We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Fullerton
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Thought this was the hotel across from the park..it is not. Several miles away. Infrequent shuttle service, had to drive and pay for parking. Seemed old and dirty and the breakfast made my stomach turn.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GigTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonKim, Manager at Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

I apologize that you confused us with the Howard Johnson across the park. I'd like to point out that our rates compared to the one in Anaheim are much cheaper, and you probably ended up saving about $50 per night. In addition, we offer a free hot breakfast, free parking, and a free shuttle. The hotels in Anaheim don't offer the same free perks we offer and you may be surprised by the hidden fees. More details on the hidden fees on our main hotel blog.

An example shuttle schedule can be found on our website, or you can call in to confirm the times.

Pictures of our breakfast can be found on our main website along with video room tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 924 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

Our group of 50 Aussie students, teachers and parents stayed 2 nights at this hotel as part of a tour of the West Coast. Our tour was arranged by a tour company so we didn't choose the accommodation. This hotel was awful and inconsistent with the good to very good quality of accommodation elsewhere on tour. The hallways were dark, dingy, and smelly, the carpet was dirty or stained and the paint work around door frames was chipped. Not a good first impression. The lifts were very slow (it's only a four floor hotel). One of our group had to ask for a new room because there was an overwhelming smell of smoke in the room. The sheets on my bed were too small for the bed and there were no fridges in the rooms. My room and particularly my bathroom was not cleaned well after the first night. The room faced the freeway behind the hotel so it was necessary to run the airconditioner to block some of the noise. Our pre-arranged American breakfasts consisted of inedible powdered scrambled egg, greasy sausages, toast, coffee and tea which looked as if it had coal fines in it. There were no fresh dairy products available. I asked at reception for a tea bag to make tea in my room but they couldn't give me one.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macham17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonKim, Manager at Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Compare our hotel with any hotel near Disneyland that charges higher room rates, higher taxes, doesn't serve breakfast, and has extra hidden fees (including the $14 parking fee at Disneyland). You'll find that we offer the best bang for your buck.

We just replaced the first floor carpet.

The main building has two elevators in case one of them is slower than you'd like. With over 200 rooms in the main building there are peak times when any elevator can get overwhelmed.

I apologize for the room that smelled of smoke. We are a non-smoking hotel that sometimes is ignored by the previous guests. We do not expect any guests to stay in a room with smoke in it and we can always move you to a better room.

The housekeepers do a full makeover of the room between checkouts and not necessarily if you're staying in the room another night. If you have a major, unexpected mess, please let the front desk know and our staff can do a full makeover.

If the room next to the freeway is too noisy, you can request a room away from the freeway.

Some people really like the breakfast. We offer full pictures of the breakfast at our main website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Took me 45 mins to check in. There was a large tour group checking in. Front desk staff was very helpful. I was skeptical after reading many reviews but optomistic seeing that most were written in 2010... hoping conditions improved. Sadly disappointed. Hotel lobby was just a tacky front. Once you walk down the hallways, it all sadly goes downhill. The carpeting, windows and walls and baseboards are dirty. The elevators look dangerous and smell. Our FIRST room had filthy carpeting, dirt and markings on the wall of the room and bathroom, burn marks on the furniture. My kids even walked in saying "ewww" because of the mixed odor of old cigarrette smoke, and just. Odor. After moving 3 more times I was finally "upgraded" to a room whose only UPGRADE was newer carpeting and view of the pool. So exhausted we stayed that night, then checked out the next morning to move to a REAL 3 1/2 star. The major issue I had with the hotel was it's filthiness. Walls had prints and markings of who knows what, baseboards in room and bathrooms had thick dust and dirt on it. Floors were unacceptable. Bubbles and peeling of wallpaper. Also dirt and dust on phone and furniture. Horrible housekeeping. Front desk was helpful in trying to accommodate. Will never stay at that hotel, better yet, another hojo. Evver!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetovacay6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonKim, Manager at Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Sorry to hear about the experience! The traffic at our front desk seems to depend on tour groups, but usually it's pretty quick.

We just changed out all the carpeting in the main hallways.

I'm sorry to hear about your room issues! They shouldn't have had to move you 3 times before giving you an upgrade. Or they should've given you a TRUE upgrade into the tower building.

We don't claim to be 3 stars. We try to offer you the best value for your money, and after taxes and all the hidden fees, I think you'll agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I booked this hotel due to wanting to try a different place other than hotels right accross from Disney. Our room was kind of strange. Beds were nicely made, and very comfortable. The bathroom was very old, there was no hot water, only luke warm. The mirror in the bathroom needed to be replaced and the blowdryer didn't work. Also, the motion sensor in the bathroom would turn off the lights when you were showering, which was super annoying. The breakfast was acceptable for free, but we only ate it once, then we needed some other variety. The second night we stayed, there was a wedding, and we could not find ANYWHERE to park. The exersize facility was a complete joke, with two eliptical machines and some free weights. Overall, our room was clean, the area is close to Disneyland and other So Cal destinations, and it was a great price. I would suggest some remodeling and some variety on the breakfast,

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nae F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonKim, Manager at Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

There should be hot water! I'm not sure what room you're in, but that's not typical. Perhaps maintenance would've been able to fix that issue.

The lights are motion sensor, and it's really easy for us to adjust that light.

I'm sorry about the parking issue. Usually we never have any parking issues.

I'm ashamed of the exercise facility too. But I like the pool area :]

Thanks for your suggestions and I think after comparing the taxes and all the hidden fees, you'll agree you get a great bang-for-your-buck with our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My family of 12 travelled to Anaheim, USA as part of an organised tour and put up 3 nights at this property from 3-5 Sept 2011. Initially I was really worried about our stay after reading all the negative TA reviews but it turned out to be acceptable.

Lobby - Lobby was huge, brightly lit with sofas and a concierge tour desk. Downside was there was only a small lift servicing the entire block so waiting time can be long esp during peak hours (in the morning or evenings). There's a Wii console and TV which keeps the kids entertained while we wait for our room keys.

Rooms- Rooms were of good size with 2 twin beds, and the connecting rooms proved to be very convenient for families. Some of my family members complained of damp and wet carpet but our room #203 was fine. Beds were comfy and clean. Water pressure in the bathrooms was strong and we were able to enjoy a hot shower after long day of sightseeing at Disneyland and Universal Studios. If you do book this hotel, try to request for a room away from the highway as traffic noise kept us awake for 2 nights consecutively.

Location - Big bonus: Just 10 mins away from Disneyland Park and the free shuttle bus picks up/drops off right at the Lobby. We could even watch part of the fireworks from our room windows nightly at 9pm. There were ample food outlets and shopping just across the hotel. We love the Hawaiian Grill Diner shop (Yummy Food!) and the organic fruit/ store.

Breakfast - This was pathetic. No fresh milk, eggs tastes flaky, bacon, sausages all too salty and greasy! Butter and Jam not properly thawed and the whole chunk was dumped on a serving plate at end of the buffet line. Long Queues every morning for breakfast. I suggest paying more for a good meal to start your day at Disneyland or at fast food outlets across the road.

Overall, it provides a good night's sleep and a cheap accomodation to a Disneyland stopover. Not too bad a choice but don't expect 4-star luxuries. If you go with realistic expectations, you'll do fine. :)

Room Tip: Request for a foom facing away from the Main Highway (front of building).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bb-blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonKim, Manager at Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

I love reviews from frequent travelers! They know a good deal when they see one!

Lobby: It's actually a Kinect :]

Rooms: If you have issues with your rooms, we can usually accommodate a move.

Location: And also our free shuttle to Disneyland!

Breakfast: Sorry about the issues with the breakfast. It can get busy depending on the time, and I'll be working with my kitchen staff to see what we can do to improve breakfast.

Thank you for your extensive review! I agree, we may not make everyone happy, but if you know what you're getting and the great value compared to those super expensive hotels closer to Disneyland, you'll be a fan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We booked this place for a two night stay but regretted it and could not cancel due to online booking.
There is no local calling facility and all the payphones in the lobby have been deliberately disabled so that guests end up using the phones in the rooms and getting charged for them.
We enquired at the front desk about the above situation but they were not very helpful and recommended that we go outside and use payphones.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonKim, Manager at Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Ouch! Sorry to hear!

You can call toll free from your phone in your room without a charge. I wish the payphone company would remove those pay phones, but they're refusing to do it!

I'll inform the front desk that you should be able to call toll-free from your rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here because we thought it would be a good deal - maybe we saved a few dollars, but I would have rather had a hotel that cleaned their carpets once in a decade! Generally grungy and run down. Windows in room were covered with fingerprints - ceiling was dirty - carpet was old and buckled up and greasy feeling - bathroom mirror rusty. Key cards wouldn't stay magnetized for more than one day, and as we were here a week, it was quite a pain to constantly get them replaced. At least the staff could tell you that you need to remagnetize everyday, so you would be ready for the inconvenience. In general, the staff were all unfriendly and unprofessional - a smile and a friendly word makes a big difference to someone who is in an unfamiliar place. Breakfast was okay, but boring - just add some milk and cereals for the kids and something other than white wonderbread for the adults! We DO NOT recommend this yucky place. Spend a little more and hopefully you can find a hotel that is cleaner and friendlier than this one - shouldn't be hard to do!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpack12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonKim, Manager at Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

We have since cleaned all the carpets in the hotel.

If you have issues with the rooms, please let the front desk know and we can move you.

The keycards had issues and we have received a new batch that will hopefully fix the issue.

If we added extra items to the breakfast further than our hot items, we would need to increase the room rates. I posted pictures of our breakfast on our main website.

It will be difficult to find a hotel that offers a free shuttle and free hot buffet breakfast. Parking alone in Disneyland is $15. If you find someplace that is a better value, please let me know.

Check out our main hotel blog for video responses to these reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fullerton
1.2 mi away
The Hotel Fullerton
The Hotel Fullerton
#1 of 11 in Fullerton
498 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Fullerton
3 mi away
Fullerton Marriott at California State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fullerton
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn Placentia - Anaheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 222 W Houston Ave, Fullerton, CA 92832-3453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Fullerton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Fullerton
Price Range: $80 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Hotel & Conference Center - Fullerton is a fantastic family friendly, and Corporate travel full service property. Conveniently located just off the 91 freeway and Harbor Blvd, bordering Anaheim, CA and a short drive to experience the magic of Disneyland & Disney's California Adventure theme parks, as well as Knott's Berry Farm, you could attend a sporting event or a concert at the "A" stadium & Honda Center. We are able to accommodate business conferences or seminars. Our hotel offers six flexible meeting rooms, banquet and catering services and a business center. Conveniently located near California State University Fullerton (CSUF), downtown Fullerton, and Anaheim. We provide a free shuttle to/from Disneyland in scheduled times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Fullerton Hotel And Fullerton
Wyndham Anaheim Park Hotel
Fullerton Wyndham
Hotel Anaheim Park
Howard Johnson Fullerton Anaheim Hotel And Conference Center CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing