We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Slightly disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Fresno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Fresno
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

As an Elite Gold Choice Privileges Member, I usually stay at a Comfort Inn when choosing a hotel. Stayed at this hotel last year, and thought it was worth staying at again. Stayed for five nights this time and probably will not return next year. First of all, there is a tire repair shop across the street in Shaw Street with two large security dogs that bark ALL NIGHT long. They bark when ever a car goes by which is basically every minute being on a busy street. If you stay here, request a room facing the inner courtyard by pool. I chose to stay here again partially because of the gym. however the treadmill was out of order, and the exercise bike sounded like a tank. The breakfast was fairly good. Scrambled eggs and sausage every morning. Waffle maker, bagels, pastries, hardboiled eggs, oatmeal and on a few days a green banana or two. The food area is well organized and clean. Last year, fresh baked cookies were offered in the afternoons during the week which was a really nice touch. No cookies this year. This hotel does not have an elevator, and the upstairs is at least 10-15 degrees hotter than downstairs, so reserve a downstairs room if you don't want to have to lug up your luggage. I also had one night free from my points, however was still charged for the room which was frustrating. It was resolved when I called about it, but still aggravating.

Room Tip: Avoid outside facing rooms on Shaw Street side. Two barking dogs at tire repair shop across street b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeloveSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for being a Choice Privileges memner and thank you for your review. We are currently under new management and looking forward to some positive changes. The treadmill has been replaced and the air conditioner on the second floor has been repaired. I am currently looking into getting the cookies back in the afternoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    55
    26
    12
    10
See reviews for
54
43
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pahokee, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on about three occasions. The positives I experienced are, they always had the room I reserved, HBO, high speed that's reliable, cold AC, and as a smoker, they offer smoking rooms, which is rare to find in that area. Frankly, the latter is the only reason I stay at this hotel.

The primary drawbacks are: location, the area doesn't give you the safest feeling, no elevator - you've got to carry your luggage up about 18 steps to get to the 2nd floor, and room appearance - the rooms are a bit dated and could use a remodel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

For $60 on Priceline, the newly renovated room and breakfast are a good deal. But the area is not super desirable, and the staff did not impress. We packed in a rush, and I forgot my brush. The front desk said they had no comb. Then when my husband asked for a razor later, they discovered they had combs next to the razors. And out of the 15 hotels we've stayed at in the past three years, this is the first one without any cribs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good place for a stopover. Had a quiet stay other than the steam from the bathroom setting off the fire alarm in the room.

Reserved a King room, found I had to pay a $10 deposit for the in room safe that wasn't listed on the website but didn't get that deposit back at check-out. I didn't use or need the safe, I was there for one night. If I was staying for a few days I could see the convenience but it was unnecessary.

The parking was tricky to figure out. I was able to park close to my room on the end of the hotel and then I had to find the door for the stairs which should have been better marked, it was quite confusing.

I agree there could have been a better selection of channels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrod V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The motel is right off the 5 fwy. Fairly new property, clean, comfortable two Queens for under $80. Waffle machine was not operating(my favorite), so if not working on your stay its intentional. Go East on Shaw and you will have all kinds of places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Overall, this was an adequate place to stay overnight. The price was inexpensive, but the hotel is under renovation. The Front Desk Staff were polite and helpful, they even re-assigned me to a room that was on the top floor and opposite the side construction was taking place. During my stay, I didn't experience any inconvenience related to the renovation.

The reason to stay: 1) price was inexpensive, 2) the location on the bike path was convenient allowing me to go for a run on something other than a treadmill, and 3) I found the staff to be friendly and accommodating.

The reason I don't give it higher marks: 1) it took an exceedingly long time for hot water to come out of the shower head, and 2) when I needed a fresh towel, it took a while for the clean towel to get to my room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
251 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have stayed here several times over the years as the company I work for has a couple of manufacturing facilities here in town. I've never had a problem here. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. My room was large and comfy and I feel the rates here are reasonable. The breakfast has many choices and they keep things stocked. I did overhear a conversation between a guest who was checking out and the front desk clerk. The guest had just gone out to here car that she had parked at the rear of the property. She was informing the clerk that the car had been broken into and many items were gone. I always park near the front door and have never had a problem. I'll continue to stay here when I come to Fresno.

Room Tip: Don't go to the breakfast room right when it opens and lots of construction guys are in there at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Fresno Northwest
Ramada Fresno Northwest
#20 of 65 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Inn and Suites
Garden Inn and Suites
#17 of 65 in Fresno
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Northwest
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fresno North
3.0 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#6 of 65 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Fresno

Property: Comfort Inn Fresno
Address: 5455 W Shaw Ave, Fresno, CA 93722-5035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Fresno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether visiting the Yosemite/Sequoia National Parks or attending an event at the Selland arena, you'll find our modern, family-oriented interior corridor hotel perfect for your next business or leisure trip to Fresno CA. We are located off of HWY 99, in the Northwest Fresno, just blocks from Island Water Park and Forestiere Underground Gardens. Enjoy all the comforts of home at our 69 rooms hotel with rooms in a variety of formats - from king rooms to lavish suites with jetted tubs - we offer accommodations to suit all trips. Each room has the amenities you need to get refreshed and ready to take on the day. Room amenities include WiFi internet access, flat-screen TVs, hair dryers, coffee makers, safes, irons, ironing boards, microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary Hot buffet breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Fresno Airport(FAT), Fresno State University(FSU) and the Riverpark area are within 12 Miles. Fresno Zoo, Riverside Golf and various Restaurants and Department stores are less than 5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Inn Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fresno Hotel Fresno
Fresno Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing