We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stunning Tri tip Sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dog House Grill

Dog House Grill
Ranked #3 of 1,089 Restaurants in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning Tri tip Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I had the BEST tri-tip sandwich I've ever eaten at the Dog House! I smoke my own BBQ, so rarely order it at restraunts. I will ABSOLUTELY order it again at the Dog House! It was amazing! The most tender and juicy BBQ sammich I've had. The fries were also delicious, and the service was great! This is a must visit restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Swimgymdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    127
    33
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great roat beef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I loved the roast beef. Woww. It was so delicious. I loved it. Sandavich was so big. The fries are also so good. But you need to wait so long. There is no place to park. You need to wait and wait. But it is worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Tri-tip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I simply love the tri-tip sandwich here. The meat is yummy and the sauce is t h ick and sweet. Big basket of onion rings free soda refills. Its hard to have to find your own table because its pretty much first come first serve self seating and this place gets packed. Dont lije having to hear numbers called out one after another over the loudspeaker either especially when I'm watching a game.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“This is a must stop when in Fresno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a special place you must stop and eat when in Fresno. It's located near the college so at lunch and dinner times there may be a little wait. Be patient the line moves fast. There specialty is the Tri-Tip sandwich, excellent. But the menu has assorted selections for everyone. If you are ordering french fries with your meal the basket size is enough for 4. Also order a side of the onion rings, you won't be disappointed. It is open seating so grab what you can. They also offer waiter service if you wish. Since it is near the college there are numerous TV's with sports. Parking is an issue and it is monitored. You may have to park on the street. In any case make this a sure stop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I wasn't impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Seeing it ranked at #2 for Fresno, I was expecting a lot more. On the positive side, the service was super! The waitstaff was litterally running around making sure everyone was taking care of. Also, the fried calamari was delicious and plentiful. On the less-than-positive side, yes, the tri-tip sandwich was fully loaded, but the beef was cooked well past medium, with no juices left and actually quite dry for tri-tip. The onion rings were of the frozen variety, I really was expecting home made. Also, to reiterate other reviews, the blaring loudspeaker in your ear is a definite turn-off!! It's a college bar, plain and simple.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbagags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dog House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing