We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don't waste your money - there are better places close by” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Fresno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Fresno
Ranked #44 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
upland, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money - there are better places close by”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The location is good, but that's the only positive. The room we had, #214, was pretty dirty. The bathroom wasn't cleaned very well, the shower leaked, mold in the shower, electrical outlets weren't working, and there was months of dust/dirt behind the furniture.

Checking-in was a pain because they wouldn't let us in the actual lobby. We checked in around 10pm & it was cold out (40 f). I can understand not letting everyone in the lobby at night, but once it was verified that we have a reservation, they should have let us in.

The breakfast was the worst I've ever seen at a motel. It consisted of fake juices from a machine and one small pastry from Costco. There was a little sign that said that there was a limit of one pastry per person. I'm not saying I should fill my suitcase with free breakfast items, but only one little Costco pastry???

Sooo....save your money and go somewhere else. There are many nicer places really close that aren't more expensive.

Room Tip: Tip for choosing a good room - Go someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave4133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    5
    4
    14
See reviews for
2
5
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

I can and have stayed in some pretty questionable places but this is one of those places that I wouldn't even put my mother in law in! The room smelled and was pretty dingy. The comforter was greasy feeling and had a bunch of holes burned in it from cigarettes. The restroom was old and dirty. Towels were not at all anything I'd put near my body.

There were quite a few odd characters roaming the area and I just did not feel safe at all.
Staff is just as scary.

Wifi was ok. There is a computer for use in the lobby but with a 5 min limit. Price was a little steep for the area. Theres a Dennys on the same lot. This place is so not worth what they charge unless there is absolutely no other option do not stay here!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 559MoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Cockroaches in the pool, and on the patio not far from our room... It has to be a real last resort! Sleeping in the car would be a better idea!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teacher172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Here is all you need to know: Don't stay here. If you want more details, read on.
Lobby smells like cigarettes
Desk clerk was more interested in watching the TV than helping guest
Bedspread is falling apart
Mold in shower
Creepy guy was hanging around the rooms in the back
Noise from outside and the shower in the room next door
Wireless never worked
They limit the computer use in lobby to 10min
Desk chair in room is a folding card table chair
Have to unplug the light to use a charger
No alarm clock
Continental breakfast was a small, dry danish, coffee, and oj
Only door lock was one on the door handle
Door did not automatically shut
Pillows were old and lumpy
Dresser drawers were broken

Need I convince you more?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

We booked this hotel because it is pet-friendly, and we travel with our dog. While my wife was at her job site downtown, I went to check-out the hotel. It's not in a nice part of town, and is within a mile of a very large homeless encampment established on a closed freeway. As soon as I drove up, I was approached by a man who wanted me to "buy him a hamburger". There was a younger couple who appeared to be on hard times, loudly arguing about something, in the parking lot the hotel shares with Denny's. Then, an unfortunate and unkempt young fellow came gliding up the driveway in his beat-up car, yelling "yep, it died!". I thought he was talking to someone in the car, but when I looked past all the boxes and clothes I noticed that he was alone. This was all within 2-3 minutes of arrival; I had not even stepped out of the car yet. After all that, I was not going to leave ourselves nor our vehicle at that location, in the dark. I didn't check-in. Instead, I called and cancelled. In all fairness, later in the afternoon I drove my wife down there for entertainment value, at least - and the circus was nowhere to be seen. So perhaps my earlier visit was unfortunate timing, but I stand by my decision. An alternate pet-friendly hotel is the La Quinta downtown, where we ended-up.

  • Liked — It is pet-friendly.
  • Disliked — For the first time, ever, at a hotel, I did not feel safe. Very bad feeling about this location.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
6 Thank travelswithdog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa clara, california
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

When I booked this room, I was limited to what information I had been given off various sites and the pictures. The pictures are vaguely different in size but are otherwise right on. Because of the amount of time I was staying here, I needed certain things, i.e., refrigerator and lots of room for clothes and things.

"Bad"
1. Well, the room ended up being a bit small.
2. It was not in a good part of town for a single woman traveling alone.
3. The continental breakfast was on the side of next-to-nothing as most continental breakfasts are and,
4. Many of the rooms were filled with men who were paving the local highway.

This made me very nervous.

"Good"
1. The bed was very comfortable.
2. The refrigerator and microwave both worked.
3. The room seemed to be sound proof as I could never hear anyone passing by or heard anyone talking, laughing, crying, yelling, etc.
4. Very nice security system.
5. The people were very accommodating every time I needed something.

While this room had little problems that could be repaired easily, cleaned easily and remedied easily, it was a nice place to stay. It had great air conditioning. The room was cleaned nicely each day and the TV got great reception. I am a discriminating traveler but I know what I want and need to be comfortable and this worked out very well for me. I would recommend it for someone without kids looking for a great bargain.

  • Liked — The comfort of the beds and the cleanliness of the linens
  • Disliked — The location - not really the best area because it's a trucker hangout but it's good if you just need a nice place to sleep
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ghostly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

Booked on the internet for 4 nights out of a 3 week holiday touring California. Worst mistake I ever made. Tatty small check in area where I believe you go for your complimentary breakfast. Got the keys to the room but not happy at this stage as the area left a lot to be desired. Once we drove around to the room (more of a motel than hotel) and opened the door the over-riding smell of some cleaning fluid took your breath away, left the door open to try and get rid of it but the noise from the traffic made it impossible to talk, it was like being on an island with the freeways all around you. 20 minutes later we had checked out and driven to the other side of town where we checked into a Holiday Inn Express which was new, clean and exceptionally comfortable.
Would definitely not recommend this Vagabond Inn to anybody, I know it was cheap but we have stayed at far better for a similar price.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
17 Thank CatwomanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South
2.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Downtown
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge North Parkway Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ambassador Inn And Suites
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Village Inn
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Fresno Convention Centre Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Fresno

Property: Vagabond Inn Fresno
Address: 2570 S East Ave, Fresno, CA 93706-5103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Vagabond Inn Fresno 1.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Vagabond Inn Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing