We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel”
Review of Comfort Inn Fresno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Fresno
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
ogden utah
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I reserved a room in August, sight unseen through hotels.com. I'm always a little nervous doing that. Comfort Inn by Carlson in Fresno did not disappoint me in the slightest. The rooms very a good size, modern, and clean. The service at the front desk was prompt and efficient. The free internet available to customers was available and worked. The complimentary breakfast furnished by the hotel to its customers was much better than average and included hot foods like waffles and sausages. The breakfast room is clean and tidy. It is furnished with not only not only national newspapers such as USA Today, but with local papers as well. The pool was clean, indoor (which means it can be used all the time), and uncrowded. Finally, the room rate was very reasonable for a hotel of this quality.

Room Tip: Reserve early! Make sure you request no smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markg91359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Hello Mark,
Thank you for a great review. We do appreciate you taking the time to let us and TripAdvisor know how we are doing. We do our best to keep our guest comfortable and happy during their stay. Our GM is key with keeping our pool clean and very clear as we are in the Fresno Area. The Comfort Inn Fresno is moving ahead with great service, good food but more important, excellent guest such as yourself. Thank you again and if you can, please like us on Facebook.
Have a great Holiday Season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    59
    28
    12
    11
See reviews for
58
46
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Comfort Inn did not having elevators it was difficult carrying our luggage up the stairs and the toilet bowl needed major cleaning it had a lot of build-up.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Corvettechick67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smman, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for your review and choosing the Comfort Inn Fresno. I am sorry to hear of your concerns with your room and the cleanliness of the toilet. We do our best to maintain a high standard of cleanliness as you may see in other reviews. We would have like to have a request to be on the lower floor seeing we don’t have an elevator. In future stays, please voice your concerns and allow the hotel to address them to better accommodate your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here during August 2011. I requested a room away from the elevator and away from the streetside. My request was honored, and I recieved a terrific nights rest. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was also very good. I was very satisfied with my stay at the Comfort Inn in Fresno. The hotel is closely located to many restaurants and near the Interstate. I definitely recommend this hotel and will be back again myself.

Room Tip: Very quiet and clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hot-n-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smman, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful stay. We do our best to provide excellent service and fullfill every request our guest have. I would like to thank you for staying with and we hope to see you very soon.
Sincerely,
Andrew Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here on Aug 5 for about $85. Hotel was clean inside and out. Pool area was nice, but closed by 9 or 10. Front desk employees were friendly too. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy. Shaw Street in front of hotel can be a bit loud at times and room A/C controls need a fan mode to provide light noise, but not a real big deal. What ruined our stay was the rudeness and laziness of breakfast workers. I checked at 9:05 and there were next to no eggs, sausage, etc. I figured I'd come back in ten minutes to see if they put out some food. At 9:20 there was still no food or waffle mix put out. At 9:25 I asked the ladies in kitchen if they could get food out. She said, "It is 9:30. Breakfast is closed." I told her there had been no food for the last 15 minutes but she did not respond. Wife tried getting a yogurt and the lady rushed to the fridge and locked it b4 she could open it! We left hungry as did at least 4 other guests that I saw. We checked out and stayed at Best Western Plus down the road on Shaw Ave. We highly recommend them instead of Comfort Inn, and they are in a nicer neighborhood and not directly on Shaw Ave.

Room Tip: Booked the room on comfortinn.com.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famof4Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smman, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
I would like to thank you for staying with us while in Fresno, CA. I do apologize for our breakfast attendant not extending excellent service. This is very unusual for our attendant but I assure you, we have looked into the concern, addressed it and this will not happen in the future. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Andrew Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Check-in was friendly and efficient and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We were a bit disappointed that it was right by the lift, as we thought the constant ‘dinging’ and clatter would be disturbing later on. The hotel was full, so although the lady on reception was sympathetic, there really wasn’t anything she could do. As it turned out, however, even though the hotel was full and so presumably there were people using the lifts, it was very quiet through the night and didn’t disturb us at all. Neither did the nearby highway. There’s an excellent range of restaurants just a couple of minutes drive away for dinner. Breakfast was good, with scrambled eggs and sausages on offer as well as the continental options. A really nice touch was the small packets of dried cranberries on the reception desk at checkout.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smman, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
I would like to thank you for your review and we appreciate your comments. I am happy to hear your had a great night sleep even with the lift being so close to your room. Our hotel is built solid and with the guest restful nights in mind. We do our best with cleaniness and happy to hear it pays off. You make our jobs a joy and allows us continue encouraging one another to keep up the hard work. Please come again and have a wonderful 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuustwezel, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We arrived in this Comfort Inn on the trip from Yosemite NP to the coast. The man who checked us in, was extremly polite and very helpful. He showed us some places to eat, and gave coupons to several closeby restaurants. We had room 115, which was a room with amenities for disabled people. So lots of space in the room and bathroom, which were both modern and totally clean. Refrigirator and microwave also present. Lots of places to eat, and a few large supermarkets also a few blocks away. The outside pool is reasonable in size, and towels are provided. Breakfast had all standard things, no surprises here. Nothing bad to say about this place really.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smman, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for the great review and comments. Breakfast is a good starter for the day but yes, a clean room is the lease we can provide our guest. I am please to hear you have experiance the wonderful central valley and its beuty. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Sincerely,
Andrew Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in 2008 while visiting family in Fresno. It was adequate but not great.
We were in town again in June 2011 and were trying to stay close to family and participate in the Choice Hotels summer reward program so we selected this hotel again.

I noticed it looked nicer when I entered the lobby. The general manager was at the desk to greet us. Victor was very nice, very professional. He asked what brought us to his hotel and we told him we preferred Comfort Inns and this one was close to the family. We mentioned we had been here in 2008. He told us they have started upgrading and making improvements to the hotel.

He said 12 rooms had been renovated so far, all new furnishings etc, flat screen TV's. I was glad to hear this and said, "I hope ours has a flat screen."

With that, Victor said, "just a minute. Let me check on that. I'm giving you an upgrade for being a loyal customer."

Our room had a king bed, a full couch and coffee table, an eating table/chairs, refrig/microwave, wetbar, coffee pot, and the flat screen TV! It was freshly painted and all furnishings were very nice compared to our previous stay.

The only criticism I have is that the coffee was not fresh in the morning at the start of breakfast (6:30 a.m.) Eventually, there was fresh coffee but it didn't get placed out until around 8 a.m. (I think that was a personnel issue, someone who doesn't understand coffee drinkers - eek, we lose our minds when the coffee isn't there!)

I think the GM would be disturbed if he knew that happened. He wasn't at the desk when we checked out so I hope he reads these! Otherwise, I was pleasantly surprised by out stay here this time and was very comfortable. (The AC was awesome and that is important when it is 104 degrees outside!)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldgeekswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smman, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you so very much for your stay!!! I am happy to hear you were greeted by the new GM. Victor is a great asset to our team and spearheading the upgrades on our property. I thank you for informing us about the coffee and it has been addressed. When coming in the morning at various times, the GM, our Regional Director of Operations and myself check on the freshness of the coffee. As a coffee drinker, I KNOW the importance of fresh and hot coffee. Please stop by anytime and enjoy the fruits of your comment. Thank you again for your business and hope to see you very soon.
Sincerely,
Andrew Alvarez
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Fresno Northwest
Ramada Fresno Northwest
#24 of 64 in Fresno
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Inn and Suites
Garden Inn and Suites
#18 of 64 in Fresno
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#9 of 64 in Fresno
591 reviews
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fresno North
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Fresno

Property: Comfort Inn Fresno
Address: 5455 W Shaw Ave, Fresno, CA 93722-5035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Fresno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether visiting the Yosemite/Sequoia National Parks or attending an event at the Selland arena, you'll find our modern, family-oriented interior corridor hotel perfect for your next business or leisure trip to Fresno CA. We are located off of HWY 99, in the Northwest Fresno, just blocks from Island Water Park and Forestiere Underground Gardens. Enjoy all the comforts of home at our 69 rooms hotel with rooms in a variety of formats - from king rooms to lavish suites with jetted tubs - we offer accommodations to suit all trips. Each room has the amenities you need to get refreshed and ready to take on the day. Room amenities include WiFi internet access, flat-screen TVs, hair dryers, coffee makers, safes, irons, ironing boards, microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary Hot buffet breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Fresno Airport(FAT), Fresno State University(FSU) and the Riverpark area are within 12 Miles. Fresno Zoo, Riverside Golf and various Restaurants and Department stores are less than 5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fresno Hotel Fresno
Fresno Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing