We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value, no cribs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Fresno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Fresno
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice value, no cribs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

For $60 on Priceline, the newly renovated room and breakfast are a good deal. But the area is not super desirable, and the staff did not impress. We packed in a rush, and I forgot my brush. The front desk said they had no comb. Then when my husband asked for a razor later, they discovered they had combs next to the razors. And out of the 15 hotels we've stayed at in the past three years, this is the first one without any cribs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    54
    26
    12
    8
See reviews for
52
43
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good place for a stopover. Had a quiet stay other than the steam from the bathroom setting off the fire alarm in the room.

Reserved a King room, found I had to pay a $10 deposit for the in room safe that wasn't listed on the website but didn't get that deposit back at check-out. I didn't use or need the safe, I was there for one night. If I was staying for a few days I could see the convenience but it was unnecessary.

The parking was tricky to figure out. I was able to park close to my room on the end of the hotel and then I had to find the door for the stairs which should have been better marked, it was quite confusing.

I agree there could have been a better selection of channels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrod V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The motel is right off the 5 fwy. Fairly new property, clean, comfortable two Queens for under $80. Waffle machine was not operating(my favorite), so if not working on your stay its intentional. Go East on Shaw and you will have all kinds of places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Overall, this was an adequate place to stay overnight. The price was inexpensive, but the hotel is under renovation. The Front Desk Staff were polite and helpful, they even re-assigned me to a room that was on the top floor and opposite the side construction was taking place. During my stay, I didn't experience any inconvenience related to the renovation.

The reason to stay: 1) price was inexpensive, 2) the location on the bike path was convenient allowing me to go for a run on something other than a treadmill, and 3) I found the staff to be friendly and accommodating.

The reason I don't give it higher marks: 1) it took an exceedingly long time for hot water to come out of the shower head, and 2) when I needed a fresh towel, it took a while for the clean towel to get to my room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
244 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have stayed here several times over the years as the company I work for has a couple of manufacturing facilities here in town. I've never had a problem here. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. My room was large and comfy and I feel the rates here are reasonable. The breakfast has many choices and they keep things stocked. I did overhear a conversation between a guest who was checking out and the front desk clerk. The guest had just gone out to here car that she had parked at the rear of the property. She was informing the clerk that the car had been broken into and many items were gone. I always park near the front door and have never had a problem. I'll continue to stay here when I come to Fresno.

Room Tip: Don't go to the breakfast room right when it opens and lots of construction guys are in there at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

HDTV's in the room, but they have only about 24 channels of ANALOG cable. So the picture still looks horrible. Of the roughly 24 channels, almost half were sports channels. Very little channels actually worth watching.

Slow internet. I had to use my air card to actually get some work done.

Cigerette burns in the blankets, crappy pillows, and just not a good nights sleep.

Only 1 ice machine, and it is on the first floor, so start walking. Only the ice bucket can fit in the ice machine, so if you want ice for your cooler, get creative.

No Elevator, so be prepared to haul your luggage up the stairs.

Noise from the 99, and off ramp, is rather loud. It will wake you up at least a couple times during the night.

This might be the worst Comfort Inn that I have seen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Effee_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Facilities at the Inn were great, booked a Single King with hot tub and the bed was very comfortable and the tub relaxing however the comforted at cigarette burns in it. Furthermore, the room was positioned over a car park so the night was interrupted by either the sounds of train horns, car alarms or noisy patrons who were running around the corridors slamming doors and screaming at each other.

We left a day early in our 2 day stay, and were charged for 3 nights.... fantastic

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Massade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Fresno Northwest
Ramada Fresno Northwest
#17 of 65 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
0.3 mi away
Garden Inn and Suites
Garden Inn and Suites
#14 of 65 in Fresno
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Northwest
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fresno North
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno-Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Fresno

Property: Comfort Inn Fresno
Address: 5455 W Shaw Ave, Fresno, CA 93722-5035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Fresno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel. Microwave and refrigerator in all rooms. Complimentary Hot and Cold buffet "YOUR MORNING BREAKFAST". Located in northwest. Fresno State University nearby. Exercise room and pool available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fresno Hotel Fresno
Fresno Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing