We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O' HECK NO!! We will not go back nor recommend this hotel to anyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fullerton
Reviewed July 13, 2010

As many othes, we booked on line based on reviews and location. When we checked in, we were excited to be there, looked so nice in the lobby and the family was going to go to Disneyland!! Who wouldnt be happy?? The service at the counter was very average, and lacking in information. We arrived to our rooms ( 2 rooms for 8 guests) to find them very dark and musty smelling. Opening the drapes and turning on the air conditioner worked well, till night came and the 2 small lamps in each room wasnt even bright enough to read in. When asking one of the maids where the ice machine was, she said on the fist floor...we were on the 4th floor. Funny thing is, after the 2nd day we discovered by accident that there was an ice machine right next to our room!! The beds were comfortable, and the shower water presser was good. However, upon ariving the next morning to the dining room for our "free hot breakfast" that was advertised on the web site and on the HUGE sign hanging on outside of the hotel building, we were told that the "free breakfast" is only for 2 adults and 2 children under 10......ok well we stayed 2 nights had 4 adults and 4 teenagers!!! After voicing our dissapointment over the false advertising to the front desk they referred us to the dining room manager, who referred us again back to the front desk!! We still ended up paying $6.95 X 4 so all could eat breakfast. The food they served to the 4 (ticked guests) was a plate full of bland rubbery pancakes & eggs with 1/2 pice bacon and undercooked potato chunks......no option.......the 4 paying members of our family were told to get their breakfast form the buffet, serving similar items, with added fruit and toast.
Needless to say, this whole experience set the day off on a sour note. No one wanted to eat the food because it was tastless, not to mention a little awkward.
The "free internet" offered is only offered in the lobby area, you can pay extra $10 day for internet in your room!
It sure would have saved a lot of headache if we knew a few of these things before booking this hotel. Not to mention that when you arrive and check in, they should at least mention that by the way,,,,,,,you will have to pay extra for your "free breakfast" and "free internet" sevices.
However, I do have to agree that the "free" shuttle service to and from Disneyland was very prompt. All good excpt the evning driver on the way back to the hotel almost caused 2 accidents when cutting people off and tailgating, having to slam on the breaks to previent running over the small car in front of us. (just one or 2 curses from him that night) Pretty scarry when your sitting in the front seat behind the driver!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbjch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaheimParkHotel_1, Internet Community Manager at Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2010

I would like to thank you for posting your concerns about your stay so that we can work to improve our service.

Lighting - We are working with maintenance to brighten our rooms up a bit.

Breakfast - The free hot breakfast is for 2 adults per room. There is an additional charge for any additional adults and for children over the age of 10. We have talked to the kitchen staff about the state of the food and improvements will be made.

Internet service - The free internet service is only available in our lobby. We are currently working to make it available for in all guest rooms.

Shuttle driver - We have spoken with the Shuttle driver about his conduct and he has been issued a strict warning to improve his driving habits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 884 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2010

We booked on line based on reviews and location. The lobby is very nice, ....it ends there. As noted in other reviews the rooms are dated, .....very dated. Yes they are fairly clean, and the staff seems to be trying hard, but its time for a full reno.
We booked with Expedia, and received notice that the breakfast buffet was included with the room. We booked 2 rooms for 4 nights, 8 guests in total. After we checked in, we were informed it would be a plated breakfast for the adults only, kids under 3 eat free, kids 4-17 need to purchase separate meals. When we objected , the front desk referred us to the dining room manager, who referred us to the front desk. Every morning we had to retell the whole story and show them our Expedia confirmation. Every morning they relented, and we got to eat for free. The buffet we fought for was pathetic. Scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, potatoes, and toast was the end of the hot items. There was sliced cantaloupe for fruit, orange and apple juice. . There was no milk, cereal, tea, butter, rolls, or selection. We have had more choice at a continental breakfast. The quality was poor, and the quantity was bare minimum. The coffee was warm, with only sugar and powdered whitener. There are a few things you expect to see in a breakfast buffet, and this one is severely lacking. Paying an extra $4 for a child to eat this would have been unbearable.
Thankfully our rooms were quiet, and one of the A/C units worked very well. The staff cleaned and changed the linens every day, and every day they left 4 adults, 2 bath towels, and every day we called for more. The funny part is that they do not bring one or two towels, but three. Every day it was the same hassle and every day was the same looks of amazement from the staff. Every day they offered weak excuses about new owners, and staff changes as the culprit. The free internet is only in the lobby, and is available wirelessly or on two antiquated PC's. In your room you will have to negotiate internet rates with AT&T. In the lobby, the two couches and two chairs are not enough seating for all the guests that want to use their computers. Since we are in the 21st century, free wireless internet in the rooms is expected.
While speaking to some of the other guests, it is obvious our experience is not an isolated case. Holes in the walls, mysterious carpet stains, loud noises, and evasive staff, are just some of the challenges that the new ownership will have to overcome. Just because you have Disney music playing in the lobby, does not make it all better.
The one thing they did very well is manage the free shuttle to Disney. It was always on time, the drivers were polite, and the schedule was passed to each and every passenger, so we all knew the times. This is an excellent method of getting to and from the park.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

well i stayed at this hotel when it was called wyndam...in 2008..every year my little daughter compets in the california tropic pagents at the marriot by the convention center and there prices are to high......so i stayed 5 miles away which is nothing to travel and i stayed here for 65 dollars a nite what a steal...i stayed in the towers which has its own balcony and the beds are soooooo comfortable .....its very clean and i love the marble lobby and cant beat the free stuttle....wow..i had a great time and we have been coming back since every year since 2008 every september in finals for california tropics...and i cant forget larrys pizza ....wow delicious its near by the hotel ....the best pizza ever...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eder_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaheimParkHotel_1, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2010

Thanks so much for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Our AAA office booked this hotel for us as we were on our way out of town on a spur of the moment trip to see Disneyland. The hotel was friendly and clean, and the price was more than reasonable at $69 per night.They had a free Hot breakfast for us every morning served buffet style with lots of clean tables and plenty to eat. They offered food to order as well as the buffet for a fee and had a short menu for lunch. The location was about 6 miles away but a straight shot to Disneyland parking and they offered a shuttle to take us and also pick us up in the evening, which saved the $15 parking fee. The hotel rooms were large and clean and the pool was in a lovely setting. They also offered a nice exercise room which we did not use after our 2 days at Disneyland.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikki46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaheimParkHotel_1, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2010

Thanks for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We welcome you back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Chairs in room had stains on them; furniture was beat up; TV had terrible reception couldn't even watch it and if I did want to watch, there was no remote; one of the two elevators was always down; no ice in the ice machines; no free wi-fi; stayed there for a week and it was the noisiest hotel ever. Decor very out dated and tacky from the 80s; hallway carpets had bleach stains all over them. would never stay there again. Not worth the money

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2eatnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonKim, Manager at Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

I apologize to hear about your experience.

I'll try and address specific issues here.

OWNERSHIP CHANGE
As of March 18, 2010, we obtained ownership of the hotel, so we're working hard on addressing the short comings of the property.

FURNITURE CONDITION
There were major renovations to the rooms as of 2005 when the hotel was a Wyndham. I'd have to see the specific room regarding the condition of the furniture.

TV RECEPTION
It may have been a particular room that had problems. Any issues can typically be resolved easily by notifying the front desk. Worse case scenario we usually are able to accommodate a room change or even free upgrade.

ELEVATOR PROBLEMS
One of the elevators was down for extensive, emergency maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.

NO ICE
I'll talk to my maintenance staff about checking all the ice machines for any problems.

NO FREE WI-FI
The free wi-fi is limited to the lobby along with free computers you can use with Internet. I'm currently working with AT&T about getting free wi-fi to the rest of the rooms.

NOISE
If there are particular noisy rooms, we can get that addressed by letting the front desk know. SIDE TIP: a room in the "tower building" is typically the quietest. Also, if you're sensitive to noise, please let the front desk know at the time of check in and we can move you rooms.

Thanks again for your feedback and please let the front desk know of any problems during your stay and we can usually take care of most issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We stayed here in June 2010. The only complaint I have is the tv channels sucked. There was really nothing on tv when we came back in the evening. Also, they advertise free wireless internet, but that is not in your room. I thought that was a bit of false advertising. Other than those 2 issues, no complaints on the room or cleanliness or staff. Nothing was excellent, but it also wasn't bad. When we booked, they offered free hot breakfasts so that was nice. Also, parking is free. I'd stay again because it was a good price for the area. If you have AAA, you get a discount so use that.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I visited this hotel during my visit to LA. We have chosen this place because our bus tour had this hotel as one of the pick up point. We stayed there for two days, overall experience was good. Staff was friendly and agile. We wanted to leave car baby seat for couple of days at the hotel as we had plan to return to the same hotel later, they kept it with full care.

They do provide free internet in the room but for some reason we could not connect to wifi due to laptop problem, we were disappointed to know that there is no free computer there to be used in that situation.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonKim, Manager at Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

Thank you for your review.

We are currently working on getting free Internet in the rooms. In about late March or early April, I installed free Internet in the lobby and installed two kiosk computers, so the next time you come out, you should be able to use those for free.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fullerton
1.2 mi away
The Hotel Fullerton
The Hotel Fullerton
#1 of 11 in Fullerton
484 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Fullerton
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fullerton Marriott at California State University
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fullerton
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim - Fullerton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 222 W Houston Ave, Fullerton, CA 92832-3453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Fullerton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fullerton
Price Range: $81 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Hotel & Conference Center - Fullerton is a fantastic family friendly, and Corporate travel full service property. Conveniently located just off the 91 freeway and Harbor Blvd, bordering Anaheim, CA and a short drive to experience the magic of Disneyland & Disney's California Adventure theme parks, as well as Knott's Berry Farm, you could attend a sporting event or a concert at the "A" stadium & Honda Center. We are able to accommodate business conferences or seminars. Our hotel offers six flexible meeting rooms, banquet and catering services and a business center. Conveniently located near California State University Fullerton (CSUF), downtown Fullerton, and Anaheim. We provide a free shuttle to/from Disneyland in scheduled times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Fullerton Hotel And Fullerton
Wyndham Anaheim Park Hotel
Fullerton Wyndham
Hotel Anaheim Park
Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel And Conference Center CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing