We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cracked Pepper Bistro - MOVED

Cracked Pepper Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stopped in Fresno on our way to Yosemite; this restaurant was recommend by our hotel (it wasn't far away), and it was excellent. It was a busy Saturday night and we did not have reservations, but the server was very gracious and seated us in the bar. I had the scallops and my husband had a salmon special--both were outstanding, and our server (Jon) was great. They have a good wine list as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    30
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, wine and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

From arrival to leaving the staff was very attentive. We had a very relaxing dinner, really delicious food and a nice bottle of wine to share. My steak was cooked to perfection & was amazingly tender.
Be sure to save room for desert as the raisin pudding cake (okay, I forgot the exact name) is well known and amazingly delicious.
One of my wife's absolute favorite places and she's a "foodie." You should have heard her excitement in the car as we drove in to the parking lot headed to this restaurant (it was a surprise dinner for her birthday). Oh-my-gosh was she thrilled. :-)
Here's a tip: Costco sometimes offers a $100 gift card for $79.99 to help with eating here. You can easily use it all so buy two and take some friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EdH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
226 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Fresno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

When you want quality dining this is the place. Prices are reasonable for this style of high end dining. the place is cozy and quiet.(A great place for a romantic meal). Service was great and our meals were outstanding. I had the Lobster Risotto and my husband had the scallops. Both meals were made to perfection. We tried something different for an appetizer the eggplant fries. They were absolutely delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barges867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great meal with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Celebrated our daughter's and grandson's birthdays here and all of us had a wonderful experience. The food was outstanding and the service couldn't have been better. My wife and I had Halibut, one of their specials for the evening. Halibut can get dried out but this was perfect and even better than my previous best when visiting in Alaska. We had a reservation and were seated right on time. Recommend you make a reservation, otherwise you may not get in or the wait may be excessive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtncar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Fresno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Love this place. Always go there for any special occasion. The Mala-Insana Napoleon appetizer is world class as is the bread pudding for dessert. Small place allows them to focus on exceptional quality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracked Pepper Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing