We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST TRI-TIP”
Review of Dog House Grill

Dog House Grill
Ranked #3 of 1,131 Restaurants in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Clovis, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THE BEST TRI-TIP”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We love Dog House! The tri-tip is the best! Great sauce, tons of meat, topped with the perfect bread. They make great fries. You can order a side (which is large) or a basket (four people could share). The steak salad is also a favorite!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    166
    35
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great for takeout”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Portions are huge, the din in the place is phenomenal. Not a lot of parking and the parking lot is patrolled by a private security guard paid by BW3 and will kick you out. (but was really nice in letting me stay 10 min for takeout) The rib tip sandwich was good, even better with the bbq sauce. The onion rings and fries baskets are the size of many salad bowls (for serving an entire table) Do not need to call ahead for takeout as they are very fast in getting together orders. Highly recommend due to food quality and quantity. The onion rings were darned good too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ablackram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tri tip sandwiches are a must”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you can try their tri trip sandwich, do so. I get it with grilled onions on top (extra charge) and some extra bbq sauce on the. Their french fry portions are big, so you can share. If you go late night, they may run out, they usually do

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank whip383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Try the tri tip sandwhich with a side of BBQ, the french fries with a side of ranch (make sure you share...the order is HUGE) and the steak cobb salad. You will thank me!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank disneymama619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Big Food. Great Food.”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had stopped in Fresno for the night after a weekend in Yosemite and we were definitely looking for hearty food. Dog House Grill was just the perfect place.

I really liked the way the restaurant was laid out. Huge space. More big screen TVs showing every sport possible high up around the circumference of the eating area. Lively bar. Decently comfortable seating area. A true college town environment and fun. But I liked the way the service worked even more.

You get your choice between being served or serving yourself, which means you sit in the bar area or in the open seating area or outside. There is a soda bar where you get your own drinks and fill up as you want from a large selection of flavors. The menu is really flexible and can pretty much be made-to-order and if it's your first time like it was for us, the cashier is very helpful in describing the process and making sure we got our order placed right.

The food portions are quite hearty so don't think you're skimping or are going to leave hungry if you share or get the smaller size. My steak salad was definitely more steak than salad and delicious all the same. My husband's tri-tip sandwich was awesome with more meat than he could even put down. The BBQ sauce totally rocked and while the fries were highly recommended, we were digging the onion rings more.

Bottom line: good eating experience all-around. Delicious food, fun place, different process, but a nice change.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowGazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dog House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing