We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fullerton Marriott at California State University
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Fullerton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orange, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the area”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Great rooms, beds are the most comfortable anywhere. The LG TV is great. Only compliant they parking spots to college students and forces you to use handicap spots.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WORKINGINOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    121
    72
    15
    17
See reviews for
74
39
30
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Best thing about the Fullerton Marriott is the location -- just a couple hundred yards from the freeway and in the other direction, just a couple hundred yards from CSUF. The rooms are very quiet despite being so close to the freeway.

There's room for improvement -- the mattress was a bit soft, towels were more of the locker room variety, and shower pressure was merely ok. Restaurant was average. Free parking, but in-room internet and business center internet not free.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andsank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxfl, General Manager at Fullerton Marriott at California State University, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Marriott Fullerton and for taking the time to write about your experience while staying with us. It is feedback like yours that helps us evaluate how we are doing and allow us the opportunity to make the appropriate and necessary adjustments to provide all of our guests with a restful and relaxing experience. Yes we are a very unique property with a fantastic location close to Cal State Fullerton, Disneyland, and Knott’s Berry Farm, Honda Center, Angel Stadium and many other local attractions. Thank you for noticing this. To your point of room to improve, we have discovered some towels that were past their life expectancy and have been eliminating and replacing them as we identify them. We also have a new Chef and have seen some great changes in our restaurant. And yes we did experience a slight problem with our water pressure but resolved this issue with great expediency.
Thank you again for giving us the feedback we thirst for, allowing us the opportunity to learn and grow as hospitality professionals and assuring this hotel remains one of the best Marriott Hotels in the Western region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

I got married couple days ago, so I used this hotel for all my guest to stay in. From the beginning, I received very poor customer service. My sales representative did not keep in contact with me. I called them about 2 to 3 times a week for a month. Finally on Monday, the week of my wedding, my sale representative FINALLY decides to call me. I spoke to them about how disappointed I was in their service and all they said was 'I understand" and nothing more. We booked a lot of rooms with them. So, on top of the fact that they did not provide any special accommodations (no free suite or good discount on it, no free champagne, no rose petals, nothing.. I even asked couple times...) for my husband and I on our wedding/honeymoon night, they did not give out all our special gifts we had made for our guest. In fact, they kept some of them. In addition, we gave specific instructions and none of that happened. We asked for one connecting room for our groomsmen and instead of giving them that, they separated them, which they eventually fixed after I talked to them... In addition, one of our family members got a DIRTY room.

Overall, I would not recommend this place, especially to book for you wedding night and Guest Block.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hell0k1tty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I'd love to say I loved this place, but can't. The staff were wonderful, all very helpful and friendly. We were there for a birthday party for my 90 yr old great aunt and they were right on top of everything at that event. They were great at the desk, housekeeping, maintenance and resturaunt. The room was quite small with a view of the parking garage but it was spotless which I alway appreciate.

What didn't work for me were a few things. I realize that the hotel takes the guests they can get but we were the only adults on a floor of 12-18 year old church kids. You would think they would have split the kids or put us somewhere else. They ran up and down the hall all night and kept both myself and my 80 yr old mom up for two nights. We actually left a night early just to get some sleep. One night it sounded as if they were moving matteresses down the hallway. Strange that we were right next to the freeway and couldn't hear it at all but the kids....

The room was spotless as noticed but the lighting was terrible. So low as to not allow me to read. And the TV has just a channel listing, not any type of general description of what is on. They should fix that.

Finally, the food was poor both at the pub and the party. The party was general banquet fare of chicken with a lemon sauce. My chicken was not cooked through so I couldn't eat most of it. The couple of bites I had, were bland and uninspiring. We had breakfast at the pub and unforunately my mom made the plan in advance to pay.

After listening to the kids (over 100 we were told by staff) as they tore through the buffet, we ordered off the menu. I had pancakes that were scorched and cold so stiff, two others in the party had the same with french toast. Basic breakfast with two coffees, two teas, 2 OJ = $72. My poor mom was in shock but since she had already made a big deal about paying for us all, she felt she could not ask us to help.

I'm a rewards member and expected to be on the conceige level but was told it was closed on weekends. I was disapointed as sleep would have made our trip much better.

I would recommend this hotel but not the food or resturant. It's worth it to go someplace else. Habit burger across the street is a good deal. Panera bread, chipolte and other are within 3-4 b;pcks. Again, the staff are great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lebenheimer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

This is one of many Marriott branded hotels that offer lower publicly available rates outside Marriott reservation channel. If you spot such a rate, you are eniteled to a 25% discount of lower rate if you use Marriott's Look No Further® Best Rate Guarantee program.

Problem was: Hotel does not accept this rate and charged me a three times higher rate. As most travelers don't like to waste time at Small-Claims Courts or with lengthy communications at corporate level, I cannot recommend to stay at this hotel, if rate is an issue for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Very_Smart_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Great beds, big flat screen TV's , comfortable workspace and a decent price.

A safe choice in Fullerton.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingyahud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Ignored comments made by 800-number...(have never never ever heard of that)...
said "I don't care what it says...the 800-number is wrong to say that".

Rooms are OK. Mid to high-end LG flat-screen TV (looks like the standard
Marriott specified TV), but since the signal is analog, the capabilities of the
TV are inhibited. I've seen HD on the same model at the Irvine Marriott and
the TV is capable of so much more.

Breakfast was free; otherwise I'd say it's $15 price was about $8 overpriced.
Restaurant coffee sux. Tastes like Maxwell House. Definitely not Sbucks.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEE_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcuff, General Manager at Fullerton Marriott at California State University, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us. I am sorry that you did not like the coffee we serve. We do have Starbuck’s in our bar. If you visit us again in the future you can request this from our service staff. They will be happy to assist you.

I wanted to take the time to update you on our HD TV conversion. I am please to say that we are currently undergoing this upgrade. We have been on a waiting list for about a year and our property finally came up on the list. The conversion to HD will be completed on December 22, 2010.

I hope that you will come and visit us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fullerton
2.1 mi away
The Hotel Fullerton
The Hotel Fullerton
#1 of 11 in Fullerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim - Fullerton
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Fullerton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Brea - North Orange County
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Anaheim Orange County Hotel
2.7 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel Brea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fullerton Marriott at California State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fullerton Marriott at California State University

Property: Fullerton Marriott at California State University
Address: 2701 Nutwood Avenue, Fullerton, CA 92831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Fullerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Fullerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fullerton Marriott at California State University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Fullerton Marriott at California State University for a well-planned and enjoyable business trip, campus visit, family trip or romantic weekend away. Our hotel in Fullerton, California sits steps from the California State University, Fullerton campus and within a short drive or taxi ride of Orange County, California's best beaches. We offer comfortable guest rooms, public spaces and meeting venues that make it easy and pleasant to work or or enjoy a leisure trip. At our hotel, take advantage of our complimentary parking, on-site restaurant, swimming pool and fitness center. Nearby, delight in famous attractions like Disneyland Resort in Anaheim, Knott's Berry Farm in Buena Park and the surf and sand in Huntington Beach and Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Fullerton Marriott at California State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fullerton Marriott At California State University Hotel Fullerton
Marriott Fullerton
Marriott California State University
Fullerton Marriott At California State University CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing