We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, quiet and friendly hostel, not so good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HI-Los Angeles - Fullerton

HI-Los Angeles - Fullerton
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HI-Los Angeles - Fullerton
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, quiet and friendly hostel, not so good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I found this hostel on the HI website and thought I'd give it a go. My main reason for coming to LA was to go the theme parks (Disneyland in particular). The hostel staff were wonderful, very friendly and happy to help. Hostel was very clean and well appointed. Beds were sturdy & didn't creak when you moved in them. Kitchen facilities were good. They even have cook your own pancakes each morning which is a novel idea! This hostel is only open during the summer break.

If you are looking for a quiet hostel away from the hustle and bustle of LA then this is the one for you. The only downside is that you have to walk up a dark hill at night and the location is a bit out of the way of Downtown LA (about 1 hr by public transport). Otherwise a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsasony83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is one of few inland LA Hostels that allows time effective public transport access to Disney & other Anaheim attractions.. One can stay on the bus to the shore at Huntington Beach... A usually non crowded, relaxing & rustic place with free parking to base LA area excursions from...carracar

Room Tip: Remember this is intended community lodging
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carracar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

This hostel is open only in summer and it's a great quiet nice place to relax as you travel. It is situated in the hills of Fullerton next to the regional park and has hiking trails start right from the hostel (but watch out for very fast mountain bikers on those trails). Atmosphere at that hostel is great, stuff is friendly and helpful. The hostel has a secluded nature feel that is rarely afforded in overcrowded Orange county, being there feels almost like being on a ranch, but Orange county is right next door.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexd00xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

As we appraoched the hostel, we were rather cautious as it was in quite a rural, random location, but as soon as we entered, we couldn't help but smile. The 'take the bag off your back, you're here now, relax' welcome was just what we needed after a 12hour coach trip. The hostel has only three rooms I think, all coed, and a living room and kitchen. From the outside it looked like a log cabin at night with twinkly fairy lights, and the sound of crickets. The few staff who work/live at the hostel were fantastic-wonderful if you're a bit home sick-it's like being part of a family! The only down side was that we were there in 101degree heat, and so the bedroom was a little hot on one of the nights before we realised there WAS air conditioning! Also, the location isn't really central to anything, but this actually worked out well. No way would we have wanted to stay in central LA after visiting it for a day-and we heard bad reviews about some hostels there. It really is a great hostel if you want to get off the beaten track a bit and see what a 'normal' untouristy Californian town is like. The hostel also arranges a trip to LA if you so wish, which we took advantage of, and it really was good. There's a local supermarket, pharmacy, bank, etc. The public transport was fine, after you get to grips with the bus timetable, and so we could visit Disney Land in nearby Annaheim and Newport Beach (the OC). A wonderful, relaxing hostel which we were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spuderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fullerton
2.6 mi away
The Hotel Fullerton
The Hotel Fullerton
#1 of 11 in Fullerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fullerton Marriott at California State University
2.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Fullerton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn Placentia - Anaheim
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim - Fullerton
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Brea - North Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Los Angeles - Fullerton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Los Angeles - Fullerton

Property: HI-Los Angeles - Fullerton
Address: 1700 N Harbor Blvd, Fullerton, CA 92835-3808
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Fullerton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Fullerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — HI-Los Angeles - Fullerton 1.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your HI-Los Angeles - Fullerton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HI-Los Angeles - Fullerton CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing