viewed

Fullerton, Orange County
Fullerton, Orange County
 

Been to Cafe Hidalgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing