We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A place to stay while traveling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Fresno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Fresno
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A place to stay while traveling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Comfort Inn is located beside Highway 99, in Fresno, Ca. It is a great place for the tired traveler. The Hotel is comfortable and quite. The morning breakfast is free and very tasty with a good variety of foods that are healthy. The beds are very good and the rooms are clean and well kept. When traveling during the summer months there is an out-door pool and spa which is well cleaned. You could not do any better when traveling on Hwy. 99 then the Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd floor, east side are quieter and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    58
    27
    12
    11
See reviews for
57
43
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the 3rd October 2012, we stayed in room 108. We had requested a ground floor King, but none of these were available, so room 108 had two queens. The hotel is close to the interstate junction and on a busy road, but the double glazing copes well with the noise and this was not intrusive. The cheery desk clerk made us feel welcome, as did the free cookies and free newspaper.
Our room was of a good size and very clean, but is getting a little tired e.g. the wallpaper was starting to peel a little at the joins, and the sealent on the top of the bath wall panel was getting somewhat thick.
Room 108 is near reception and oposite the fitness room, which has a reclining bike, a treadmill and a three station weight machine, all were in good working order but the bike was missing toe-straps. There was also a outside pool, and we wished that we wern't so tired after driving through Yosemite from Mammoth Lakes to enjoy it. The outside temperature when we checked-in at 18.30 hrs was near 90F!
My usual gripe about having no TV programme guide, was partly answered by the aforsaid newspaper, but the selection of channels available seemed to consist of 50% sports programmes and little else, although three different Showtime channels were available.
The good point for us is that this is a "Pet Free" Hotel chain (Guide dogs excepted, of course), indeed whilst we were unloading our car a lady arrived with small snappy type dog and was (Rightly) refused a room - great.
Breakfast area is a reasonable space just down from reception, and the selection was ceratinly more than the basic continental that passes as breakfast in so many places these days. Scarmmbled eggs and sausages making the difference, along with the usual waffels etc.
Would we stay here again? Well certainly Yes, especially so after reading so many reviews that refer to "unsavoury districts" around this city.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less risk of intrusive noise, but we had n o trouble at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FresnoComfortInn, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello Spock 10 , thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to read your kind compliments about the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. I am glad to see you enjoyed the complimentry and growing in popularity "Your Morning Breakfast". In regards to the wall paper starting to peel, I am happy to say that we have already begun renovation on our rooms. We recently installed new combo units with new flat screen televisions and we have also removed the wall covering in about 20% of the rooms now. Your kind words about the staff and our hotel are greatly valued and we look forward to having you and your wiffe stay with us again.

Victor G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
440 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here on the way to Yosemite. It is a little more than an hour from the gate. Typical good value Comfort Inn near plenty of dining, shopping and gas stations. Very friendly front desk. Breakfast buffet was good and kept stocked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great for convenience to central high school where our competition was. Rooms were clean with very simple decor. Front desk staff was very helpful. The only downfall was if you arrive back to hotel late at night parking is very limited.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pismobound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while visiting nearby National Parks.

Pros:
Decent location just off highway.
Very quiet, very clean, nice clean pool.
Good service from every employee I encountered.
Decent breakfast.
Outstanding value. Paid $65/night

Cons:
Noisy A/C that cycled on and off until I discovered the con/cyc switch under the cover. Once flipped to con all was well.
Lobby noise can filter up the open stairs to nearby rooms, but it's not a big deal.

Would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the pool (away from roads) and distant from lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaumaturge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for the taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us here at Comfort INN Fresno. We take great pride in our cleanliness and staff service. We appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you were able resolve the issue with the AC and enjoyed our breakfast. We look forward to your return and thanks again for your time and business.

Victor G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

An older hotel, but the room was clean and the staff were friendly. Good internet speeds. Felt safe as a single traveler. Convenient location near fast food restaurants, Walmart, the highway, etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starryLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
144 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here in March & April while traveling. Had a good experience the first time so returned on our way home. Rooms were clean, decent size, and prices were very good. Little refrig & microwave. Near the freeway. Continental breakfast was very adequate and the area was pleasant. Newspapers were available for the taking--nice amenity for our morning coffee.
Only downside was that there aren't many choices re nearby eating: a couple of fast food places a few blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your positive comments. I am especially pleased to see you had a good expierence with our WIFI as have recently made some upgrades. Thank you for your business and your time for posting a review.

Victor G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.3 mi away
Garden Inn and Suites
Garden Inn and Suites
#18 of 65 in Fresno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Fresno Northwest
Ramada Fresno Northwest
#24 of 65 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.0 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#7 of 65 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno-Northwest
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fresno North
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Fresno

Property: Comfort Inn Fresno
Address: 5455 West Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Fresno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether visiting the Yosemite/Sequoia National Parks or attending an event at the Selland arena, you'll find our modern, family-oriented interior corridor hotel perfect for your next business or leisure trip to Fresno CA. We are located off of HWY 99, in the Northwest Fresno, just blocks from Island Water Park and Forestiere Underground Gardens. Enjoy all the comforts of home at our 69 rooms hotel with rooms in a variety of formats - from king rooms to lavish suites with jetted tubs - we offer accommodations to suit all trips. Each room has the amenities you need to get refreshed and ready to take on the day. Room amenities include WiFi internet access, flat-screen TVs, hair dryers, coffee makers, safes, irons, ironing boards, microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary Hot buffet breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Fresno Airport(FAT), Fresno State University(FSU) and the Riverpark area are within 12 Miles. Fresno Zoo, Riverside Golf and various Restaurants and Department stores are less than 5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fresno Hotel Fresno
Fresno Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing