We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great service, fair hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great service, fair hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel's shortcomings are compensated by truly great people at the front desk. I rented two rooms with some special requests and the people at the desk were amazingly friendly, competent, and professional. They put up a nice managers reception with good local beer and wine. The hotel is being renovated and it needs it: the carpets and furnishings were worn, the bed clothes limp, and internet slow. The toilet leaked along the floor. I saw no signs of a "suite" in my room. While the hotel is easy to find, the last bit is through some labyrinthine parking lot roads. The neighborhood is fine. My sense is that most of the problems here are on the way to be repaired. The staff, including maids, seem to have a passion to get it right.

Room Tip: Upper floor away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerimiahJ223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear David V,

Thank you for the review. You are correct about our staff. They are always upbeat when it comes to treating our guests. The hotel is being renovated. It is going to take care of all of the things you mentioned. Hope to see you again the next time you are in Fresno.


Kindest Regards,

The Comfort Suites Fresno Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    60
    32
    11
    7
See reviews for
80
54
12
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I'd previously stayed at this hotel and found it to be in need of new paint, carpet and furnishings. The new owner recognized the problems and has made a major investment in giving the property a needed facelift. I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next trip to Fresno.

The weakest spot is the quality of the free breakfast. After the first morning, I decided to skip the breakfast and drive one mile to Panera Bread Company for high quality food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 282RobertH282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights. They were remodeling on the floor we stayed on so it had a large tarp hiding where they were working which was kind of creepy but it was fine. The rooms were average. There was nothing spectacular about them but they did the job. The breakfast was very good with a large variety of food. It was also in a great location near the riverpark malls. Overall this was a good place to stay just nothing fancy which was fine with us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked this hotel based on the tripadvisor rating... very disappointing. It is an older property that is in the process of renovation.. Upon arrival we found what appeared to be numerous outdoor plantings being stored inside. The desk clerk was friendly and accomodating. We were placed in an upper (third) floor room as requested. The carpeting in the hallway was old, worn and dirty. Room numbers were on pieces of tape. The room had been partially renovated; paint, carpet, etc., but there was no baseboard and the transition from the carpeted area to the tile are was not complete. The was an odor from the carpet that was not overwhelming. The bathroom had also undergone some renovation but the need to repair or replace the vanity had not been done. We had a room facing the street and found the road noise quite noticable. I had the occasion to walk down the hallway on the second floor and found the carpet in the same condition as the third floor. There was also a strong odor of paint. While in the lobby, I overheard several guests telling the desk staff that they would not be staying because of odors. The breakfast was adequate. Comfort Inn/Suites took quite a hit based on this experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grampafixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Grampafixit,

Thank you for your review. Im sorry that we disappointed your expectations. I understand your frustrations. Please call 559.435.5650 so we can go over your concerns in better detail.



Thank you,

Comfort Suites Fresno Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

From the time you check in to the time you leave, everyone knows your name. Michelle, Mike, Kim (front desk staff) are great.
On average I stay at hotel two out of four weeks

Rooms are always clean and fresh

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jimsmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your valuable review. I am very happy to hear that your stay went well and that our staff assisted in making your stay comfortable.
We hope that we could be of service to you again in the near future. Thank you for your stay, and have a pleasant day.


Comfort Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This place is one of the older hotels in Fresno and a bit smelly. We asked for a room on the quiet side. She told us "Because all the
rooms have double pane windows road noise is not a factor." Baloney !! As I write this review the
road noise outside is deafening. Listen check in staff: If the prepaying customer asks for a room
on the quiet side GIVE IT TO THEM !! It's a Tuesday night, the hotel is torn up with remodeling and
you're not that full. If this is a Fresno #1 on Tripadvisor, I'd hate to see a poorly rated hotel.

The breakfast consisted of powdered eggs and link sausage, cold cereal or a make your own waffle.
The store bought yogurt was probably the best part of the meal.
Stay somewhere else.
Thanx for your time.

Room Tip: If you request the top floor on the quiet side DO NOT let them talk you into anything else. When y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longball44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Longball44,

I want to thank you for your the review. Im sorry that you were not pleased with your experience. I looked into the situation and found out that your reservation did not have a special request of being placed in a certain part of the hotel. When you arrived the guest service agent did mention to you that she would be willing to place you in the area that you wanted but there was no availability at the time. I understand that you felt we were not "full" but due to renovations many rooms were not part of our inventory. As far as breakfast, we are part of choice hotels and we follow guidelines to make sure the quality is maintained.

I hope you give us an oppurtunity to make it up to you the next time you come to Fresno. If you would like to discuss this in further detail please call 559-435-5650.

Comfort Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Anyone giving this hotel anything less than 4 or 5 has to be out of their mind.

Let me correct Dorvin S. The lobby was spotless, the receptionist friendly and courteos, the room perfectly cared for. I could not find any dirt balls anywhere, but I suspecgt a dirtbag when I hear one!

I got a great price with my affiliation with the Military Officers Association of the United States. The receptionist was so nice after check in and asked several times to be sure and ask her any questions we might have or any concerns.

Our room was perfect. We could not hear a sound from outside and other than people walking and talking as they went to their rooms it was a silent night.

We went out for dinner and didn't return until about 7:50. It was so nice of the Manager to tell us we could have a glass of wine even thought they were closing up the Happy Hour. We really enjoyed our wine and talking to him about philosophy of life etc. It was easy to see that he was compassionate about his role in running the hotel and that evident in carrying over to every other staff member we met.

Breakfast was fine although we sure would have loved to have coffee available in the breakfast room. The real breakfast room was being completely remodeled (3 day project) and it was understandable that there would be some problems associated with that. I remember how our kitchen remodel disrupted our lives.

This has to be the top Choice Hotel we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello NSGW,

We would like to thank you for your great review. It is always our pleasure to be of service to our awesome guests, and we are even more stoked that you return to us and that we are consistent with our service to you. We appreciate your business tremendously and will continue to strive to make sure that each time you return to us that you are taken care of.

We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for your excellent review.

Best Regards,

Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno
3.3 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#7 of 64 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark

Property: Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
Address: 102 E Herndon Ave, Fresno, CA 93720-2914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fresno
#11 Family Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites Fresno River Park is located next to Costco near the River Park Shopping Center in the heart of the medical community off Highway 41. Hotel amenities include a full hot breakfast buffet, evening Manager's Reception (Happy Hour)with beer, wine and appetizers (Mon-Thur), Indoor heated pool, fitness center with weight machine,treadmill,eliptical,2 types of bikes, high speed internet, and new 32" flat screen TVs. Nearby attractions include Fresno State Bulldogs, Save Mart Center, Grizzlies Stadium, Yosemite National Park, and Yosemite International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Fresno
Comfort Suites Fresno
Fresno Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing